We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astra Vendeghaz

Hotel Astra Vendeghaz
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Astra Vendeghaz
Save
You added Hotel Astra Vendeghaz to your Saves list
I. Vam u. 6, Budapest 1011, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

The hotel seemed fairly basic but the room was absolutely massive with a huge bathroom. Big windows overlooked a little courtyard which was very quaint. The best part of this place is its location. It's accross the river Danube from Pest, but at the foot of the Fisherman's palace, which is a marvel.
Other sites are easily accessible from a nearby train station, with a train stopping at each of the cultural highlights. In Europe Budapest was by far my favourite destination with amazing architecture and sculptures around every corner.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

This is a pleasant, very clean, old fashioned hotel convenient to the river, old castle area and centre of the city. It's a little hard to find because it's on a side street with a tiny sign so make sure your arrival taxi knows the address. Although very dated the rooms are comfortably furnished. It's a bit like staying with your Great Aunt Millie - heavy furniture, old fashioned draperies and bed covers, old style bathroom. Some reviews complained about the rude staff, but we think that is a western misapprehension. We found the staff to be very helpful and efficient, but, as with all Hungarians, they tend to be very formal so they are not falling over themselves smiling or ingratiating. The rooms open onto a central coutryard which would be charming if the cleaning ladies didn't use it to beat out the carpets every morning. I'm not sure how comfortable it would be in the winter as the rooms open directly into the outdoor courtyard. I would recommend it as a reasonably priced hotel, old fashioned, charming and conveniently located.

  • Liked — Unpretentious, old fashioned and well located
  • Disliked — Hotel room cleaning activities in the central courtyard in the morning
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Miniscule soap provided (we purchased our own). Only hot items in buffet were toast and coffee. Heater/AC had a mind of its own. Buzz in/out procedure inconvenient. Cash only o.k., but if pay in Euros, only paper currency (no coins) accepted. Older desk person very unfriendly almost to the point of rudeness (probably due to language difficulties--not his fault). Good location. Room very clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Buffet.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona, spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed here in August for for 4 nights. The hotel was comfortable and cosy, specially our room trat seems a dinig-room, with wood-ancient furniture, but lovely and cosy. Breakfast was quite good, except the omelettes... they don´t know how to cook this!
The recepcionist, Mark, was efficient and hepful. Best of all is the location, near Batttany Tér tube station, and at one stop to the Parliament. Excellent. If we are going to visit the city again, Astra will be our hotel.

  • Liked — lovely and cosy bedroom
  • Disliked — dusk is at 5.00 am and should have more curtains!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here for three nights this July and were quite satisfied with the hotel. The oddest thing though - the pictures on the website somehow make the rooms appear smaller than they really are.

We had a room on the first floor (it's pictured on their website) but when turned up we were told that it wasn't really a room but a suite! (The price we had booked was right, but somehow they hadn't mentioned this great selling point!) So we had a big bedroom which would have been fine just by itself but also a sitting room and an enormous bathroom.

The room was clean and tidy, the furniture was lovely - some of the most characterful we've seen in any hotel - and the bed was comfortable.

The hotel's location was good for the centre of historic Buda, being just at the foot of Castle Hill and not so far from the Szechenyi Bridge.

The staff we met were helpful and polite but seemed strangely nervous whenever we asked them things, which made us a little uncomfortable. This, too, was a little odd because their English was just fine and they got us tables at the restaurants we asked them to book.

  • Liked — Big, characterful room
  • Disliked — Odd staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed three wonderful nights at Hotel Astra in April 2008. The hotel is situated in one of the most perfect locations in Budapest. It is in the Buda Castle District right below the Fishermen's Bastion, Matya's Church, and the Palace. It is a very charming, quaint hotel dating back to the 1700's. It has all the modern conveniences, but the wonderful ambience of old Budapest. It was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was delicious each morning. We were traveling with another couple, and we both loved our rooms. We were in a beautiful spacious room with gorgeous furnishings - an antique bed, armoire and table. It had a huge bathroom with another little room with a closet and refrigerator. We were very impressed. We were greeted by a very nice girl, Agnes, who was friendly and helpful in giving us suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. The night that we arrived, she told us about a very nice restaurant right up the hill near Fishermen's Bastion. It was quite a hike - up many steps, but well worth it. The restaurant was Fekete Hollo, which means black raven. They had the most delicious Hungarian goulash, and wonderful singers who serenaded us!! We ate at a couple other great restaurants, which were in walking distance from the hotel. One was A La Carte, and the other was the Polo Pub - both had very nice atmospheres, and delicious food. Every place that we visited was in walking distance from the hotel. Budapest is not a small city, but we enjoyed walking everywhere. One day we walked across the Chain Bridge and caught a "hop on, hop off bus", which is great for going to places not as easy to reach - like the Citadel, where the views of the city are amazing. Budapest was one of our favorite cities on our Central - Eastern European trip, and staying at the very charming Hotel Astra made it one of the highlights of our holiday. We would definitely stay there again - and hope to return someday!!

  • Liked — location and rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

This is a really tough review to write...mainly because had i paid a different price i think my idea of this hotel would be a lot better.

I ummed and ahhed alot about which side of the river to stay on and which hotel to pick and in the end went for the Astra because it was smaller and the pictures on the site looked amazing - even if it was at the top end of my budget. We paid 99 euros a night including breakfast, and stayed 3 nights.

The staff were very helpful, and the position of the hotel was great - 10 mins walk to the chain bridge and funicular but near a supermarket and betthany ter metro/tram point.

You enter the hotel using a buzzer which gives you entry into the courtyard. nice and safe and very quiet. Recpetion is small but ok - only thing i would say about the reception area is that it reeks of cigarette smoke.

Sadly it was the room that disappointed. it was on the ground floor, and although it was very spacious it felt a bit...well...lacking. yes there was a bed, and wardrobe and tv and a mini bar but it felt a bit dated. The bed was odd...a double bed frame but with two single mattresses and duvets with a double throw over the top. No hairdryer in the room... and the bathroom had a shower fitting from the bath taps but no peg to put the shower handle on. All little things that had i been paying 70/75 euro's a night io wouldnt have minded.

I guess its becuase i'd compared staying at teh astra withthe hilton in the castle district (looked amazing from the outside if in a more awkward position) for 90 euro a night and the carlton hotel which is about 3 mins from the chain bridge and was 80 euro i think.

breakfast was ok - plenty of rolls and cereals.

As i say would i stay again? - yes but i think i'd negotiate a cheaper rate. that said i can't comment on what the other rooms were like so maybe we just got the oldest one.

  • Liked — small size
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#45 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Novotel Budapest Danube
#48 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra Vendeghaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Vendeghaz

Address: I. Vam u. 6, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Astra Vendeghaz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astra Vendeghaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.