We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on room rate
Ranked #15 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Budapest hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A very nice hotel with a perfect location! An excellent platform for a trip to a beautiful and very exiting city. The wines are really nice, the hungarian food is tasty and the people is nice, however not all of them very service minded. Worth a trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

we would like to thank you for honoring Kempinski Budapest for your stay and it was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you valued our excellent location. We would like to thank you for your recommendation too and please be ready for further culinary adventures of the Corvinus Cuisine with the highlight of Hungarian Wine Dinner upon your next stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for your future stays at the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest.

Your Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    429
    90
    23
    11
See reviews for
221
857
91
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend in July 2012 and I can say only positives about it. Of course, the hotel is very expensive, but it is 5 star quality and I can say top quality. Also the location was perfect to explore city center, breakfast provided from 6.30 till 11.00 with full options all the times and room was large with a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were two girlfriends who wanted at relaxing shoping trip and ended up here. Fantastic hotel with great staff. The fish buffet friday was amazing, and we are definetly going back this spring.
The spa and swimmingpool could be bigger, but really great anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your short but powerful comment on Tripadvisor. Please make sure you try next time other highlights of Corvinus Cuisine, inclusive Sunday Brunch and Wine Dinner and please rely on team to make appointment for a relaxing massage at Kempinski SPA too.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in spring again in Budapest, at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus.

Yours sincerely,
The Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our stay was a disaster. We were so disappointed, especially after such wonderful experiences at the Hotel Adlon in Berlin and the Kempinski hotels in Dresden, Prague, and Bratislava. Everything about our stay was far below standards set by other Kempinski hotels. The standard and deluxe rooms are far too small and have party-doors. Smoking is apparently not limited to the three smoking floors. The staff is dishonest in the way that they quote prices for room upgrades, (they quoted me the increase instead of the total charge). For example, if your room charge is 100 Euros, they will tell you that you may upgrade to a room for 150 Euros. What they don't tell you is that they will charge you for 100 PLUS 150 equaling 250 Euros. The large suite overlooking the park was dirty. We smelled smoke and vomit in the carpet. When we alerted the front desk, they sent up a maid with a water spray-bottle, (as if that could solve the problem). That carpet needs to be replaced! We moved rooms four times in five days. Only our last room, Number 501 was modern, clean and comfortable. We loved the view from here but laughed at the fact we had to climb up onto the bathtub and stretch our necks out to see the Danube. Ha !! The hotel's architecture is entirely uninspiring. It was designed in the shape of a large letter "C" (for King Corvinus??) so that all the rooms on the inside look out upon one another instead of the city. The front door opens directly onto a carport one foot away. We were nearly run over by an overeager taxi cab driver. Upon arrival we dove into the pool and both came down with conjunctivitis. I would up getting whooping cough as well that required a visit by the (Marriott) hotel doctor and several follow-up visits to doctors back home. Under no circumstance would I return to this hotel in Budapest.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. Go to the Four Seasons, Sofitel, Intercontinental (all for views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBudapest, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

As mentioned in our direct communication before, we are very sorry to learn from your comments that not all of the aspects and departments of the hotel could live up to your expectations and apologize again for any inconveniences caused. Your experience is most certainly not reflective of the usually high standards we strive for and services we deliver.

We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your personal preferences with regards to the award winning architecture, but are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Junior Suite at the end. Although we can not change the distance to the river Danube, our hotel features rooms and suites in different configurations for different needs and our team would be delighted to convince you of our services should you be willing to give us second chance.

with best regards,
Emile Bootsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

before leaving the kempinski budapest, i was shown it's guest book: madonna, michael jackson, sir paul mccartney, sir elton john, sepp blatter, brad pitt and more politicians, royals and diplomats than it seemed possible.
well, if it's good enough for them.....
the location is superb, the service beautiful - the local workforce is wonderfully polite, charming and humble - and the food is first class.
the hotel's been there for 20 years and there are areas showing signs of wear and tear, though a major upgrade will put it back on top by spring.
highly recommeded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Best about this hotel is location. Breakfest was awerage, spa section is small, the room was clean and spacious. Definitly I would recommend a Nobu restoran in the hotel, the price are high but the food was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Couldn't fault it. Great location, room, service and food. All the staff were very helpful particularly the reception staff who as we had a late flight home and were not leaving the hotel until 5pm gave us a late check out to 4pm.

We were there four nights and ate dinner in the hotel once taking advantage of the Friday night fish market. This was excellent value in terms of quality and price and was very popular so worth making a booking at reception if you want to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear values guest,

First of all we would like to thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your Budapest stay.
It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you valued the excellent quality and service at our hotel, particularly the reception staff and the Friday's Fish Market Buffet at our restaurant. At your next visit make sure you try the other highlights of our Corvinus Cuisine, like Nordic Grill and Hungarian wine dinner. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon and would like to assure you of our best attention, also for your future stays at the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest.

with very best regards,
The Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, at the very heart of the city. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.