We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem rkp. 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Floral City, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Conveniently located, modern exterior and clean generous sized rooms, friendly and accommodating staff, with great views of the river and Parliament. Breakfast was just fine, with cooked to order egg dishes and a nice selection on the buffet. We arrived early in the day and were allowed to store our bags in our room, even though it was not cleaned yet. We stowed our things, put valuables in the safe and took off for a day of sightseeing. We got good suggestions on nearby restaurants from staff. The surprise came when we asked for the location of afternoon tea. When we went through the door that was indicated, we found a beautiful space from a different century, beautifully restored and stocked with tea/coffee and cookies. Although we did not use it, the minibar was well stocked. Nice nightlight and rain shower in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the street (trams) and those on the north end have bigger windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    193
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
89
366
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The main reason you stay here is for the amazing view and location! and it doesn't disappoint, the Victoria is on the Buda side of the Danube, all the rooms face the Danube so you don't have to worry about that, they are also a good size, linen and towels are clean.
If you want tea or coffee though you will have to go to the reception, at least my room didn't have any.
Mini Bar is well stocked and well priced though.
The Staff are very friendly and helpful and there is no hard sell for the tours, if you want to go just ask.
The reception, bar and breakfast room are small, best to get down early for breakfast, typically continental style, the omelet's are great!

Room Tip: All rooms have floor to ceiling windows for an amazing view, what more could you ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear stevieshirt28,

We really appreciate your wonderful comment! It summarized what we are working for.
As more and more guests would like to have a tea and coffee maker in the room, from 2014 we created a special package for you. Please check Hotel Victoria's own official website for the details.

Kind regards,

Zoltan Palmai Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here on our 4th night driving back to the UK, after reading the reviews here on Trip

We wanted to receive a friendly welcome and spend the night in a safe, clean, quiet, hotel and have safe secure parking for our car all at a reasonable cost. Also with the option of being centrally located so we could do a little sigt seeing for an hour or two.

This hotel failed to tick all the boxes

The hotel is in a good location, we felt safe, it was clean and quiet, the price was good and we did get secure parking for our car.

I have given an average review due to a few factors that didn't enhance my overnight stay in Budapest.

When we arrived the greeting we recieved was somewhat stand offish and abrupt, as this was my first visit to Hungary I do not know if this is just a cultural thing.

We had contacted the hotel requesting a secure parking space for 'a large vehicule Nissan Navara' when we arrived at around 6.00pm after a 7 hour drive from Romania we were told that the car didn't look like it would fit in the garage and to park in in front of the hotel which was obviously not secure being on a main road. Upon our insistence we were allowed to try and get our car in the garage which we did with no problem. The hassle to get what we had asked for though isn't really acceptable.

We were then asked by the receptionist for our car keys which she needed to hold as this was the law in Hungary, maybe this is so but I have never had to leave my keys on reception at any other hotel in the world so I didn't here either.

Later we asked where we should see during our few hours in their city, the gentleman on the desk told us the castle, when I asked where the shoes on the Danube were he informed me that they were on the other side of the river, great thanks, exactly how long is the river? During our drive round Europe we stayed in 10 hotels, of the 10 this one had by far the worst service I would recommend the manager sends his staff to the Epoque in Bucharest or the Cavo Olympo in Katerini Greece to learn about hospitality, both of which charged a considerable amount less per night.

All in all I left with the distinct impression that we weren't really that welcomed, which was a shame because it's a decent hotel in a good location and the city is stunning.

Room Tip: Maybe the Art'otel a couple of buildings along the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very relaxing,convenient hotel with good amenities and helpful staff.We booked two rooms,one for my wife and I,another for our daughter.The rate was the same for both rooms but the room quality between the rooms was quite different.Rooms as assigned first come,first served.My daughter arrived at the peak of the easter weekend so her room was smaller,with no bath and on the first floor which was noisier.The hotel was unwilling to give even a minor discount for the inferior room.
So arrive early and stay during the week if you want to have a decent quality room.
Otherwise very nice....

Room Tip: get to the hotel early in the day.Arrive on a weekday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Gabor K,

Thank you for your positive review, we always enjoy to meet with guests like you who love to visit their homeland and practise their native language. Hope you'll return soon.
Just a small remark to the quality of our rooms. Your daughter paid less as she reserved a single room , besides both of the rooms were same large with same amenities, the only difference was that yours had bathtub, hers had shower. All the rooms have soundproof window, but as she lives in New York, she asked a noisy extra fan, as she can't sleep in a silent room! Sorry for not having that.

I hope we can meet next year as well.

Kind regards
Zoltan Palmai Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location of the hotel is fantastic with a view on the river and the house of parliament. Ideal for exploring the city on foot. They also offer parking and the breakfast was excellent. If I was to go back to Budapest I will defenitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a small but perfectly formed hotel on the Buda side of Budapest with all rooms having fantastic panaromic views of the Danube and all the wonderful buildings and bridges. Great location close to the chain bridge and parliament buildings with good access to public transport. Rooms are well appointed with large beds and everything you need at hand. Breakfast is fine and you get eggs and bacon cooked to order every morning alongside a continental buffet. All staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. Thanks for a lovely stay in a wonderfuk city.

Room Tip: All have the wonderful views - we were lucky on the 8th floor so my only tip would be to ask to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is well located, spotlessly clean, stylish, comfortable, and very welcoming.
We slept well in our third-floor room, enjoying a wonderful view of the river and the parliament building.
There was a problem with the in-room wifi while we were there that the management spotted and fixed very quickly.
Afternoon tea in the beautiful 'white room' is much to be recommended. That lovely space is a bit of a contrast to the more cramped, slightly stuffy lobby and breakfast bar; maybe the hotel could find some way to use that for things like breakfast?
I would certainly stay here again when next in Budapest.

Room Tip: The higher up, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Peter W,
Thank you very much for your positive reviews. It is always good to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular view, the free WI-FI and our amazing White Music Hall, which is real unique in Budapest.
After our major renovation in 2012 we realized that because of the growing popularity of our hotel we need to expand the breakfast and lobby area.
We managed to buy a nice and big property right next to our reception, where we will move our breakfast room. The plans are ready, we are waiting for the permissions, but latest next January we'll create a new and larger lobby and breakfast area for all of you!

Kind regards,
Zoltan Palmai Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Address: Bem rkp. 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.