We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added King's Hotel to your Saves list
King's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapest Nagy Diofa utca 25-27, Budapest 1072, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel with lovely staff but rooms don't match up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.
Warn carpets, very thin pillows & sheets. Uncomfortable beds. Very noisy on the street side (which we were).
Breakfast was very limited & not to our taste.
Good location & cheaply priced (you get what you pay for)

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    143
    138
    54
    25
See reviews for
69
150
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were put in this hotel for one night because our reservation in our hotel started one day later. The King Hotel is located in a quiet street. Close to many attractions. It is an old hotel and much upgrade is needed. Breakfast was bland, although the setting inside and on the terrace was nice. The most remarkable thing about this hotel was the 'coolness' of the staff at the reception desk. We struggled to get a smile, no matter how courteous and thankful we were. We observed interactions with others. The same. This was the case with the night reception person in particular. No smile. No emotions whatsoever. Helpfulness was minimal. The morning person was not much better. It felt so sad.

Now, I know this country has gone through tragic times, but most of the people we have interacted with seem fine. So I don't think this is cultural. Everywhere we went we felt people in Budapest were helpful.

To the comrades at the King Hotel we say: surely life is hard and many things in this life could make us depressed to the max, but remember; you are part of the 'hospitality' industry. Smile! You never know. Smiling might feel good. Good day :)

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was Here For a Holiday.the hotel was very strange but not so bad.the worst Point was the blonde waitress who never gave us a smile.nevermind, Budapest is wonderful and if you have free time why can't you go in the pub in front of kings hotel? David is Great!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, very clean. Beds are comfy but pillows are a but low as you only get one but the mattresses are really sleep in-able. The staff are friendly and will great you with a smile and are happy to help out. You can book/ buy tickets for a variety of things from the actual hotel, we didn't but it was nice to know we had that option. The location is great, it is situated in the Jewish quarter of Budapest and from this hotel you can get to all the attractions you could wish to see. It is by a bar but we found with the window shut and air con on this wasnt a problem. Breakfast was continental, not what I necessarily like but it is what a person would expect from this kind of breakfast. Overall we would come back here if ever in Budapest again, and would recommend to others I know who will travel to Budapest.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location and friendly staff, who went the extra mile when required, breakfast basic but filling, rooms a bit dated and shabby but clean and spotless bathrooms, carpets etc require a refresh but i was not there for the decor. very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the King's hotel during the middle of June. It is well situated BUT it is very old and outdated. The place cries for some upgrade. The carpet in the room was really worn out and looks very dirty. Very small tv with local channels only. THE BREAKFAST- the breakfast

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Position of the hotel is the only good thing!!! for the rest it is old, very darkness, breakfast was ok, but my room was without window small and i don't feel comfortable.
I suggest to choose another hotel in the near by even adding a small difference because this is cheap but not good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#143 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Golden Park Hotel
#169 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#173 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#168 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#158 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#157 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Address: Budapest Nagy Diofa utca 25-27, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your King's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Budapest
Hotel Kings Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.