We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karpat Utca 62 - 64, Budapest H-1133, Hungary   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #71 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have just spen At very pleasant 8 days in Budapest . After reading all the reviews, I was a bit worried but soon made up my own mind. The hotel which is in the north of the city on the Pest side is about 15 minutes from the centre- ten minutes walk to the metro and about 5 minutes on the metro...There is also a direct bus to Heroes Square.The room I received was fantastic- small bathroom but who needs more- with an ever changing view of the Danube. In addiition to the minibar( which was expensive) there was a safe and old fashioned tv as well as everything you could need in the bathroom. There is a supermarket across the road. I agree with the comment that there could be an extra English channel on the tv. BBC news all day is repetitive. The spa facilities were very good and professional and the swimming pool was just the right temperature.The Reception staff and concierge were extremely helpful. The only minor downside was the quality of the food .Almost the same for breakfast and dinner every day- same desserts- same main courses but there was an adequate choice. There was also a pianist as musical accompaniment. Other minor inconvenience was that you had to sign in every time for the wi fi. But on the whole I would definitely recommend it to anyone for a stay in Budapest combining sightseeing and spa.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    302
    99
    19
    9
See reviews for
103
229
42
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We received a 5 day stay at this hotel as a gift. It is ok, yet I would not recomend it to young couples. The service is ok - not good, yet not disturbing. The spa is very nice.
Nonetheless it is rather far to walk to the inner city and this is the main reason why it is better for people who come for the spa. If you want to visit Budapest this is not really the best place.
Other things: no free internet access from the room, breakfast with a very lage choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is far away from the city centre. If you are new to Budapest you will realize it. No restaurants or shops close by. The food in the hotel is not 4 star quality. There are 2 places to eat. The coffee shop or the Jupiter restaurant. This restaurant serve a buffet that looks like a conference buffet, after people ate already. We arrived at 8 at the restaurant and decided to order a la carte. The service, not friendly, but the food let them down, bland and It tasted as if it was out of a packet. When we complained at Reception, they did no say a word! No apology no questions, just no excuse as if they know this. Must say the restaurant was empty. The next day we decided to take advantage of the Danubius city bus to go into the city. This bus has a round trip. We got off in the city and the driver told us where he will be again to pick us up. These trips you pay for. When we got into the bus again, going back to our hotel, he dropped us at another hotel (we were the only passengers in the bus) and said we have to pay him 10 euros, then he will take us to the hotel. We decided to take a taxi then.
This hotel has a Spa with friendly staff. But overall it is not worth the price for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Choose another Spa hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really liked the spa in the hotel and possibility to book into the wellness activities (massages, treatments etc) while you are staying there. The rooms were fine, but it's important to note that it is quite a walk to town (pleasant enough on a fine day, following the Danube down) and that area of town is not the liveliest so you'll be hard pressed to find even a decent bar, let alone a restaurant in the vicinity, and the hotel cafe is not very atmospheric as it tends to blend into the lobby area. I didn't get to enjoy the views much while I was there at a conference, but it served as a good venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Danube side if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Third consecutive year resting at this Hotel. When you look through out of the window, you see the Danube. Size of the normal room is enough for two persons, although the bathroom is small. Cleanliness ok. Regarding the breakfast, I find it just correct.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was well designed and the room was clean. there are balconies facing Danube which was so scenic. The river view was awesome.The hotel got nice SPA/relaxing area, good breakfast. very good parking area. The hotel is more than worth of it price
The staff were most friendly

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing to the Danube river,,, The morning scene is very nice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel during a 5-day conference that included breakfast and dinner, plus a couple of lunches. I thought the food was good with plenty of variety and always buffet style. There was enough to satisfy most palates. The location of the hotel was quite a distance from the downtown area but I lucked out getting a room facing the Danube and that was most pleasant. The staff was helpful and all spoke English. There is a nice shopping store in the lobby that carries a large selection of Hungarian souvenirs and handicrafts and the prices were reasonable. The room was clean but small and the single beds were not very wide (barely 35"). The bathroom, on the other hand, was miniscule....there is no ledge and no space for toiletries and barely enough room for one person. The most annoying thing of all about this hotel is the elevators. They have 3 and they are small and they are painfully slow. There is no button to press to close the door so you have to wait and wait for it to close on each floor. Several times they broke down and only one elevator was working while 30 to 40 people were trying to get up and down. The worst thing is that there is no proper stairway that you can use either. It's only an emergency route and very narrow and dark....no one used it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about our Hotel.
We are happy that you were overall satisfied with our services, with our various breakfast, buffet meals, helpful staff, clean rooms and liked especially your room overlooking the river Danube.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced some times by the broke up of elevators, however we attempt to resolve technical issues the same day immediately.
Looking forward to welcoming back to our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia either on business or leisure.

With best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#60 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lion's Garden Hotel
#65 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#109 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia

Address: Karpat Utca 62 - 64, Budapest H-1133, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#50 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#59 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you can mix business with relaxation! Conference hotel with spa and wellness complex on the bank of the Danube, just 15 minutes from the historical city centre. Relax and recharge! Swim in the large pool and enjoy the breathtaking panorama from the two-story fitness club! Steer clear of the traffic jams! Spacious car and bus park just outside the hotel. 26 Km from Airport Ferihegy, 9 km from Eastern Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.