We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous views, great comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added art'otel budapest to your Saves list
art'otel budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem Rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Ranked #43 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“gorgeous views, great comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is on the Buda side by the river bank. I was first staying on the river side, the room had a fantastic view on the Parlament. My last night was on the other side (since I only booked it later), but even that one had a lovely view on the Castle (given that it was on a high floor.) The rooms are large and confortable, and are kept very clean. The breakfast is good, decent coffee, freshly baked bread. The hotel stuff is nice and friendly. The hotel bar has a small pleasant terrasse, though it's a bit overrpriced (for Budapest). All in all, very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    521
    106
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
578
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We didn't book this hotel, but were transferred at the last minute, and thank goodness we were! A lovely hotel, rooms were very comfortable, staff very friendly and a brilliant very central location. My only 'complaint' (for want of a better word!) is that I couldn't get the WiFi to work properly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Fantastic location - easy walking distance or subway ride to the rest of the city. We had a nice one week stay - no complaints other than water tended to leak onto the floor when showering. No biggie, just put down some towels. We opted to spend more for a river view room. It WAS a great view if you stood by the window, but who does that? Had I known, we would have opted for a less expensive non-river view room. Very quiet. At the reception desk are 1/2 sheets of paper with username and password to access the free WiFi. The password changes daily. We did not try the hotel restaurant. The gym is very small with a multi-exercise weight station, a bike and (I think a treadmill). Wet and dry saunas also. The air conditioning was adequate. We emailed ahead to ask for an early check-in. They emailed back saying they would try, but could not guarantee. We had no problem checking in at 11am, but maybe our room was downgraded as a result?? We got one of the smaller river view rooms. Batthyany ter subway stop is only 2 blocks way. There is a large grocery store in the square - great place to get picnic items, beer, wine - sit on one of the benches overlooking the river and enjoy the views. The crepe place in the square is so, so - fast food crepes. Edan, the vegetarian restaurant in the square had very good and cheap soups - could have been hotter temperature-wise, but very tasty. If you want to splurge go to Pavillon to Paris (just around the corner from the hotel) for very good French and a beautiful garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Great location in a quiet area of Buda despite being right along the river. Almost exactly across the river from the Hungarian Parliament Buildings and only a 5-10 minute walk to the Chain Bridge.

Room was at the back of the hotel and it was quite large by European standards along with the bathroom. The hotel was quite modern and had a minimalistic feel. The staff was nice, but at times took awhile to acknowledge you (seemed to be busy with other things).

Not the place to stay if you want to be in the center of action (stay on the Pest side). Easy access to Buda Castle area (just climb up the hill behind the hotel). Five minutes from line 2 of the metro walking north. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here in July as part of a groupon deal. Inside the hotel is lovely, really well decorated and the room was large with a great view of the parliament. Everything we wanted. The only downside was the evening meal was terrible. The food came out within 2 minutes of ordering and had clearly been sat on the place under clingfilm for hours. Despite being famished we were unable to eat either course. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant area, which was beautiful but so quiet it was uncomfortable. Definitely eat out. Other than that the hotel was spot on. Two things to be aware of (particularly if you are British). First, at any time during the day there are four or five porn channels, with open access. A comedian had turn the tv off previous to our arrival so that when we turned it on it was mid-scene in a hard-core porn channel! Amusing but mentally scarring! Second, the taxi driver that the hotel calls ripped us off, upping the quoted price once we were in the car, threatening to take us back to the hotel ifw e didn't like it and generally enjoying ripping us off. I know in many places the taxi's going to the airport are more expensive than when you arrive, but this was too much. This was very annoying as Budapest is so wonderful and easy to get around for tourists and it was a shame that our last day there was marred by this man.

Room Tip: Try getting a room that looks over the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel is well located, near the tourists areas and just in front of the river. Our room, which was in the back of the hotel, had an awesome view to the castle. Nice bathroom and that was it. The service wasn't so friendly. First, we got a bed that had two single matresses instead of a couple's one. That was terrible. To change it, they wanted 20 euros per night. And everytime we had a question to make one of the reception persons, we should have been better without them. Most of the employees just wanted to get rid of you. You know what? For the price, you will get better service in Budapest, no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here over the grand prix weekend. Lovely views across the river or up to the castle. There is an underground station near the spa shop, about 5 mins up the road. It is a ten minute walk across the river to the main shops.
Didn't make use of the bar and restaurant in the hotel as we were too busy.
The twin room was spacious with a good size bathroom. The air con worked well and the hairdryer! There was a minibar which staff check everyday. They didn't seem to mind that we'd put our own things in the fridge.
The beds were comfy.
Book taxis direct as when booked through the hotel they are expensive.
Overall no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem Rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#33 Family Hotel in Budapest
#37 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage art'otel budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.