We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K+K Hotel Opera

Save Saved
You added K+K Hotel Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
K+K Hotel Opera
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Revay utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book directly & save 15%
Ranked #20 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

All in all this was an excellent place to stay. The location was great, the staff were friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. They were also excellent about changing money which was a life saver since usually the ATM would give us 20,000 notes and the hotel never complained about changing it for smaller denominations which they did pretty much every day for us. They also didn't mind talking to taxi drivers for us to make sure we were going to the correct place.

We used the free room upgrade and the hotel said they only had upgraded rooms on the 1st floor and were concerned about the noise from the bar across the road. We were shown both rooms the standard which would be on the 6th and the upgraded on the 1st. It was clear they wanted us on the 6th floor (mostly i imagine because of complaints about noise in the past). We took the 1st floor upgraded room and as it happened the bar was shut for the next 2 nights anyway so noise wasn't a mega issue and we are always up late and sleep better with some noise anyway.

The room was very nice, twin beds pushed together, mounted tv (unless you pay for a movie rental which we did you pretty much get a music channel, the news and the travel channel in english) , internet cable, bathroom with both a bath and shower (although the other room we ordered had a walk in shower) and a sofa. Its worth mentioning that occasionally i slept on the sofa as me and my gf sometimes have difficulty getting a good night sleep next to each other and unfortunately only realised on the last day it was a sofa bed!. It wasn't mentioned that it was so just thought would give anyone a heads up in case they need it for any reason and don't stupidly spend a week trying to sleep on a small sofa instead.

The maid did an excellent job making our room tidy when we got back, although a couple of occasions she did just enter the room while we were in it rather than knocking. They also have a smoking room which doubles as a business meeting room it seems (great for an early hours cig without going out into the cold). We tried room service once after an exhausting day, the price was expensive (as can be said for any hotel) but the food was excellent and they let us order liturally 2minutes before hot food service ended which was great. I wasn't such a big fan of the breakfast, the bacon seemed a bit too much like cardboard and the rest was mainly bread, fruit and cereal but then again i have never been a huge fan of hotel buffet breakfasts so this could just be a preference issue. I would avoid the bar, its nice but INSANELY expensive, so maybe get one drink from there but its not going to be your regular place.

I doubt you will find better value for the price, last year we stayed in prague for a comparable price and our room was a shoe closet by comparison. Would definitely stay here again and in fact we agreed if we go to a place with another k+k hotel we would most likely book with k+k again. Very happy with both the hotel and the service.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet sleep, request a high floored room ideally near the back. There is a pub across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are thankful for your positive comments and for sharing your experience regarding our services. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to return again.
We will be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    407
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
103
633
105
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was the friendliest, most helpful hotel. The room was clean and accommodating with lots of little extras provide like tea and toiletries. There are wonderful cafes just right around the corner and the subway is right out the front door. We walked everywhere from this location. One of the staff members sent us to Chagall's A little cafe with the best Hungarian food! We ate there once a day during our stay. This hotel made our Budapest trip something wonderful to remember.

Room Tip: We had a room on the courtyard, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and posting your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our services have met your expectations.
We look forward to make your next stay a memorable one again!

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel for value , location and service . The rooms are very clean and well equipped. The staff are welcoming and obliging with the exception of one who found requests an imposition.
The breakfast was ok , quite a lot of choice but not outstanding. Bar staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Overall this hotel was perfect for a short break - Budapest is a lovely city with friendly people and lots to do. I would return and stay at the K&K without question.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are happy to read that you found our hotel perfect for your stay and that you would certainly chose us again when returning to Budapest.
Thank you for your constructive feedback which helps us to further improve the quality of our services.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good signs for our visit that the taxi driver arranged for our pick-up by the hotel was welcomimg and friendly AND a careful driver getting us to the destination in good time despite it being 'going home time ' for the working people of the city.We have never before stayed at ahotel in which there was absolutely nothing to critisize. The staff were all helpful and attentive, rooms were comfortably warm and spotlessly clean, food excellent and the hotel well located for access to a variety of attractions and the city.
Our taxi to the airport also arranged by the hotel was also on time and as with the inbound car and driver well up to standard we expected

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and your fellow travellers, it is much appreciated.
Reliable and safe taxi service is very important to us too as it is the first impression our guests have on their visit. We are happy that we could make your stay a memorable one, your satisfaction is an encouragement to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

with best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great hotel, the staff was helpful.

The hotel is nice and central with easy access to the Opera underground train station as well as walking distance from St. Stephen's Basilica.

The feeling inside the hotel is nice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel and taking your time to write a review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards

Andrea Kopócsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the Hotel in Budapest was freezing .....we had a long trip from California to Hungary and besides being exhausted we were starving. The receptionist was very friendly and did our check in very fast speaking a perfect English . She also told us about the sauna at the spa downstairs and gave us recommendations for restaurants around the place.
After a nice sauna and shower we went to one of the places she recommended and had a great meal followed by a delicious red wine .
We spent a total of seven days in this hotel and we were treated like royal family .
The breakfast is very abundant and we could sample a lot of local food plus some refreshing cider and real mineral water .
This is a very central location where you can enjoy a lot of cultural events and the best shops in Budapest , there are plenty to do and then at the end of the day you can relax in the spa and the comfort of your room .
As it was Christmas time the staff catered to our needs giving us candy treats and directing us to visit the Special Hungarian fairs , The Cathedral (very close to it ) and to join the unforgettable Ballet at The Opera showing THE NUTCRACKER !

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is great pleasure to read that we have met your expectations during your stay with us on Christmas vacation. We do believe that personal services and recommendations are very important for our guests as it could make such a difference in getting to know our beautiful city.
There are a lots of things to visit and enjoy here in winter time too: you have to return next Christmas and try one of the numerous hot spas iand stay with us again!

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This Hotel is Ideally located especially if you wish to go to the opera or attend the theatre as it round the corner from Budapest's magnificent Opera House. The rooms although not huge are extremely adequate and spotessly clean and the bathroom is well stocked with toiletries. The breakfasts are plentiful with a good variety of food and the staff are continually clearing up and restocking. The Hotel is located just off the famous Andrassy Boulevard which is known as Budaypest's Champs Elysees.and the hop on/hop off bus just stops two minutes away from the hotel. There is a metro stop close by to the hotel as teh tram interchange is a five minute walk It is about a fifteen minute walk to the touristy Vaci Utca area and the Danube River. I would highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback concerning your stay with us.
It's great that you found the location, the room and our breakfast enjoyable and you shared this experience on Tripadvisor.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to K+K Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Opera

Address: Revay utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — K+K Hotel Opera 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K+K Hotel Opera in Budapest is a sophisticated, modern first class hotel which enjoys great popularity due to its welcoming atmosphere, a stylish interior design, and its unbeatable central location next to the Opera-house. Shopping in the pedestrian area "Vaci utca", as well as many key sights are within easy walking distance. The "Opera" underground station is just outside the hotel. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, K&K Management GMBH, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your K+K Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Opera
k Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K+K Hotel Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.