We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €90
Ranked #22 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

A great hotel in the castle on the hill in the castle district with a million dollar view of the Danube, the Parliament Buildings, and the Fisherman's Bastion. You could not choose a more picturesque or romantic location. This was our second stay and we decided to splurge a bit on a suite this time and were rewarded with a beautiful large 2 story room. The standard rooms are great too and the rates are very reasonable, especially their weekend rate which includes one of the best breakfasts available, with both buffet and made to order items they deliver to your table. They have a paid parking garage but there is free parking on the street right in front of the hotel, you just need to get your parking card validated at the front desk (required to enter the Castle district). The only downside was the internet was a bit slow and you have to pay for it, with a clunky scratch card system for wireless access.
The service was equal to the hotel itself, including tours arranged through the hotel. Given this was January we were the only ones to sign up for the Saturday and Sunday tours, and so ended up with private 3 and 4 hour tours the 2 days for the same reasonable rate. This is one of the best hotel experiences in the world, unless you are willing to spend hundreds of euros a night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,242
    500
    112
    30
    17
See reviews for
209
822
109
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I was very impressed with the facilities and service at the hotel. Our room faced the river and we couldn't have asked for a better, more romantic view of the city. The executive lounge was a great value and the people at the desk were always very helpful. We went to the wine tasting event in the Faust Cellar and it was even better than the online reviews! Our host is passionate about wine and customer service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We booked a one-night stay here after our Viking Danube Christmas Markets cruise. This is also the hotel Viking uses for its pre/post-cruise packages. The hotel is in a beautiful location and we were given a room with a great view. The weather calmed down enough for us to walk around the area. Staff were all very helpful in locating restaurants. We hope to return to Budapest in the spring/fall sometime ! Our only complaint was the cab driver who "took us for a ride" - brought us to the market when he knew it was closed! Cab was not ordered through the hotel. A great ending to a wonderful winter vacation. The breakfast included in our rate was very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review of you recent stay at the Hilton Budapest. I am glad you had such a memorable winter vacation at our hotel. It is great to hear you were impressed by our location, breakfast service as well as the professional attitude of our personnel. Once again, I am grateful for sharing your positive comments and look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Zoltán Árvai GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We decided to go to Budapest to see the New Year In. and we picked the perfect place.

Budapest is a beautiful beautiful city, I fell in love with it instantly. The Hilton is an excellent hotel in a perfect location. View from the hotel are stunning. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast in the hotel is quite a feast and delicious, we didn't need to eat again until dinner. The staff were very professional and extremely courteous, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will most certainly be returning, hopefully this summer

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for greeting the NEW YEAR with us and letting your positive experience know of other Tripadvisor users.
I am so glad you were impressed by our services in general, especially the comfort of your room and the professional, guest - focused attitude of our team members. Again, I am really grateful for your inspiring other travelers to stay at the Hilton Budapest and look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back this summer.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We arrived to the Budapest airport after a very long journey from So. Calif and one piece of luggage didn't make the flight. Having been through this before, we filed the usual missing luggage report and our taxi driver prearranged through the hotel was waiting for us. He was polite and friendly, spoke some English and explained the history of Budapest to us. Once at the hotel, the concierges at the front desk took charge of our missing luggage report and continually followed up on our behalf. That was such a relief and we could now relax and enjoy the executive floor and lounge (HH points).
Our room was spacious and had electric water kettle with teas, coffees and cream. It was clean and the beds a bit hard. I enjoyed soaking in the deep bath tub!
The executive lounge had people staying from the USA, Germany, Canada on business and evening cocktail time was fun conversing with them. The service in the lounge was exceptional and very European meaning they insisted on wating on us in a freindly manner. In the lounge we ate sausage, yoghurt, rolls, butter, chicken, pork and paprika on many items. Very tasty. We attended a Latin Mass at Matthais church next door and the music was beautiful.
Two days later we left to start our Danube Christmas Market river cruise and the hotel arranged a taxi for us and we paid for it thorugh our hotel bill. The hotel staff are professional and informative and it is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

There are more expensive hotels and fancier hotels, but there is no hotel with better people working for it than the Hilton Hotel in the Castle District in Budapest, Hungary.
My wife and I had not been there for two years, but the entire front-desk staff remembered us and welcomed us back. Everyone was knoweldgable, helpful and like a friend. Doormen helped my wife with her coat. Cleaning ladies were pleasant and cheerful.
The concierge staff, in particular, Balazs Andronyi, Peter Simon, Akos Szabo, Emoke Gombos and Daniella Geczi, became our friends, helped us with our Hungarian and shipped some Hungarian porcelains we bought back to the United States.
Finally, my wife is a collector of antique Hugarian porcelain. Peter Pavletits, a manager at the hotel, also collects them. He recommended the best shops, introduced us to a wonderful book on those porcelains and, in total, could not have been more helpful.
The physical hotel and its facilities are fine and its location is wonderful, but the people who work at this hotel will help to make your trip to Budapest unbelievably great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

From start to finish our 6 day holiday in this hotel was fantastic. The situation is beautiful and overlooks the finest buildings in the city. It is very quiet but there are many good places to go out to eat within a few minutes walk, all good value. The hotel has a good restaurant as well and breakfast offers a lot of choice - there is the option of having omelettes etc cooked to order as well as the buffet.

Staff were always helpful and went beyond normal expectations. This was particularly the case when Heathrow was closed and we had to extend our stay. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your recent stay at the Hilton Budapest. I am very pleased to hear you had gained such a pleasant experience concerning the comfort of your room, the incredible view from our hotel as well as the professional attitude of our personnel.
Once again, I am really grateful for sharing your positive comments and look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Zoltán Árvai GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#12 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.