We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Save Saved
You added Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrassy ut 111, Budapest H - 1063, Hungary (Andrássy út)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 330 hotels in Budapest
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Budapest luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here mid March for a weekend. As it was snowing & very cold we ate at their fabulous Baraka restaurant on the first night - expensive but worth it as the food & drinks were divine. Helpful, friendly staff. Large deluxe room with balcony. Away from central town but very near Heroes Square on lovely avenue.Drank excellent coffee at the Eco Cafe
along the Avenue. Ate well at the trendy Tom-George Restaurant, Hungarian & Italian fare, Oliva for Italian food, had a good Hungarian lunch at Kisharang Etkezde on last day - all near the beautiful Basilica of St Stephen. Also good for lunch or dinner is the modern and popular Menza off Andrassy in a pleasant square.

Hats off to Peter (from Discover Budapest), our wonderful & very knowledgeable tour-guide who took us on a 3 hour walking tour of Buda on a freezing Sunday afternoon. Also it's worth a visit to the pioneer of OpArt - Vasarely's Museum in Old Buda - go by overground train. The food-market & Jewish area are both well worth visiting. A great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest "mjuliad",

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the Baraka Restaurant as well as the location of the hotel.

Again, thank you for your feedback, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    241
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
75
368
48
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived late because of a slightly delayed flight but were greeted by our name and with no beurocratic form filling. we were offered a glassof bubbly and the concierge booked a local, reasonably priced, restaurant for us.
Throughout our stay we were given information and tips, all of which worked. We had one Hungarian Tourist meal at the hotel which was excellent. We felt safe and cared for by the hotel staff.
I foolishly left some items in the hotel room, they responded to my e.mails and posted the items to me, without making me feel foolish!
They booked a taxi to take us to the airport at a reasonable price.
We felt we had had a very relaxing and interesting mini holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “Graham”,

Thank you for choosing the Mamaison Hotel Andrassy on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.

Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location is very convenient, near the lovely M1 subway, and close to the best spa in town and to great museums. Our room was large, very quiet and nicely furnished. The front desk staff has been very helpful, we could leave our luggage until the end of the afternoon the day we left.
We did not take our breakfast at the hotel because it was a kind of brunch (with fish) and very expensive. We ate at the restaurant (named Baraka)only one night and we really want to advise not to do it, except if you are on a diet and you want to spend a lot for very small servings (cakes look like miniature). But it is easy to find good restaurants elsewhere, and not very expensive.

Room Tip: The place is very quiet, and the windows are large, and I think every room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "Chantal M",

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel very soon.

Your sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have never been to Budapest before and booked a 4 night Stay at the Mamaison Hotel. We recommend the Taxi transfer from the airport (approx £44 return, booked with our travel agent), which proved to be an excellent service,well organised, friendly and stress free. The journey is approx 40 minutes.
Upon arrival we were greeted in a warm and professional manner by reception staff, with a glass of chapagne, and were advised that had been upgraded and were on the top floor (room 415). The room was excellent with a balcony which overlooks the Andrassy area which includes various embassies. The room was very clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The decor throughout is contemporary and to very good standard. The hotel's restaurant 'Baraka' has a good reputation, however we never used it as we were 'sight seeing' each day. Don't worry if you forget any toiletries as many things are provided FOC upon request at reception. As most city breaks are on a room only basis, the only negative comment would be that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which for most people is a must to start your sightseeing day. However the staff are very coutious and friendly .To explore the city you leave the hotel and turn right and the Andrassy St main boulevard is in front of you. Turn right and it is a 3 minute walk to Heroes Square .
We would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: e-mail hotel if you require a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "MaureenandGraeme",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the English skills of our staff.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rather Soviet Block style externally though refurbished internally to a high standard. Very pleasant and helpful staff and a very comfortable, well equipped room, including a room safe. The only comment here is that tea and coffee making facilities would be a great addition, as would a free English Language TV channel. Situated in a very elegant suburb (The Embassy zone, in fact) only just off Andrassy Ut. but only 100 yards from Bajza Utca Metro stop. 10 minutes and 7 stops down the line and one is in the centre of Pest, 75 yards from the banks of the Danube. We also found a bonus here (Info from the obliging Hotel reception staff) in that if one is over 65 years old and a citizen of the EU then you can travel free on the Metro, buses, trams and entry into some museums. Just show a photo copy of your passport to ticket collectors or museum attendants. Mamaison Andrassy hotel restaurant was of very high standard although one has to pay for this accordingly. Despite adverse comments seen from past reviews, the breakfast was very good, although overpriced if paid for separately, and not included in the room price as ours was. Budapest provided a very good experience of a central European city atmosphere with it's magnificent buildings and incredible number of statues to be seen everywhere. The City had a young lively feel about it, very friendly and with some wonderful coffee houses and wine bars, often in amazingly ornate baroque surroundings. Apart from the weather, which included rain, sleet & snow and freezing conditions, it made a very pleasant 4 nights stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the side street will be less liable to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "Jack B",

Thank you for choosing Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest for your stay.
We honestly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and the favourable location in the business district.
We are also very happy about the fact, that you liked the style of our rooms and the quality of our breakfast.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling cat
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

was there recently with a large group but was lucky enough to snag a single room which was quite nice even though it was next to the elevator. I was never bothered by the noise of people coming and going. the front desk staff were incredibly helpful. wasn't totally thrilled with all the breakfast choices but they were adequate. The hotel is close to Heroes Square and close enough to a metro stop to be convenient to get to other tourist places in the town. would be happy to stay there again. The only drawbacks was didn't think the bed was that comfortable the first night but must have been really tired my second night because I was out like a light. and I really didn't have enough towels but I didn't ask for more so possibly that was just my fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "carpefeline",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although the hotel looks a bit dated from the outside it is really high quality inside - the rooms are spacious and they all have a safe, which was free. It also had the extra touches like dressing gowns which made it feel a bit special. They also have a nice looking bar restaurant although we didnt use it - we were out all days when we were there but they do a businessman's lunch which looked a cheaper way to try it out if you didnt want to pay the evening prices. The hotel was very well located - on Andrassy avenue you turn right for Heroes Square and the open air baths, or left for the nearest metro - if you stay on to the end of the line you get to the main tourist square and the danube. Also if you turn left , about 10 minutes walk away is the Octagon which has a TGI Fridays and what is apparently the biggest Burger King in the world! If you want a slightly less western european night out however walk a couple of minutes futher and you will find a street full of local bars and places to eat. A handy tip if you want to buy bottles water etc, there is a supermarket almost immediately behind the hotel on the street that runs parallel to Andrassy Avenue, as well as a couple of places that do breakfast. All in all the hotel was faultless and excellent value for money and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "chris3oct",

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We honestly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and location.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Address: Andrassy ut 111, Budapest H - 1063, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Andrássy út , Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#24 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#30 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city’s business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighbourhood, just off Budapest‘s Andrássy Avenue, the luxury hotel was originally built in 1937 and renovated in 2007. Boasting contemporary interior design, excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality, it provides the perfect Budapest city base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.