We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky shaped, perfectly located for Buda with fabulous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szilagyi Erzsebet Fasor 47, Budapest H-1026, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quirky shaped, perfectly located for Buda with fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Set in the quieter Buda side of Budapest, it is perfectly placed for the tram as the stop is immediately over the road from the hotel. Also immediately adjacent to this hotel is the station for the cog-wheel railway which takes you up to the fresh and picturesque Buda hills. It is a 5 minute walk to the food market and the Mammut shopping mall, where you can get a tram to absolutely anywhere in Budapest and the underground station. Over the road from the hotel (next to the tram stop) there is a friendly lace where you can have a beer and a snacks and further down the road is a friendly bar which has old vinyl records as part of its décor.

The room in the Budapest Hotel are quite snug and the wardrobe space is economic but the staff in the reception are extremely helpful, informative and happy. They are an absolute credit to this hotel and made our stay at this hotel incredibly enjoyable. May I thank each and every one of them.

The view from our room on the 12th floor was phenomenally breathtaking and you can see across Buda and Pest and you can admire the glorious Danube.

All in all, the quirky Hotel Budapest was exactly what I needed as a central but not bustling part of a beautiful capital city and would seriously recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    125
    95
    42
    29
See reviews for
34
104
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The distinctive cylindrical shape of this "cold war" inspired hotel is certainly a landmark in Budapest The locals call it the water heater and you can instantly see why. The 1960's exterior and its unusual shape internally does give this hotel a fairly unique feel. Only staying for two nights may not give full justice to the hotel but enough to form an impression. The staff were very helpful and for the most part you could cope in English particularly at reception. The meals were provided in a square slightly austere restaurant but were adequate and wholesome.

The centre of the hotel is dominated by a sweeping staircase and central lifts. When you navigate around the hotel it is quite disorientating as you sweep round the spiral or alternatively emerge from the lift on floors that look exactly the same. The circular corridors and wedge shaped rooms mean you need to check which room you are at before fiddling with the keys at the wrong one (lesson learnt). The wedge shaped rooms are not great and need a makeover but for a short stay adequate. Great view of the Castle and river out of the window (Rm 1320).The bathroom is tiny and the lighting poor be careful not to fall in or out of the bath/shower its a tricky one. The closets and drawers have seen better days so my stuff stayed packed.

An interesting experience to go back in time to the communist inspired "water heater", but if I return then I think I shall look more centrally for a hotel in Pest, a lovely part of the City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's old, filthy (rooms were filthy with dust evrywhere and and unfriendly. The food was average. The ventialtion grid came from hell. The airconditioning was not really helpfull to cool the temperature.
Only 2 elevators for many many rooms. And at last the hotel is not located at a convenient place. The only good thing about is is the supermarket nearby and the tram before the hotel door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to learn the facts during your stay in our Hotel Budapest.
I will take all the necessary actions immediately, to avoid these incidents would happen again.
Thank you for your comments.

With sincere apologize and best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was five days in Budapest Hotel. It's a beautiful, clean, well located hotel with very helpful, nice, funny employees! I liked the great service and the croissants in the morning on the terrace. I can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment. We all were happy to know, that you had a good time in the Hotel Budapest.

We do hope, you will come back soon.

In the meantime, I remain
With best regards

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Enjoyable stay, hotel does what it says on the tin. well priced in a convenient location for sightseeing, lacks kettle in room which other Danubius hotels have. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was pleasant but the bread appeared to have been either defrosted or heated in the microwave which made it very chewy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your notes.
We were happy to hear, that you were satisfied with our services.
We also took the necessary actions in connection with your comment on the bread.
Looking forward to seeing you back in our hotel.

Kind regards:

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I spent 3 nights here... service & staff were attentive... the view from the window is nice... its location is perfect!!
There is also a gas station nearby and the bar at the hotel is very good!
Information and tips from the reception... at all times!
Definitively it is a place to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were happy to read your notes, and understand that you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel Budapest.
We do hope, that you will visit us again, soon!

With best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2012. Check in was excellent. Were almost 2 hours early but got to our room within 10 minutes. Room was on floor 3A - avenue view. Apparently 'A' floors are the older part of the hotel. It was quite narrow. We had two single beds. Wardrobe ample - only 2 coathangers per person. TV had CNN and BBC world news. Bathroom absolutely fine. Very clean, with a powerful shower. Only downside was the hair dryer. Thankfully I have short hair, otherwise it would have taken all day to dry. Housekeeping was excellent and they do work hard. Didn't try the pool as it was 11euros and we thought that a bit steep. Breakfast is from 7 - 10am but as with most places best to get there early. No complaints though. Staff were all really friendly. Used the small hotel bar a couple of nights and they were fantastic ! More pricey than the local bars and no draught beers but the service makes up for that.
Hotel is located in the embassy and Parlaiment area - within 5 min walk to the Parliament actually. Couple of restaurants along the streets. First one is by far the best. Only go to the next one along if you want a beer. Food appalling - frozen veg and microwave food.
Hotel is only a short walk form the main hub with plenty of bars/restaurants on the way. On the squares/Ter prices can go up quite markedly so look around as there are gfreat places to eat and drink for a third of the price and good quality.
Do the hop on tourist bus with green bus -48hrs full tour with good audio - includes 1 hour - can transfer also to the pink tour aong the Danube - plus you get a booklet of vouchers to use at different places along the route for free drinks.
If you are going to this hotel it is 5 minute walk max from the metro station Arany Janos.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view on flors which don't have an 'A' next to their number
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments you addressed to the staff of the Hotel President.
Unfortunately you sent it to the Hotel Budapest, I am the manager of.
Kindly ask you to resend it to the Hotel President.

With best regards

Tamás Mezey
operations manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet Fasor 47, Budapest H-1026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.