We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budapest Heroes Square to your Saves list
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dozsa Gyorgy ut 106, Budapest 1068, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Liget)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    163
    67
    23
    4
See reviews for
54
130
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skummeslovsstrand, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and staff are good but the breakfast is a little below standard. The dark bread felt old and the boiled eggs were cold and boiled green. The variety of toppings could be better. The location is quiet but near the metro so you can go were you want.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at Ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mats,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast, which we have since addressed.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to IBIS in the future.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent five nights in this Hotel and were very satisfied. It is in a very convenient location, close to the beautiful Heroes Square, in front of Népliget, the biggest park in the city, where the Zoo, the Circus and Széchényi Thermal Baths are located. Only a few steps from the underground station, it is very easy to move around Budapest starting from here. The price was very good 'cause we had a "stay more than four nights" discount. The room was clean and air condition was welcome in the hot August days. Free wi fi was also very important to us. The people at the reception were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is way too expensive so we never ate at the Hotel. There is a very good and simple hungarian restaurant just in front of the Ibis where you can have good food at a reasonable price. We really had a great time there and will stay in this Hotel when in Budapest again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at Ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear fagyi72,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Super overpriced breakfast. Maybe because there is no place around to have it.
NO AIR CONDITIONING. The thing just works as an exhaustion. And the windows don't fully open. There's a wire keeping them just a few centimeters open.
The guy at the reception, during check in, tryed to push the breakfast on us and it was somewhat difficult to make him tell us the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at Ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear LuisFelipeAlves2013,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to contact me on +36 30 456 43 19 to discuss this further and in person.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just stayed for four nights in the heart of Budapest, the Ibis Budapest Heroes Square in a double room. I arrived with an early flight so when I checked in at 9.00 they only had a smoking room available, and I took it, not wanting to waste time looking for quiet place where I can work on my laptop, the alternative option was waiting until 14.00 (the normal check-in time) for a non-smoker room.
My 5th floor room overlooked the Dozsa Gyorgy ut, I kept the window closed most of the time because of the traffic noisy. In the evening guests also made quite a noise under my window at a small outdoor area (bar?) of the hotel.
The room was clean, sheets impeccable.
Wi-fi was flawless, fast, reliable.
Location was superb, the Heroes Square being directly over the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at Ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear gaborstefanics,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on two separate nights for one night each and found it to be an extremely good experience. Check-in and Check-out were both incredibly quick and simple with no problems. Both times the rooms were clean, decently-sized, and well-equipped. The air-conditioning was wonderful in the summer heat. The rooms also had the new Ibis beds, which I really liked and helped give us a great night's sleep. While there is nothing special about the hotel or the rooms there is certainly nothing wrong, and the lower price of this hotel makes it an amazing value. As for people who say that the hotel is not in the center, that is ridiculous. It is easy to find, right on Heroes Square, and a lovely 20-minute walk or a mere 10-minute metro ride from the river and downtown. I certainly recommend this hotel, and I plan on staying there next time I'm in Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at Ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Starwrangler,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budapest Heroes Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Address: Dozsa Gyorgy ut 106, Budapest 1068, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Liget)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budapest Heroes Square 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 139 airconditioned rooms, Hotel Ibis Heroes Square welcomes guests in the cultural heart of Budapest, next to the City Park, 10 minutes from the city centre. The harmonious ambiance of the hotel is enhanced by its immediate proximity to the Museum ofFine Arts, the Hungarian Art Gallery, Szechenyi Spa, the Zoo, Amusement Park, boating lake and skating rink, Heroes Square and the National Opera House. Business guests will appreciate WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Budapest Heroes Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Heroes Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budapest Heroes Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.