We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem rkp. 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

I have just spent five nights in this hotel, and confess to being puzzled by the mixed reviews it gets. We had the middle room on the 6th floor, which was perfectly clean, neither too hot nor too cold (although the weather was temperate), and not too noisy. The breakfasts were great; and the location, five minutes walk to the Castle District or the Chain Bridge or Batthyany Ter (for trains to Szentendre) couldn't be bettered. Whilst the views (admittedly from one of the higher floors) were worth the money (£367) on their own.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    205
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
103
407
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2005

Booked this hotel from reviews on this site instead of Art'otel down the street. The staff was friendly, helpful. Breakfast was good, omelets fresh to order were great. Requested river view and got it. However, room was deplorable. Had half an inch of dust everywhere. Fingerprints on every surface. Windows filthy. Bathroom shower was a mildew haven. Sorry but this ruined our stay at this hotel. Not what I expected from a highly reviewed hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2005

Just returned from our second visit to this lovely hotel. This time we stayed for 3 nights, had a huge room with wonderful views of Parliament buildings to the left and Chain Bridge to the right. Room and bathroom extremely clean. Breakfast is great, with even a choice of omelettes or scrambled eggs and bacon, which is not usual for a continental breakfast. Staff very willing to help and book taxis, reservations for restaurants and opera.

On our next visit to this wonderful city, we will be staying here again. I must recommend the Belgian Bar right next door. The meals are just superb and very reasonable and the choice of beer! I only wish it was my local!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Victoria from August 22 through the 30th and then after visiting Italy we returned to stay another week.

We had the most outstanding views of the Danube from our rooms! Every room has large windows and at night you can see the Parliment building along the Danube and the beautiful Chain Bridge lit up... very romantic!

The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is professional, speak several languages and very accomodating. Every staff member was very nice and made our stay there a pleasure, we truly experienced a family atmosphere.

Breakfast was also fantastic, not the typical continental breakfast which consists of coffee and a croissant. Instead there was a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, fruits, etc. etc. We looked forward to it each morning and if one prefers a capuccino over standard American style coffee, you can order that as well as great omlettes.

The next time we go back to Budapest we will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

We stayed in a fifth floor room for three nights in August, and were delighted - the views across the Danube were unbeatable, the staff was delightfully friendly and helpful, and we had none of the noise or other problems experienced by some members. The breakfast complaints on this site were also curious to me - since you are in central europe, you are going to get a spread of meats, cheeses, vegetables, breads, jams, and hopefully pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt. The Victoria had these in addition to hot egg dishes that you could order - so if you go hungry, blame yourself, not the hotel. I also didn't really notice the furniture - frankly, the views were so absolutely beautiful, that the big comfortable chairs we pointed towards the windows seemed like heaven. One night we walked down the river to the grocery store (5-10 minute walk, large, modern, great selection) and bought a picnic to take back to our room, since we figured we had some of the best views in the city.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

Just returned from an excellent 2 night break. 2 nights not being a sufficiently long enough stay in this lovely city.

This hotel is well positioned for everything. In the quieter part of the city yet close to everything.

The Hotel has a 4* rating I believe because of it's location. It's standard is similar to a UK 3* type. The reception area is small. There is a bar but not much in the way of seating for relaxation. Each floor contains three bedrooms, the 'end' rooms are bigger and have better views. We stayed in room 22, a middle room, which was a smaller room on the second floor and found this suitable for our needs. Great views of the river, houses of parliament and chain bridge. Previous comments on the trip advisor site had indicated noise from trams/traffic, this was evident, however, not sufficient to spoil our stay nor our recommendation to stay.

The breakfast was very good, sufficient choice to meet any needs.
The Hotel was clean Staff very helpful and friendly.

This is a 'small' 4* hotel. If you are looking for a big hotel service (lounge, restaurent, room service etc) this hotel WON'T meet your needs. If like us you want a clean bedroom/bathroom, good breakfast, friendly staff and great location this IS the Hotel.

After booking out on the day of departure, we left our luggage in reception. Before leaving for the airport, the Hotel allowed us to use a seperate shower facility and provided us with towels.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

I stayed here for one night in july. After reading about the noise-problems on this site, I was a little concerned when I got a room at the first floor. But, the noise from the street was almost non-existing. Sure there is a tram that runs outside, but it does not have those screaming breaks, so I didn't find that to be a problem. I also thought the view was ok (see pictures).

What I found to be a problem was actually noise from within the hotel. As first floor is just half a floor up from the lobby, and there are no doors at either end of the stairs, it got very noisy when people gathered down there for a drink in the evening.

But, except from that I found the hotel to be very nice. Good food, very helpful staff, and excellent location for exploring the city by foot.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,859 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Address: Bem rkp. 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.