We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest to your Saves list
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrassy ut 111, Budapest H - 1063, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked this hotel through hotels.com and cannot say enough nice things about the hotel and staff. We requested airport transfers, early check-in and a room with a balcony ahead of time. The concierge was very responsive and helpful, especially when we missed our connection in Frankfurt and needed to push back our transfers. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable, and it was very quiet at night. We really enjoyed sitting on our balcony drinking wine in the evenings. The location of the hotel was perfect. We walked everywhere - the Opera House, Heroes Square, great cafes, and Szenchenyi Thermal Baths are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. If we return to Budapest, we would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: request early check in and room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest "Jmorgan123",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    268
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
85
420
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oberoesterreich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A reasonable hotel, but we've stayed in other 3 and 4 star hotels which were as good if not better. We travelled on a Travelzoo deal, and would have been disappointed if we'd paid full price for our stay . The room was spacious, and the bathroom very clean and well-appointed, but as we were facing into the street it was too noisy to open a window and became very stuffy due to the constant heat. The breakfast was OK, but nothing special, with no change in what was offered each day. I think a decent fruit salad might reasonably be expected in a 5 star hotel rather than the rather unexciting stewed apple which turned up each morning. The bread option was limited to baguettes, which was particularly disappointing for a hotel of the calibre that it claims to be.The cooked breakfast was, however, very nice. The hotel is also a long way out of the centre, although the metro tickets are cheap enough, which in a very cold March made it difficult to find somewhere to eat in the evening. The hotel restaurant was outside of our budget. However, all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing into the courtyard to reduce the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest" Mike_Russbach" ,

Thank you for choosing the Mamaison Hotel Andrassy on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return to the area.

Sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Vennep
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very nice, clean and spacious rooms. Located close to Hero's Square and close to a tube-station. Getting into town from here will only take you a few minutes but you will be guaranteed to have a nice and quiet night in this beautiful hotel without all the noise from downtown. Good beds and extra bedding and pillows can be found in the room.

Rooms: have proper working air-conditioning and for colder nights extra blankets can be found in the cupboard. Here you'll also find bathrobes, laundry bag, safe (fits a small laptop) and other practicalities. Smokers: book a deluxe-room and you'll get a nice little balcony with an ashtray! (cushions for the chairs can be found in the cupboard as well)

Staff: very friendly and helpful front-desk staff! Upon arrival we had no luggage to check in as those were delayed. Front desk took over the paperwork and contacted the airline daily to find out about our suitcase. They also provided us with chargers for phone and tablet, and asked if we needed anything else.

On day of departure we visited the baths close by. Front desk provided us with towels so we didn't have to take wet towels home. Very thoughtful! Also: tickets can be booked from the hotel so you don't have to wait in line at the Szechenyi Bath.

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel. I feel no need to look any further on my next visit. Thanks again people from Andrassy!

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe-room as this will give you a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest "Nathalie_Sacranie ",

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 2nd stay at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel very soon.

Your sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

If breakfast was reasonably priced, I'd have given this hotel 5 Stars easily.

I must say the location is in a very posh place in Budapest. Amongst several Embassies and not far from Heroes Square. It's 20 mins walk from main train station so very accessible. Airport transfers are cheap enough also.

Hotel was spotless and modern. Staff very friendly and happy to help.

Anyway to the breakfast part. I had a room only deal. Breakfast is basically cold meat, cheese, cereal and yoghurts. NO HOT BUFFET AT ALL! And coffee is NOT INCLUDED! All at a cost of £17/€19!!! So I felt like a mug after only having a bowl of cereal and paying that sort of money.

If you have room only I recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest „stagi12”,

I appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Baraka Lounge & Restaurant and I am pleased to hear that you like the location of our hotel.
Please be assured that the raised issue is going to be shared and discussed with the Management.
Again, thank you for your feedback, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.
I do hope so that I can welcome you at Mamasion Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This very lovely hotel is so convenient for City Park,Heroes Square,Szechenyi Baths, Zoo etc, and a 5 minutes walk from Hosok Tere on M1 metro line.
The rooms at the side are probably best as Andrassy ut is a busy road.
The room we had was large and comfortable with free WiFi. The bath had a step up to it so not ideal for people not very mobile.
Breakfast was the normal with a choice of hot food with extras available at a small cost.
Not much nearby in terms of places to eat in the evening apart from Robinsons in the park and Bagolvar but you can get to Otogon or Opera areas within 10 mins on metro and there are loads of eateries there, there is of course the hotel restaurant which we did not try but it does get very good reviews.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side as road is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest "CSPtraveller",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Nicely reconstructed hotel 10min walk away city center.
Former communist hotel for VIPs remade in new modern style.
Nice rooms
Quiet location
Use their recommended taxi service! They are great for very reasonable prices.
Staff is helpfull.
Only breakfast could be more rich For 15€ :-( - nothing special...and you have to pay espresso extra :-(
But ask reception or bartender to give you recommendation for restaurant in city! They are extraordinary and you must visit and taste modern Hungary kitchen!! It's amazing!
Enjoy your stay in Budapest! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest "Fckbst",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with concierge service of our hotel.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Plus

Very nice hotel in a very calm a quiete place, still only 20-25 minutes walk to city and 100 meters to the metrostation Bajza Utca. Only 200 meters to Heroe Square and the Scheszney Furdu (the biggest public spa). Its quite like a boutiq hotel, warm and friendly atmosphere, nice decore (old charm decore). The place i very good if you prefer to have peace and quite and still be able to be in the middle in a copule of minutes. Great fpr families. Yoy have in a range of 300 meters a big park. Here you find a lot of playgrounds for kids, a huge pound, a beautyful Zoo and of course the biggest Spa i Budapest. Beacuse the Hotel is not in the Citycenter you have great parking for 1750 forint a days just outside the hotel. The WIFI is free and quite fast - so i could work we no hassle.

Minus

It was not much that i didnt like. Almost everthing was good or perfect. But here is some thing.

I dont know what the hotels get the stars from but there is no pool and no gym at this hotel. You can get a voucher from the hotel to there sisterhotel 300 meters away if you like to work out in the morning but this is quite a hassle. When you wake up you want to just put on you sneakers and get to the gym. Not put on some clothes and go to a other place and then change again. The gym should be at the hotel - just only what i think.

Another thing is the cleaning staff. They are far away from a 5 or even 4,3 star standard. The managment should check their job a little bit more. This kind of towels you shouldnt get in a hotel, not even if its a 2 star. Look at the pictures yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest "Michal M",

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and sharing your experience with us and other readers. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are especially proud about your satisfaction with our location and Internet service. Our colleagues are working very hard to provide a superior service and we are happy that we succeeded.
However we are concerned to hear your remarks about the quality of our towels. Please rest assured that the Managers in charge have been informed and that we are taking the appropriate measures to discuss and solve the raised issues.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest.

With kind regards,
Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Address: Andrassy ut 111, Budapest H - 1063, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#24 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#29 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city’s business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighbourhood, just off Budapest‘s Andrássy Avenue, the luxury hotel was originally built in 1937 and renovated in 2007. Boasting contemporary interior design, excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality, it provides the perfect Budapest city base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.