We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jozsef Korut 4, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Welcome Drink
Ranked #12 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Well managed newly furnished hotel of good quality in the historical building close to the main sights as well as metro an tram stop. The rooms are nicely decorated, extremely clean but rather small, especially the bathroom - but enough for a weekend stay. The breakfast is superb with wide range of local delicacies, taste coffe and even sparkling wine if you want to start your day with a style. The front-end staff is polite, friendly and very helpful - from travel tips and planning, bookings of restaurants and attractions (incl spas) to sending your postcard to second part of the world. And the room rates are very reasonable for such great standard!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Jejky,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    191
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
463
42
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Booked this as part of a conference including breakfast and it seemed reasonable compared with the bigger chain hotels. Got an inside room on the 5th (top) floor which was very quiet if with a little restricted view (no complaints though). As reported elsewhere there are trams, metro station restaurants (Rendelo is recommended) shops right on the doorstep (literally) to take you anywhere in the city. The Vici Utca was also walkable in around 15 minutes. I would recommend the 3 day travel card at 4150 HUF (about 14 Euros). Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast had a very good choice of colds with a few hot dishes also. The classic building style actually went unusually well with the very modern art deco style in the rooms. There is a sauna for guests but no pool or workout room which could be a good addition. My only moan would be the height of the shower. OK I'm tall at 6'2" but the tip of the fully extended shower head was just below shoulder height. Aside from that I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again (even with the occasional crouch for a hairwash.....).

Room Tip: Traffic noise likely on the outside front or side of the building likely so stick to inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear nr8209,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Your recent stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was very happy to read that You were so satisfied with the stay and Your decision to book our hotel for the conference. I am also happy that You liked the quiet room You had. Thank you for Your suggestions and the recommendaion. I hope to see You back for Your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here May 2014 for three nights. It is centrally located and about 1/2 mile from city center. The room was large and and nicely maintained. There was even turn down service. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Transportation is right outside the hotel and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear TTBayer,

Thank you very much for Your kind review. I was delighted to read that you found our location convenient and the room comfortable. I am also happy that we were able to add something special with the turndown service. I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent 4 nights at the beautiful Nemzeti in central Budapest. Located in a historic building, everything was great, from the very friendly staff, to the great buffets breakfast, to the amenities in the room, including tea/coffee and a refrigerator. The metro and bus/tram stops are just outside the door. It's about 15 minutes brisk walk to St Stephen's basilica, which might be too far to walk for some, but the metro is fast, efficient and inexpensive. There are shops and restaurants just a few steps away from the hotel entrance. The current rate, about 100 euros per night, is very good value. As other reviewers have noted, it's closer to a 5-star than a 4-star hotel. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are much quieter -- away from the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear jj_Orlando_FL,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write this kind review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was very proud to read what a great experience You had at the hotel, and happy that You were able to benefit from our location. I am also glad that the kindness of the staff and the room amenities helped to make Your stay a Memorable one. Thank you for the 5 star rating and the recommendation. I hope we will have a chance to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 - the booking process was very smooth and we booked an airport transfer as we arrived at midnight. The reception staff were fantastic and we loved the room - we asked for a light room on a higher floor and that's exactly what we got - it was very quiet and we slept really well. Loved the breakfasts - you could even have champagne! The location is perfect - right near transport hubs with the subway and a main tram stop right outside the hotel. We took public transport everywhere and had an amazing 4 days in Budapest. It's a 5 star hotel at 3 star prices!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sarah 453,

Thank you very much for the kind review. I was very happy to read that Your experience, from booking the reservation, to arrival and check-in was a smooth one and met, or even exceeded Your expectations. I am also glad to hear how much you loved our breakfast and our location! Once again thank you for the 5 star rating! I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here fot 5 night during my citytrip. It starts allready with a great building itself on and excellent location in the city. All the public transport you want is around the hotel.
Arriving at the hotel the staff was very helpfull and nice. Checkin went easy. I had a room on the fifth floor at the back end of the hotel (as requested) so was very happy about that.
The room itself was very spacious and equipped very well. Everything was spot on clean. Bed was very comfy so sleeping was a joy!. Bathroom had evrything you needed with a nice design, so it was compact but no too much! Warm water during shower was there instant.
Airco in the room worked also very well, since you do have a room under the room of the building.
Do choose Breakfast during your stay. Its huge, so much to choose from! and eating under that stained glass window is really nice also. Its like feeling beeing in a palace! So is that grand staircase of the hotel! WOW!
All the staff were always very friendly and will help you everytime with questions you might have! Thumbs up for all!
Would stay here next time beying in Budapest!

Room Tip: try to get a room a the side of back of the hotel, its quiet compared to the rooms direct at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear PatrickBuijs,

Thank you very much for the extensive review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was very happy to read that we were able to add wonderful Memories to Your citytrip to Budapest. I am glad you liked the size and eqipment of the room and enjoyed a comfortable nights' sleep. I am also happy that our staff was able to help at all times and stay friendly and professional. I hope You will have the same experience on future visits.

I hope to see You soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here between 5 and 8 June and was extremely impressed!!! Staff were efficient and courteous, room was lovely and breakfast was great quality!! I would be tempted to say closer to a five star than a four star! We upgraded to a suite and if in doubt I would very much recommend this - great size, facing courtyard 2nd floor and very quiet! Could have lived in the bed it was so luxurious and lost my partner on a couple of occasions. Plus bathroom came with a walk in shower and a huge bath. Excellent location - central and you walk out onto a central metro line!!! Tried to eat dinner here one night as good looking menu but feels that it's not set up for that being more of a bar in the evening. Nevertheless I would stay here again if visiting Budapest without a doubt!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Cat O,

I was really glad to read in Your review, that You loved the room, and our bed concept so much.... Thank You also for Your comment on the location! I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection

Address: Jozsef Korut 4, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.