We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value/price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Budapest

Save Saved
You added Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szilagyi Erzsebet Fasor 47, Budapest H-1026, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value/price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel has interesting architecture, but maybe needs some renovation. We had rooms on upper floor and the views are really nice. If you can, choose rooms on upper floors.

Staff is very nice, breakfast is average. I have expected at least something from Hungaryan cuisine, but there was nothing. And coffee was quite weak.

We had as a group three rooms, all of them were clean, although overheated.

Location was great - it was a quiet place few minutes walking from metro station. There is a tram station right before the hotel and if you are coming at night from Keleti railway station, you can go to hotel by night bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    154
    111
    45
    26
See reviews for
29
93
31
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Budapest for a few days and it was not a great experience. The very first impression is the overpowering smell of stale cooking oil throughout the hotel (not so much in the bedrooms). I am not exaggerating, it was really off-putting. The staff were friendly but very slow. The bedrooms were rudimentary with a clean bathroom and a not-so-clean carpet and stained bed covers. The rooms were overheated, and we all slept badly because of it. The food was good: We had a salad in the cafe on the first evening and it was really delicious, and the service at the cafe bar was good; also the breakfast was good with wide selection of options and nice teas. I won't be staying there again though...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This monumental round building is interesting, but old furniture, too small rooms for any extra beds - we were 3 - and average service didn't really impress us, especially as it was not high season anymore, but room twice as expensive as in the same period in 4 star hotels in Prague. Fortunately we stayed there only one night, for longer period it'd be really uncomfortable. Extra bed was less comfortable than beach longer, so I ended sleeping on the floor. Staff in reception was not able to say where to leave our car as they didn't allow us to park on hotel parking! Breakfast was not bad, but it was impossible to find anybody to ask to bring cutlery and glasses for juice. Hotel definitely needs renovation - of rooms and employees! Location is quite OK, tram stop just in front of hotel, big shopping mall and metro station in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel in August 2012. Had a nice, spacious double room at a bargain price through a Groupon deal so it was really good value for money. The hotel is located just opposite a tram stop and two stops from an underground station (the same line as the Kelleti railway station) so it's very convenient for any sightseeing. The concierge and the reception staff were friendly and informative. I got answers to all my (sometimes probably stupid) questions + some really good recommendations for my trip further to Szentendre (e.g. Margit Kovacs museum - well worth visiting). Would love to stay there again (provided they offer similar discounts, of course:))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu Town, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed with my husband and our group 4 nights in this hotel.It was one of the most dirty hotels I have ever stayed .Only on the third day they changed the towels after our complaints.The room was in a very bad condition, the furniture was old and I am wondering if they have even changed the sheets from the previous customer.Breakfast was awful and they didn't even changed the dirty table cloths.
Stuff was very rude and I got the feeling that most of them do their job with no pleasure.
Another problem is that the hotel is not situated in the center and you must take the subway and the tram to be there.But if you be in the city in the winter or in the autumn you can't walk a lot or waiting for the transports when it is so cold or if it is raining.In this hotel they really don't care for the customer.
Unfortunately I had a very bad experience in this hotel and this didn't help a lot to have good memories from the city.

Room Tip: When I arrived at the hotel I asked for a better type of room.They gave me one on the highest floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 5 days in October 2012 at this hotel. Definetely a great value for money ! Unless someone is used in high quality 5 stars hotels , will find this hotel the ideal choice in Budapest! We've travelled a lot and we never had such a nice hotel for 43 euros per night !

---Staff : Kind , helpfull and very professional, nice welcome, tourist maps offered e.t.c ( on a rainy day we asked if there was an umbrella availiable untill we buy one and they gave us one gladly and immediately. The reception man on our arrival even remembered that it was our anniversary, as i have stated in my request ! ).

---Room :.Comfortable and bright room with comfortable bed, just like the photos, little fridge , little sitting area, satelite LCD t.v., enough space for walking around pleasantly, wardrobe , nice and clean bathroom , hairdryer and the highlight of this hotel.. huge window with superb view ! A very normal level of noise from either outside or inside of the hotel, never being a problem to us..( 2 ladies talking loudly with their door open after midnight, i just appeared at their door and asked for quitness and that was all !! ).

Rooms are cleaned daily, changing of bed linen and towels depend on customer's wish.(green policy).Not always a perfectly cleaned carpet but not a big issue.

---Breakfast ;.We didn't have breakfast or any meal at the hotel so we have no opinion. But we had the right to enjoy free coffee and croissant every morning which we found very kind, although we never used it...

