We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel in Questionable location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #29 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
SF
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A fine hotel in Questionable location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It is an excellent hotel in Buda area,
Right in heart of Castle district.
People were super nice, check in at Hhonors desk was easy and fast.
Room was a great, very nice size with a great view of this and that.
Bathroom was also very nice,
Hotel itself is bit old, so please don't expect a fresh remodeled room with a trendy bathroom.
But no worries, everything was clean and very well kept with comfy bed.
Breakfast was good, view from breakfast area was a great one!
And also Hilton lounge was great too.
Only problem was a location,
It is very Questionable one. if you are only going to stay in Castle District in Buda area, hotel is sitting on best location.
But you only need half day to look around Castle area, other than that many other this and that are located in Pest area.
So I had bit of hard time up and down the hill few times a day.
Even tho it was a great hotel and my stay was fine, next time if I ever go back to Budapest, i will stay in Pest area.
Really Don't get me wrong, it is a very nice hotel in great location (just was not for me).

Room Tip: room away from church bell tower.. can get real loud in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me.

I'm pleased to hear that you found our hotel excellent, our staff friendly, the room large and clean the brand new bed comfortable and you also enjoyed our breakfast.

I understand that following a stay with us you would try another hotel in the Pest area. Our hotel is located in the Unesco World Heritage site surrounded by charming streets, historical places of interests, cafes and restaurants. Other venues are located on the Pest side. One can get there by the bus that has a stop in frontt of the hotel in 15 minutes.

Thank you again for your contact and for staying with us.
I hope that you will soon have the chance to return to Budapest!

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    639
    144
    37
    16
See reviews for
268
1,072
127
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was recommended to me by friends and it didn't disappoint. Inside it's a typical hilton hotel like many others I've stayed in around the world. From the outside though it's been restored / built around a historic building and even the new bits are sympathetic to the surrounding architecture.

Right next to the key attractions in the Castle district in the Buda side of the Danube and with great views this hotel it's a lovely place to spend a weekend.

Rooms are decent size and it is worth upgrading for a river view. There were three adults sharing the room and it still allowed us to move around freely even with the extra bed.

Buda isn't the best side to stay if you want to be in the heart of the nightlife but taxis are reasonable (compared to London prices) to get around and public transport is reasonable once you work it out. There are a few decent local restaurants to the hotel though if you don't want to venture Back across the river

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us adn for sharing your views of your recent stay at our Hilton Budapest!

I note that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, liked the romantic and safe location of the hotel, the size of the room and the unique view from our Danube view room.

Yours Sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What to type? Where to start? This place is truly spectacular and the view from the hotel is just sublime. Right in the middle of the Castle District. The executive lounge and bar were great. We got a room upgrade on arrival to cap it all off. You can walk up and down the hill if you want, towards Pest but personally I recommend the funicular railway next to the Palace :-)

I Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Customer,

thank you for letting me and other Tripadvisor users know your opinion of your stay with us at our Hilton Budapest!

It's so good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the city which has so many things to offer.

I've taken the lliberty to forward your mail to the team so that they are also aware of your experience.

Thank you for recommending our city and our hotel to other travellers.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent hotel in excellent location with stunning wiew. There was a big choice of breakfast food and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly. The city was beautifull. We spent gorgeous 4 days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at our Hilton Budapest!

I'm pleased to read how much you enjoyed the unique location of the hote,l the wide selection at breakfast and that you were also satisfied with the hospitality of our team members.

Thank yopu for staying with us we all look forward to welcoming you back again to our charming capital.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is the best in Budapest hands down. the staff and management are wonderful. They take the time to provide good service to each guest. We ate at the restaurant as well and were not disappointed. food was amazing and the service was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Customer,

thank you for taking a moment to share your review with me and with other users.

It's so good to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hospitality of our team and the variety and quality of food at our Icon Restaurant.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again!

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Highly recommend paying the extra 50 Euro for the best view. Can't be beat! Excellent location in the castle district. Highly recommend eating at the hotel restaurant, between the view and the food, it was an excellent evening, Staff was fantastic in getting a cab for us at 5 a.m. Easy subway/bus ride from the subway. Ask the info booth at the train station.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share via TripAdvisor.
We are happy you enjoyed our location, views, the restaurant and staff. We will share your review with them and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time you are in Budapest!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a room facing Fisherman's Bastion that was breathtaking! Excellent restaurant. Staff was superb. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Close to bus transportation into Pest and plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Love that it is built on an abbey and they have incorporated a museum on the lower level.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the river side facing the Bastion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and kind review.

I am so pleased to read about the great service that you have received during your stay, and that the room with the breathtaking view exceeded your expectations.

I hope we may have the pleasure once again to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Family Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.