We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem rkp. 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really liked this hotel. It was in a great location. Close enough to everything and in a quiet enough place.
We stayed on the 8th floor which was brilliant. It had amazing views over the Danube.
Breakfast was good too. A good selection of meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, fruit, Juice, tea, coffee and then eggs cooked whatever way you wanted with bacon or ham.

The one thing to consider is that there is no window that opens in the room so i found the air could get quite dry from air con and heating and you can get very thirsty. Make sure to have some water in the room. There is a mini bar but its expensive, like all mini bars are.

I found a couple of nice restaurants near the hotel that are worth noting, especially if you get in late or are too tired to walk far. Carne di Hall was pretty nice and quite close. Out of hotel and turn left. Walk past Hotel art and its on the left. Its a pretty nice place. Bit more expensive than the average but a very nice meal. Have a look.
Pater Marcus Abbey on the street behind the hotel has a great selction of Belgian beers.
Sophia's Piano cafe beside the hotel is supposed to be ok for drinks and a bite too.

Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Travel85Dublin,

Thank you for your positive comment and we are glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
As we have full wall windows, most of them can be opened, but because of their huge size and weight, some of them are fix.
Regarding to your comment about our minibar, I know guests have and old obsession, that phones and minibars are expensive in hotels. I don't argue with that, but please check our prices first! You can call a lot of international landline number only for 0,10 EUR/minute and the cost of a bottled water is only 1,1 GBP or 1,7 USD or 1,3 EUR!!
If you find cheaper prices in a 4-star-hotel, I would pay the difference!
Hope we can talk about these questions next time personally beside a nice Hungarian Palinka!
Best regards,
Zoltan Palmai Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    205
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
103
407
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Faultless hotel, brilliant location. Just in front of Fishermans basion and roughly 5 minute walk from funicular railway. Perfect loaction on buda side with a 10 minute walk over chain bridge into pest. Very helpful hotel staff and clean rooms. If your going to Budapest, I wouldn't stay anywhere else but here!!! :)

Room Tip: Try 'Spoon' restaurant- just over chain bridge on Pest side down by the river. Lovely food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed here for 1 night and found this hotel to be in an excellent position near the Chain Bridge, next to the Danube with all rooms overlooking the beautiful Parliament building. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were excellent. Breakfast was also very good and generous, with good cooked meals.

Although relatively small with limited facilities, it was an excellent base for a brief trip to Budapest

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were looking for a nice, but affordable winter getaway (we love Christmas markets). We stumbled across the Hotel Victoria and thought we would give it a try. The view from the hotel is stunning. The room was very well taken take of, modern and clean. We found the hotel to be very centrally located for all of the places we wanted to see (we are walkers). The hotel is a 5 min walk from Chain Bridge. There is a rail stop directly across the street that takes you up and down that side of the river, with the train station for connections being 5 min away. Breakfast offers continental buffet or a breakfast made to order. Very friendly staff. A number of restaurants about. Best little market is out the door to the left - 3 min walk. Water, wine and snacks - honest and friendly owner. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel was fantastic all the staff were help full and friendly
The rooms were so clean
B/fast was good and you can get cooked eggs with bacon cheese etc at no extra cost
There is a small bar on the corner very friendly staff and you can get snacks

Room Tip: The rooms have all fantastic views but the ones ending in 1or3 have bigger windows We also booked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel on many visits over the last ten years. It has always been good, with good service. The food i not gourmet quality and neither are the prices
All in all, a very goof hotel and excellent value for money

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place absolutely made Budapest the experience it was for us. Situated on the Buda side of town, right on the river, with floor to ceiling glass windows. The view was absolutely stunning. On our right was the Chain Bridge, just 100 metres away. Across the river to our left was the stunning Parliament building. And right in front of us was all the river traffic plying the Danube. I could have sat and watched it all unfold for hours!

Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with large modern bathrooms. Every room has a view of the river. Room lighting is innovative and quirky, and obviously planned to take full advantage of the river views at night. Beds were the standard two king singles pushed together that we found a lot in Europe, but very comfortable all the same. Double glazed windows kept the noise of the city out. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially the breakfast staff, who made eggs to order and wonderful coffee. Try their Hungarian omelettes.

You walk out the door and you're immediately in a restaurant and bar area: so many that you're spoilt for choice. There's a tram stop right outside the hotel. One direction gets you to the Gellert Baths and a short walk across the river to the markets. The other way connects to the Budapest tube system at Batthyany Ter. So it's very easy to navigate Budapest from here.

The view from the Victoria made Budapest for us. It's was just so beautiful. Had we stayed elsewhere I doubt that we would have come away loving the place as much as we did. This is one fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,860 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Address: Bem rkp. 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.