---Location:Very green, quiet and beautiful surroundings, we never felt away from center, very safe even at 11.00 p.m.Very good transportation links.

A).Just opposite the hotel a tram stop of Nr 59 and 61 trams.Both trams take you in 5 min. to the Szell Kalman Ter(( ex Moskva Ter )) , a big square with metro , buses, trams., eating options , the Mammut big market for some shopping , e.t.c . From this metro station you can reach within few minutes all interesting parts of the city.

B). Just steps from the hotel is the bus stop of Nr 5 bus which takes you to the Pest and the famous Vaci Street and Vorosmarty square.( get off before reaching the bridge ). Very convenient.

Szell Kalman Ter ::. 1). From here, taking tram Nr 18 in few minutes you get off at ''Gellert Ter'' stop, almost in front of the Gellert Hotel. At this spot starts a paved way up the Gellert Hill and Citadella, beautiful but tiring way . We ,instead, got a taxi in front of the Gellert hotel to the top for 10 euros ( overpriced ) but worth it and then easily walked down .

2).Some stairs lead from the square to a street above where there is the bus stop of the buses Nr 16, 16A and 116 that in a few minutes take you up the Castle hill ( there is a stop ( name Halazbastya ) in front of the Fisherman's Bastion and one near the Palace ).

3).From this square start also the important trams 4 and 6 to various places.

4).By the Szell Kalman Ter metro : a) you change at Deak Ference Ter ( 2 stops ) and there change to other metro lines. b). After 1 stop get off at '' Kossuth Layos Ter '' for the Parliament area.c). Get off at the next stop ''Bathyani Ter '', at the river promenade , for a wonderfull view of the front of Parliament, Dont' miss it also at night !

We found the transportation options from this hotel much better than we expected, getting everywhere we needed in a very short while !!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For SMOKERS

The 9th floor is a smoking floor that offers great views of the city ! We asked for a smoking room and we were very pleased and enjoyed the fantastic and wide view all the time !
Also at the entrance of the hotel there is a nice terrace with tables where smokers can bring their coffee or laptop or just smoke...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

General Tips:

---Public toilets we found at the Fisherman's Bastion, the Castle Palace , also in front of the Szell Kalman Ter metro, at Bathyani Ter metro, at Deak Ference ter metro ( outside, exit Deak ter ) and Arpad Hid metro.( all payable, around 150 ft )

---Vorosmarty square with cafes and restaurants, the most alive square in the city, from there starts the beautiful Vaci Street.

---About 60 m from this square down to the river , there is the most picturesque part of the river with great views, some cafes and restaurants on the promenade ! Just between the 2 main bridges ! At this point you will also find the starting point of the river cruises and stalls where you buy the ticket.

----Important ! Arriving by plane , your first act is to find the ATM , near the newspapers shop, at the arrivals area, to exchange money.This is definetely the cheapest way to excange, not to a hotel or excange office in the city.At the newspapers shop you will buy a ticket for the 200 E bus taking you to the Kobanya Kispest metro station from which you can reach you final destination .At this station you can bye your 2,3,5-days Travel Card( around 15 euros ).Unfortunately we didn't find this card at the arrivals information office , only some ixpensive cards. With the travel card you have free travel to all buses, metro, trams and the bus 200E to return to the airport.(( There are also taxis and shuttle buses )).

****We had a great time in Budapest and the Budapest hotel proved a wise choice for us ! Of course we would come back and we definetely recommend it to all !!

ENJOY BUDAPEST !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Set in the quieter Buda side of Budapest, it is perfectly placed for the tram as the stop is immediately over the road from the hotel. Also immediately adjacent to this hotel is the station for the cog-wheel railway which takes you up to the fresh and picturesque Buda hills. It is a 5 minute walk to the food market and the Mammut shopping mall, where you can get a tram to absolutely anywhere in Budapest and the underground station. Over the road from the hotel (next to the tram stop) there is a friendly lace where you can have a beer and a snacks and further down the road is a friendly bar which has old vinyl records as part of its décor.

The room in the Budapest Hotel are quite snug and the wardrobe space is economic but the staff in the reception are extremely helpful, informative and happy. They are an absolute credit to this hotel and made our stay at this hotel incredibly enjoyable. May I thank each and every one of them.

The view from our room on the 12th floor was phenomenally breathtaking and you can see across Buda and Pest and you can admire the glorious Danube.

All in all, the quirky Hotel Budapest was exactly what I needed as a central but not bustling part of a beautiful capital city and would seriously recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet Fasor 47, Budapest H-1026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.