We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #29 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Attended a conference here. I've stayed in Budapest a few times for business and pleasure and I thought the Hilton was lovely. I've never stayed in Buda, so this was a novelty for me and the views from my room was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and we have been able to impress you during your stay especially with our great location and lovely views.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and if you do plan a return visit please do contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    639
    144
    37
    16
See reviews for
270
1,075
127
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury,England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We found a good deal through A1 travel, we later realised this was because there are road and street works going on all around the Hotel, it was a bit of a pain but as it gave us a very reasonably priced holiday we can`t complain too much.
The Hotel as the address says is located in the Castle District of Buda, which is a great location the views over the Danube looking over the Hungarian Parliament building are wonderful especially at night time. The service from everyone was efficient and friendly, although some people we met who live very close to us said the woman who registered them was quite rude, however we were dealt with by a young man who was very polite and helpful.
Our room (464) was very nice it did look onto a central court yard ( we could have upgraded to a Danube view for 30 euros a night). The only issue we had with the room was it was too hot, the air conditioner /heater did not reduce the room temperature so we had to keep the window open all the time.( I had noticed a similar comment in another review)
The breakfast was the usual buffet fare, though they did coook eggs to order if you asked.
During the day the Castle area is busy with visitors but in the evening it quietens down and is a really great place to walk around, and there are plenty of places to eat nearby, and it is only a short taxis ride to Pest or if you don`t mind walking the metro is a 15 minute walk or you can use one of several buses into the city centre ( 16/16a plus others).
There is free wifi in the public areas or you can pay extra for it in your room. I have done a separate review of the hotels icon restaurant.
All in all we spent a pleasant 5 days at the Hilton and have booked to return in June.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hilton Budapest.

I am very happy to read that this has been a lovely holiday for you, with unforgettable views and a helpful and pleasant staff. It is great to hear that you have been happy with our unique location at historic Buda Castle District.

We hope, at your next visit, you will be impressed by our beautifully and completely reconstructed immediate neighbourhood, which will enhance the fascinating atmosphere of our hotel even more.

What you have said regarding the air-conditioning in your room has been raised with the appropriate maintainance team.

Thank you so much once again for letting us know of your important feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in June.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hilton at Budapest Castle Area is without a doubt
not just a hotel providing you with a perfect service, but also has such a breathtaking location on the hill, which make this hotel so unique and standing above the others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to hear that you have had a perfect stay here at the Hilton Budapest and that our unique location and our views were so much to your liking.

Should you plan a next visit, please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.
Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels my wife and I have ever had the experience of staying in. This was our third trip back to the Hilton Budapest and each visit has been more memorable than the others. Hotels are just brick and mortar some with better locations than others, however, what makes one hotel rise above all others is the operational team!

When we arrived the Bell Man greeted us outside “curb side” with a big smile and a helping hand. We made our way to reception and were greeted with another smile, albeit very professional, and a cordial welcome back by Balint Vankovics. He offered us an upgraded room and said he hoped we liked it. Since we have been to the hotel we said we could find our way to the room and when we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised with the room and the view overlooking the Fishermans Bastion, the Danube and the Parliament. I immediately returned to reception and thanked Balint for the kind consideration. Our visit to the Executive Lounge gave us the opportunity to meet the lovely Aniko Lelutz who bubbled over with enthusiasm, very professional of course, which she never lost during our entire visit.

Our next encounter was with someone me met on our previous visit, Petra Fabriczki who has been promoted to Executive Guest Relations Manager. We can not think of anyone more deserving of this position than Petra. We had witnessed her interaction with guests and her warm and open demeanor never changed regardless of the situation or environment. Well done Petra, you have no idea how proud we are of you.

At breakfast we met another team leader, Annamaria Fono, the Icon Restaurant Manager. What a dining experience, the food is exceptional, the service is second to none and the presentation of the meal is just something to behold. The Chef is new and unfortunately we did not get his name, however, one can tell he takes pried in what he does. It takes a team to make a great restaurant and this team of Annamaria, her staff and a phenomenal Chef makes the Icon the very best!

