We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to lower your expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karpat Utca 62 - 64, Budapest H-1133, Hungary   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #74 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Be prepared to lower your expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

There is not really much positive to say about the hotel it is located well outside the city centre. Guest rooms are relatively small and outdated. Bathrooms are even smaller with limited amenities. Breakfast food choice is wide but definitely 3* level. Wifi is free in the lobby but slow. Then come the inconsistencies: you get a bathrobe in the room but you have to go and buy your slippers in the spa area, not the most convenient. Overall staff does not really let you feel welcome either. The hotel is more geared towards groups than individuals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our Hotel during your visit to Budapest.
We are very concerned about our guests’ overall experience and therefore your comments are very important for us and serve as a subject of improvement of our services.
It is much to our regret that we failed in providing you the best possible service during your stay.
We would like to hope that next time when you visit Budapest again, you will allow us the opportunity to show you the effort to making you feel most comfortable and welcomed.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    237
    85
    17
    8
See reviews for
82
190
36
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very unpleasant, stayed there during a conference and could not have a single good impression from the hotel. The rooms are ok, but service in the room is never well done, example: an empty bottle of coke with a dirty glass stayed during 2 consecutive days without been arranged. Laundry, you ask your clothes to return folded - it is completely ignored. Was trying to get information on how to get to the train station in the lobby and that was the worst experience ever, the attendant was unpleasant, not helpful, rude, everything unappropriate - really unexpected. Besides 2 nights with noise coming from the teenagers playing in the hotel. To end, last day there was no service in my room, someone came in the room in the morning took my laundry, brought back ready afternoon and we i get into the room at 22hs room was not clean. Was planning to stay in the hotel over the weekend to enjoy Budapeste but decided to move to another at the end of the conference.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Wolff,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
It is much to our regret to learn from your comment that not every department and service were up to your expectations during your stay.
There is a countinous effort on our sight to improve our services and we are greatful if you share with us your unfortunate experiences in details.
However, please note that it has been a very busy period here within the Hotel and also in Budapest due to the international World Championship of Martial Arts and other events held in the city at the same time. The „teenagers” you mention were also attendants between the age of 18 and 23 who also came for this championship.
We have actually recieved very positive feedback from the other attendees of the conference you participated and do apologise if you personally felt that you have not been treated with careful attention.

Thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occassion.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location was good for our needs (Buda and Pest sides of the city). The room was a bit small but very clean. The staff accommodated us well with an extra bed for a child. There was no free internet connection in the room. This was a major irritation. It was easy to walk out of the hotel to a local store for snacks and to the river for a walk. Breakfast was very good. Evening food was overpriced and underwhelming for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about our Hotel.
We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that our helpful staff, clean rooms, great breakfast and nice location on the bank of the river were to your satisfaction.
Thank you for your comments regarding internet (which is actually free of charge only in the public areas at the moment).
We hope that we can welcome you back as a guest of our Hotel.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Went on a groupon deal and was Fab value. Would go again and use facilities more such as soap treatments. Had a great view of danube. Clean & comfortable. Staff helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was really good with great variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experiences with other travellers.
It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our cleanliness, helpful staff, plentiful breakfast, treatments and great view of the Danube have all left such a good impression on you.
We hope that you will find the time and occassion to return and we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back some time.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is good, friendly staff, good breakfast and great spa.

The only very disappointing thing is the internet connection, very very slow.

The location is ok, but not in the city center. We had to take a cap to go to the downtown. There is also a metro station near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you generally had a good experience on our Hotel and services during your stay, and enjoyed our great spa, good breakfast, location and our friendly staff.
We appreciate your comments regarding internet connection, we will investigate it, in order to ensure faster access.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia in the future.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia in june with my boyfriend and we are really satisfied to have choosen this hotel! The rooms are large, very confortable and they are cleened every day. The breakfast was not included but there were two croissant and a coffèe for each person. There is a free Spa inside and this is excellent for who wants to relax after a day of excursion. The hotel is located in a pretty good area and it's also close to the metro station and at four stops to the city center. I sugget this hotel to everyone who want to visit Budabest and relax at the same time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences regarding your stay at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.
We are really happy that you were satisfied with your choice and with our services from our comfortable rooms, through our Spa, to our location near to the city center.
Thank you for suggesting our Hotel to other travellers and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
yield & revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I were only staying in Budapest for a few days, along with four other members of my family ... and they selected this hotel since it's their "go to" hotel in Budapest. We were pleasantly surprised and liked our stay there. Since we had not been to Budapest before, we were too busy sight seeing than hanging around the hotel, but I noticed there were ton of features, which is nice for a hotel like that. It was right on the river and our hotel room had a large balcony with chairs and table overlooking it! Also, you walk straight down the back hotel stairs to the walkways around the river! Loved that. Room was comfortable and equipped nicely. Great room service and the food was great! Free full breakfast buffet in the mornings. Customer service was pretty good. The back bar / lounge area and restaurant outside was very slow and management was poor, but other than that, great place to stay. Pretty affordable too, gotta love that.

Room Tip: one facing the river for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive note about our Hotel.
It is our pleasure to be your family member’s „go to” hotel in Budapest and happy that you enjoyed our location on the bank of the river Danube, our comfortable & nicely equipped rooms, loved our great food and friendly service at affordable prices.
We hope that we can welcome you back as a guest of our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia

Address: Karpat Utca 62 - 64, Budapest H-1133, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#33 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#50 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you can mix business with relaxation! Conference hotel with spa and wellness complex on the bank of the Danube, just 15 minutes from the historical city centre. Relax and recharge! Swim in the large pool and enjoy the breathtaking panorama from the two-story fitness club! Steer clear of the traffic jams! Spacious car and bus park just outside the hotel. 26 Km from Airport Ferihegy, 9 km from Eastern Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.