We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a Gothic Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kulturinnov

Hotel Kulturinnov
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kulturinnov
Save
You added Hotel Kulturinnov to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   I. Szentharomsag ter 6, Budapest, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Purplezombie
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply a Gothic Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in January. After a 4 hour trek looking for hotels, it was getting late. I couldnt believe it when we got to Kurlturinnov. Turning up there was a Art private view in the Foyer, walking through the buidling was impressive, with some repairs still to come the gothic architecture is fantastic.
The hotel were very accomodating at out late arrivel, the room had great high ceilings, basic but good standard room and bathroom. The windows more than enough made up for it, looking out upon the buildings impressive architecture.
Good basic hotel, warm showers, with a fantastic location in the Citadel along side hotels like the Hilton, and a stones throw away from a beautiful church.

  • Liked — The Architecture
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Spent one night at the Kulturinnov after 5 nights at the Hilton across the street for a business conference. There were several reasons I really liked it.

The location is dynamic, right in the heart of the Castle district. Across the street from Matyas Cathedral. Within walking distance of good restaurants and several museums. I agree that if you are a partying person and must have clubs and such close by, don't stay here. The other residents I met were intellectual and friendly.

There was a great indoor garden to go and sit for relaxation and contemplation. I felt very secure with not only one, but two solid doors to close and lock. (Although I only tried to lock the outside one, I must admit).

The staff were very friendly and eager to please. The cooked-to-order omelette I had at the breakfast buffet was singularly the BEST meal I ate the week I was in Budapest. Everything in my room and that I saw was squeaky clean. It was also very quiet.

A couple of downsides: The hotel is only one tenant in this large building, so finding the hotel takes some skill in following the signs, and it's on the third floor. There is no lift between the first and second floor (although there is one between the second and third floors), requiring you to schlepp your luggage up the staircase.

That's it. If you have money and must have luxury, stay across the street at the Hilton. Otherwise, this place is an answer to the budget traveler's prayer. It was about $110 for a single person/room.

  • Liked — Price, location, service, food, quiet atmosphere
  • Disliked — stairs to carry luggage up (only one flight)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

If you are looking for a first class American style hotel, keep looking. If you want to experience a unique place this is it. Our room was spotless as were our linens, right down to the lace doilies. The staff were very helpful and responded immediately to any requests. We were lucky enough to be there during the Hungarian Folk Festival and it was like a step back in time, living inside the castle walls at night. We felt being up inside the walls at night was a definte plus, right down to the gentleman sitting on the castle wall playing his flute. The view of the city at night was spectacular, the restaurants quiet and the food and wine very good. You are just steps from St. Mathias and can experience that and the castle in the early morning and late evening without the tourist crowds.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

As everyone has said, the location is good. The hotel is just not nice. Rooms are small, dirty, and smell.

The staff was very friendly and I was only there 1 night so it made it bearable. If you really want to stay in that area check the Hilton or Burg which are in exactly the same location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms are dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Burg
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

The location of this hotel is great for seeing the castle, but is therefore quite a hike from the restaurants and night-life in Pest. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was sufficient (cereal, bread, meats and cheeses). Our room could have used much improvement. The bathroom had a moldy shower, a hole in the wall, peeling paint, and a sink drain that leaked water over the floor.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Don't get me wrong, the location is very nice and there's some charm in staying in such an old building, BUT I wouldn't stay here again. First of all, staying in the Castle District is not all it's cracked up to be. At night there is NOTHING up there, not even that many restaurants. It's not easy getting to the rest of the city from there either and seeing the Castle District really only takes one day.

The hotel itself is not very nice. The bathroom smells REALLY bad every time you flush the toilet. The building is also so old that it doesn't look very clean anymore. The bottom sheets on the bed don't cover the entire mattress either and it took a lot of asking for me to get another one.

In the end it's not a terrible hotel, but it's also not SOO cheap that it's worth the problems. Budapest is great but I know I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

We loved it. It definetly was just the basics but for the price and location it was the best. It's very close to all the attraction on Castle Hill but quiet in the evening since most of the nightlife is on the Pest side.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#85 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,872 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kulturinnov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kulturinnov

Address: I. Szentharomsag ter 6, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kulturinnov 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kulturinnov Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kulturinnov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.