We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat after me...It's a HOSTEL!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel to your Saves list
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nyar Utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Repeat after me...It's a HOSTEL!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I came across this place and checked the reviews, as I reslised I stayed here a couple of years ago, but never got around to reviewing. Shocked at the nonsense reviews here - No WiFi, A bit noisy etc. Hence the title of my review - might I repeat - Its a HOSTEL!

Ok - for the travellers out there looking for info on choosing this place. Its excellent value for money. In a climate of budget flights creating a mammoth city break industry, Budapest should be near the top of most couples & friends list, also any Non-Europeans backpacking DONT MISS this wonderful city, and when you arrive, relax about choosing where to stay if on a budget. This place has exactly what it should for the price and nature of the accomodation. Its smack bang in the middle of Buda, and anything you want to see or do in the city is easily accessible. Language barrier wasnt an issue as I recall, and the staff might not have been up to Disney standardss perhaps but who cares? It's a hostel! and a very pleasant one. The room was clean and the bed was fresh. There was a clean place for washing and it was a comfortable temperature. Fine fine fine! As for Budapest - We did the hitlist - Gelert baths for a massage and float around in the pool is a MUST. Food was universally excellent wherever we went. if going on a city break its easy to forget bathing suit so I'm reminding you right now!

Gelert is over one of the bridges and looks really very innocuous - you could miss it easily. Its on the other side of the river to the Main City Hall which is architecturally beautiful.

Some travellers may find the 'attitude' of the natives of Budapest a little, perhaps, brash? Maybe a little direct? To some people (English mainly) this may come across as rude. This is not the case. They are economic with words on the surface, but I found once I spent a few minutes at a bar asking about the city they revealed themselves to be a very proud and hard-working people, who are slowly adapting to their city being a potential travel destination. I would absolutely recommend going and unless your on some kind of romatic 'impress-me' weekend stay at Marco Polo.

Room Tip: Get drunk before you return to your room on some ting-tong plonk and you wont give a crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit I, Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Just: Thank You!!! :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    33
    19
    16
See reviews for
9
18
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I picked Marco Polo due to its high recommendation in TripAdvisor. However I am dissappointed with overall experience in this hostel; with the exception of the room. The staff who greeted us was unfriendly and not that helpfull. The hostel did not have functional computers for cuatomer use and wifi is only available at reception area. It was very noisy at night since clubs are all around the area and our neighbours are very rude (they were drunk, shouting outside the door, kicking and smashing doors until it broken since they couldn't find their keys), smoking in the room which resulted in activating fire alarm, climb to the roof to smoke and caused nuisance for the whole night. Surprisingly, it seemed like nobody stopped them and no staff tried to warn them. I was too sleepy to went down because it was around 2-3 am and there was no phone in the room. The only thing that I am satisfied with the hostel; was the our room. The price is really low and the room is clean with indoor bathroom, plus a tv, cupboard and reading lamps. One thing for sure, I will never stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit I, Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry that you had bad neighbours! We do have a security guard during the night who has to walk around (minimum every hour) to see that everything is in order. Since this happened we do even more attention that they control the quiet (and also the doors) during the night - most of the times it is in order - a few times we have more difficulties - but we do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location was great-- just a block away for The Ruins and close enough to the city center to walk. However, pretty far from the train station. The rooms were pretty outdated but sufficient. The staff was nice and very patient with me when I blew a fuse with my hair dryer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit I, Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the comment! Since the time we have new bed sheets and NEW PILLOWS! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed in a double room in december and the heating worked very well. Great staff and location, bu the commun kitchen was really small - it semmes more a wardrobre. And the cleaning ladies didn't care to wake up everybody at 9 AM playing a loud radio in the corridor.
Small room, but not bad. If we think about the price I shoul say that is a good value hostel.

Room Tip: Great location and price. If you are not looking to special gadgets, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

well the hostel was OK. room was clean, bathroom as well and bed was comfortable
the location was really good, close to metro, buses and trams,
there was also an african restaurant nearby, well not the best one in the world hehe

what i didnt like about the place !
wifi wasnt at your room, only in ground floor, next to reception ...
come on, we live in 21st century, right ?
and why all around the hostel was written: delicious, cheap and huge bowl of gulasz - and afterwards, no more gulasz in the kitchen... for 4 days ...

anyway i recommend this hostel ! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We accidentally ended up in this hostel. We had a reservation in another placement, but the host was canceled us when we arrived. We were desperate! Just to mention, this happened the day before New Year's Eve. When we got in the Marco Polo Hotel, receptionist was wonderful to us. She quickly found accommodation for us, although it was a huge crowd and many were looking for accommodations. We stayed in a room with 12 people. The beds are double-decker but separated with paravane. Bathrooms are shared but very clean. There is free internet. Bar in the hostel has a pleasant atmosphere. The biggest impression on us left receptionist, which is a great worker and a great person. I recommend this accommodation. Points out, it is very clean and close to the city center.

Room Tip: Although our room in the hostel was nice, I recommend booking in smaller rooms. I guess the small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hostel isn't too bad - a group of friends and I stayed for 5 nights and had a lot of fun. The only issue is that some guests were SO noisy and drunk, it made it impossible to sleep some nights.

There is a good vibe at this hostel and the location is quite central. The rooms/beds are a bit average. When we got back after a days outing we found some "service" guy opening our room door to "fix" something. Luckily we were leaving later that day..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Address: Nyar Utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.