We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jozsef Korut 4, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Welcome Drink
Ranked #9 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We got rebooked by the BO18 because it was overbooked and we couldn't have been any happier.
Beautiful Hotel with an elegant / art touch. Awesome staff, which was helpfull in every situation. I highly recomend everyone visiting the city to book this place, since it is a great experience for a reasonable price.
Just a little further off pitch but everything is still in walking distance / subway right in from of the hotel.
Great time, great staff and definitely a great Hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room to the back and it was really quite. The street in fron of the hotel might be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Twimp,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a nice review! It is our luck that BO18 rebooked you to stay with us! Perheps next time youcan book us straight away! :)
See you then!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    121
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
264
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We travelled to Budapest to celebrate my friends birthday, and my birthday. Our friends were staying in another h Orel nearby to the Nemzeti, but as a regular Accor guest, looked to see what was available in the area. The quality of service throughout, as well as the facilities and comfort of the hotel is first class. Before we arrived I emailed the hotel to find out the best transfer from the airport, to advise my platinum status and to tell them about our excitement for a weekend in Budapest. Their response was fantastic, the car met us as promised, and the reception staff were waiting for us, with no need of introduction! A bottle of fizz was awaiting us in the room as a birthday treat too! Throughout the stay they couldn't do enough, from booking evening entertainment and charging to the room, to arranging taxis, nothing was too much effort- even lending umbrellas and when loading us into the taxi providing umbrella shelter to shield us from the elements. With beautiful newly refurbished rooms and common areas and ultra comfy beds, in my opinion this hotel is a must for anyone visiting Budapest. Thanks to everyone involved in making my birthday stay memorable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Johnny H,

Thank you for such a nice review! Once again, congratulations for your birthday and thank you for celebrating it in the Hotel Nemzeti! I am truly happy that you were so satisfied with everything!
Hope to see you back another time!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Without any doubt one of the best hotels in Budapest. Nice clean & quiet room. Every detail was taken care of in a professional way.
Located in a central location, and just next to the metro, we were able to reach all parts of the city quickly.
I would recommend the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Hepieter,

Thank you so much for the nice feedback. I am very happy that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations with the services provided at Hotel Nemzeti. I hope there will be more occasions when we can welcome you again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A really nice concept hotel away from the heart of Budapest (and actually across from a seedy square), Nemzeti tries hard and gets it right in some ways. In others...not so much. Great modernist rooms with tones of black, white and red; lovely - even luxurious - beds and very comfortable appointments. The breakfast is amazing and difficult to imagine: there are so many choices. (It's the best breakfast I have experienced in all my European travels.) Where it fails is in staff training and orientation to the needs of the customer. The desk staff is pleasant and seems to have been programmed to answer the most commonly asked questions, but the staff cannot help with problems that are even a bit "outside the box." I had very loud next door neighbors one night who woke me out of a sound sleep at about 2:00 AM and kept me awake for an hour. After calling the desk, it took another 25 minutes before the neighbors calmed down. I would not think guest noise is an uncommon problem in hotels. The desk staff, while pleasant in a plastic way, seemed quite stiff and very self-conscious - friendly, but not altogether helpful - as opposed to the wait-staff who were great. Also, the place is quite pricey, but the only convenient thing about it is its proximity to the New York Cafe, a must-see in Budapest. On the whole, a nice hotel. Don't expect a warm desk-staff however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear The EyeInEvanston,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you had in Hotel Nemzeti on Tripadvisor.com. I was happy to read how satisfied you were the design of the hotel and the breakfast. I would like to express my apologies for the troubled night sleep you had on one of the nights, however I think this incident is not a reflection of how well our Front Office staff is trained, but more an unfortunate event that was caused by other guests disregard and disrespect for fellow hotel guests. As you mention in your post, my colleague did speak with your neighbours, the fact that it took them 25 minutes to stop what they were doing, in my opinion is not the weakness of the hotel or my colleague. All in all, I am truly sorry for the incident and hope that the next time you stay with us there will be no such disturbance, to deter you from enjoying a perfect night's sleep.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Every facet of the Nemzeti, from booking right through check out really pleased us. Every staff member appeared happy to work there and all were very helpful. The building is exquisite and the standard room easily exceeded expectations. The hotel is ideally located and the breakfast were wonderful. It may not have all the features of a 5 star property but everything about it is class and efficiency. Would definately stay again...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Baz6001,

We are honored by this review you posted! Thank you! All opinions are important to us especially, when it comes from someone who has seen many hotels around the world!
I hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and I could have stayed for a lot longer. Everything about the hotel was first class - rooms, staff, food, location. We were in a very quiet room which overlooked the court yard with its stained glass window. It was completely silent at night, even though the hotel is on quite a busy road. Blackout curtains made the room very dark, giving me the best sleep in years! The room was not large but the bed was huge and very comfortable; the pillows were exquisite. Very clean. Excellent air condition - the room was cool even though it was almost 40 degrees C outside.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a real bargain at 10 euros - very high quality produce and lots of it! We had a meal in the bar and it was very reasonably priced and again excellent standard.
Looking forward to my next stay at this wonderful hotel. Thanks for making my time in Budapest so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room which overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Deewall,

We are very proud to have provided you with the best sleep in many years! :) It is something we take very seriously!
Just like you, we are also looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For a short city break hotel Nemzeti is fantastic located. You can visit the city by foot, tram or metro. The hotel is wonderful renovated in a nice classic style. The hotel is offering the atmosphere of past times. Nice rooms and a tasty breakfast, what we really enjoyed. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Nemzeti, we really would like to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear MvdPalm,

Thank you for the kind words! Thank you for noticing our efforts in preserving traditional service values in a buliding with so much history and a modern design environment.

I sure hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection

Address: Jozsef Korut 4, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nemzeti Budapest- MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.