We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern European Style?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on room rate
Ranked #17 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eastern European Style?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was in a Budapest together with a friend for a week. We found a really good deal on Kempinski (without breakfast) and decided to book based on the reviews here. The hotel met my expectations in most ways. Convenient location, clean, spacious rooms and the staff was friendly and very service minded. However, I would like to point out a few areas where the hotel didn't match what I had expected in one way or the other.

I found that the spa area was really nice, and you can actually spend a lot of time there if you like saunas and steam baths and have money to spend on various treatments. (Please note that the prices for treatments are similar to what you pay in western countries and we didn't do any of them) However, the (indoor) pool was big enough for a "dip" and not for any swimming.

I found that the gym was too small - I would call it an exercise room. There were three treadmills, a cross trainer, some bicycles, some bells/weights (up to 20kg) and a multi exercise machine with five different stations (for legs, back, chest and pull ups or dips). Being a frequent gym visitor I found that I had to be more creative than usually in terms of exercises and when there was more than two people there you had to wait for the machines and it is hard even to find space on the floor for push ups or similar.

I found the interior and decor is not really modern. Maybe this is modern in eastern europe? I guess some will find the decor charming or romantic but in my view it was a bit out of style and not the surroundings that makes me feel that I am in one of the most expensive hotels in the city.

In a five star hotel I would expect to be able to make tea or coffee in the room. There was just a minibar.

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the park - had somewhat of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    469
    97
    24
    12
See reviews for
251
928
97
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I can get a bit OCD when booking holidays - I'll spend weeks going through reviews, travel agent brochures and different websites finding the perfect hotel for holidays with my girlfriend (the planning drives her nuts though).

After visiting Budapest for business a couple of times I decided we should come here and see the city properly. Location was very important - we wanted to do a lot of exploring so it had to be in in the heart of things and easy walking distance of everywhere - and we wanted somewhere with a spa (Budapest being pretty famous for that side of things, seemed silly not to). And, I'll admit, I wanted a touch of luxury to it all. The Corvinus delivered on all counts.

From the moment the doorman opened the taxi door for us and directed a bellhop to take our bags to the room, I fell in love with the place. The main foyer is stunning, the staff are friendly, polite and helpful and the room is beautiful. We paid for an upgraded room and it was definitely worth it - compared the the tiny rooms you get in many European city hotels, it's positively enormous! The decor is tasteful and elegant, the bed is huge and incredibly comfortable and the marble laden bathroom can only truly be described as decadent.

There is twice daily housekeeping - in the morning they do all the usual cleaning & tidying, but it was the afternoon/evening turndown service that really tipped the scales for me. Went out for dinner and when we came back the bed was turned down, there was a soft mat & slippers laid out on each side of the bed, a complimentary bottle of still mineral water on each bedside table and a weather forecast for the next day left on the desk.

Some people complain that it doesn't have views of the Danube, but as I'm typing this I can look out of our window across Erzsebet ter at the stunning St Stephens Basillica rising above the city a block away and honestly say it doesn't matter.

The fitness centre is small but well equipped (all the cardio machines have their own TVs and the water machine - I kid you not - gives you a choice of still or sparkling mineral water!) The spa is beautiful and very relaxing (word of warning to British travelers - seems that the normal routine in these parts is to change in your room and head down in your robe (supplied in the room) rather than change in the locker rooms. Oh, and the sauna is, according to the attendant "in the nudist area". Towels for the purpose of modesty are supplied, just don't want you to be caught unawares).

The hotel's own restaurants are stunning and, while expensive compared to the local places, a lot more reasonable than you'd pay in a similar establishment in London. I hear that their afternoon tea/high tea is wonderful, so I'm planning on trying that before I leave. And if you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are dozens of restaurants within a few minutes walk offering everything from traditional Hungarian through to modern European and Chinese. You can easily get a really good dinner for two at around £15-20 (plus alcohol) without having to go far. And there are plenty of places to get breakfast (not just the usual Starbucks & Costa, although they are present) for a couple of ponds per head. Oh, if you leave without trying the ice-cream place behind the Basillica where they craft it in to a multi-coloured rose, you don't know what you're missing.

The hotel backs on to Fashion Street and is only a block from Vaci Utca (fashionable High Street shopping) in one direction and Andrassy Ut (designer shopping) in the other, so you're covered for all kinds of shopping. And for sightseeing, all the major hop-on hop-of busses stop at the end of the road, so you can see the entire city without actually walking more than 50 meters if you really want!

To summarise all of the above - great hotel, good value for money, I will be coming back.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms (doesn't cost much) overlook the square and the Basillica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

i'v been to this hotel from 22 july 4 nights - it's a very fnacy hotel located in the center and very close to everything - overall is very nice hotel, but since it's not a cheap one you expect it to be better - you cant find in the room simple but important things (like iron or glasses of wine) and it seems like they only try to make the most (money) of you. so the mini bar is so small you cant put inside even a bottle of water (they give you everyday some kind of bitter watter that you cant drink - why not simple bottle of water?!) the room itself is ok, the hottel is nice (but as i said to expensive for what you get).

they have two kind of breakfasts "continental" (which i cant eat (too fatty for me) and the buffet which is ok (just ok no more) but as usual too expensive if it's not includded in your deal (so try to find a deal which include it).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a reasonably priced five star, good valve for what we paid for 3nights.
Quality service etc is as good as other European 5 stars. We received a free upgrade upon asking to deluxe suite, our room was very spacious.
Excellent location, most sites walking distance including castle(20mins-25mins); near to numerous restaurants and bars.
Only slight issue was smallest swimming pool I've ever seen for a 5star hotel. Also construction work going on in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was there this week for 2 nights, it was a lovely stay...the hotel is in the best area, close to the shopping area-vaci utca as well as the danube. the food is good as well as the service. Loved it and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

i do not think you can bit the location of this hotel. We got the reservation through Expedia and got a great deal. The service is very good and we cannot complain about the food. The have this outdoor lounge/bar on the main street which is very cool and great menu. If you visit the Spa you HAVE to have a Thai massage.....simply the BEST!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the Pest part of Budapest. The rooms are spacious and nice; the staff is excellent, friendly and very helpful. A great choice when visiting Budapest!!! The hotel is centrally located and is only 5 minutes walking distance from the Danube river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,185 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, at the very heart of the city. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.