We would like to end this with acknowledgement to Tibor Kovacs, a gentleman who serves in the Executive Lounge and he has to have been with the Hilton since it opened! Tibor is so kind and recognizes all who come to the Lounge; one has to think he is a family member who wants to make sure your stay is a memorable one. Thank you Tibor.

While other reviews may talk about Budapest or how wonderful the room was or was not, this review takes another track. As you can tell we focused our review on what makes one hotel stand above all others, the employees who make up the team. Mr. Zoltan Arval, please accept our grateful appreciation for the superb experience during our stay and please extend our special thank you to all we mentioned here and to all others who make up the Hilton Budapest team. You are a fortunate manager to have a team who makes this Hilton the crème-de-la-crème of Budapest!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an honour to welcome you back to Hilton Budapest for the third time and we appreciate your precious feedback. Thank you very much for sharing your positive review with Tripadvisor Community and letting other Travellers know of your wonderful experience.

I am proud to read that our team members have been doing their utmost to make you feel valued, respected and taken care of during your whole stay. I have forwarded your inspiring words with the whole team.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in the years to come.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel from 12 to 15 March 2014 everything was perfect a big and quiet room looking at the St Mathias church I had advices to visit the city they organize my transfer to the airport everything was so absolutely outstanding the coffee with cake in the cafeteria and the surroundings ! Just amazing!

Room Tip: There are rooms looking at the parliament but those like mine looking at the church are beautiful wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is fantastic for me to read that you have had such a good time here with us during your recent stay at Hilton Budapest and I am very happy that you have been so pleased with our services.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on a city break. Located in the historic castle district we found it a lovely area to start and finish our day. If you do not fancy the steep walk back the 16 bus runs every few minutes. If you get the 16 down get the one at the far side of the square not the one passing directly in front of the hotel.

Hotel was excellent. We could not fault anything. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely.

The location of the hotel made our break we loved it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank very much for spending the extra time to write this kind review regarding your recent stay at Hilton Budapest.

I am delighted to learn that you have found our location lovely and the staff service professional. It is a pleasure to know that we contributed to your memorable holiday experience.

We look forward to your next stay at Hilton Budapest!

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Hilton Budapest and can honestly say that it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome and found all the staff friendly, helpful and professional. I had emailed ahead to confirm our Danube view room and the reception staff advised that they had allocated us a room with an excellent view - and they were absolutely right! The view was breathtaking, looking out over Fisherman's Bastion, over the river to the Parliament Building. It was like opening the curtains on a picture postcard. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and clean with all the amenities one would expect in a hotel of this standard.

Breakfast was excellent quality with a wide variety of hot and cold dishes, including a selection of freshly cooked alternatives such as fried and poached eggs, omelettes, pancakes and waffles. We were informed of these choices by the waitress on our first morning, and they were also advertised on a small card on the table. Service was prompt, efficient and always friendly, and coffee and orange juice were served at the table.

The bar staff in the lobby bar were equally efficient and friendly, and invariably gave us a warm welcome. In fact every member of staff we came into contact with had a smile on their face and treated us as valued guests.

We would recommend buying a ticket for one of the Hop on, Hop Off bus services. Ours cost 5000 forints via the hotel concierge for two days' transport and included a river cruise - very good value.

The location of the hotel is perfect and there are numerous restaurants nearby. We found a wonderful little place called Osbudavar just round the corner from the hotel. It is a tiny place which you could easily miss, but the Goulash soup served in a bread loaf was outstanding!

We could not fault the Hilton Budapest in any way whatsoever, and would return in a heartbeat! I would certainly not consider staying anywhere else in Budapest.

Room Tip: It is certainly worth paying a little extra for a Danube view room. Ask for a high floor (we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled to read your kind review of your recent stay at Hilton Budapest and we are grateful for sharing your positive comments with Tripadvisor Community.

We are proud to hear that your whole journey in our property has been so enjoyable and that our dedicated team members have played such an important role in your memorable experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your precious review and we hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Family Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.