We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close enough & out of downtown area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Ranked #28 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, close enough & out of downtown area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful in the picturesque castle area. The bedrooms were lovely. We didn't have a Danube view but the room was excellent anyway. However if I were visiting again I would request a river view. The breakfast was primarily self service with plenty of food. The only slight criticism would be the bar staff. A little sharp in their manner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Customer,

thank you for sharing your recent experience with me and with other Tripadvisor readers.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the unique setting of the hotel, the large bedroom and the breakfast.

I've discussed the points you raised about our bar staff with the Food & Beverage and Training Managers to make sure we always exceed our guests' expectation in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    700
    152
    37
    18
See reviews for
283
1,184
134
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The place is as good as Hilton's go, but it is pretty pricey and not really close to anything. You need to cab everywhere and there isn't free WiFi except in the lobby. I'm always annoyed with high end hotels skimping on amenities.

GREAT view of the city and river. The free breakfast is plus and of good quality.

Not a bad place to stay, but if you want the "pedestrian" feel of the city and being able to walk to most places, you should look elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review.

I'm pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hotel is uniquely located in the Unesco World Heritage site of the Royal Palace Area and easily accessible by public transportation as well. The stop is just a few steps away from the hotel and the bus takes you to the city centre in just 15 minutes.

We have just made an upgrade of our WIFI system and significantly decreased the price of high speed internet. Based on the Service Standrads of Hilton Hotels & Resorts complimentary WIFI is available in all public areas.

Thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a Viking River Cruise. We loved Budapest, and the hotel was very nice. It was close to good restaurants and our room looked out on a building that looked like a castle, but was a museum. Aside from the location and view the hotel services and room itself were excellent.
I would highly recommend staying here if you're in Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Museum/Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read that you have had an excellent time here with us during your Danube river Cruise and it is good to know that we could be a small part of it.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and when you plan to return, we will be more than happy to make your next visit even more memorable.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We love Hilton, and booked this hotel for our anniversary trip to Budapest! If you can pay extra for the Danube view, don't miss out! There is no better view... Absolutely magical! And right next to the castle! The breakfast buffet is to die for!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for celebrating your anniversary at our hotel and sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We wish you many happy returns!

I am happy to read that you found the view so stunning and our breakfast buffet to die for. When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us again at reservations.budapest@hilton.com with any enquiries, we will be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very good. Staff plentiful,and very helpful. Breakfast 10/10. Semi self service. Room v comfortable. Bar lounge prices no different to town. Would definitely recommend the business lounge. My dislikes of the hotel are zero!!
The surroundings are lovely set in castle ruins and small town. With good views. To travel into town bus in front of church no16. Circular route 450h. Well worth it.
Don't use bar opposite hotel marked up as Bar. Expensive, was a joke around us that we had all done same, first night back, lets pop over to Bar!!!!! Ha ha £££££. We had great 3 night break. Recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read that you have had an excellent time here with us. It is great to hear that you have had a great stay, and it is good to know that we could be part of it.
Thank you very much once again and when you plan to return, we will be more than happy to make your next visit even more memorable.

Thank you very much once again.


Best regards,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had a "room with a view"....quite a spectacular view. The hotel is located directly adjacent to St. Mattias Church. This is a great location for the historic district. If you want heavy shopping, you might prefer a hotel on the Pest side - the castle district has small tourist shops for the most part. Our room was quite large...comfy beds and linens, and again, FABULOUS VIEW. Breakfast was included for my stay and that was actually quite impressive. Very large selection of desserts, eggs, meats, fruits...or choose waffles, omelets, etc made to order at no extra charge. My only beef was you have complimentary WIFI in the public spaces but have to pay for it in your room unless you have a frequent user card. My room was a bit hot despite the temperatures outside in the high 20's....luckily could actually open the large picture window....complimnentary coffee and tea in the room. I would stay here again. Staff was helpful on restaurant recommendations, which I tried and which were both great.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend the money....get a room with a view of the Danube....you are high above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am glad that you have found our hotel, particularly the view and the breakfast selection very nice. It is great to know that you have had such a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

...when you've paid £66 a night for two? Super location for wandering the Castle district and efficient and friendly service. Stunning views (not from our room) and an extensive and great quality breakfast buffet which can easily last you all day.

Our room radiator did not work, but even in December the room was warm enough and we could have moved if we wanted. Quiet even though overlooking a road.

Chambermaids thorough and efficient, comfy bed, adequate TV.

Room Tip: No problem overlooking the road. Can go to the adjacent Fisherman's Bastion for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am glad that you have found our hotel, particularly the view and the breakfast buffet great.
I am glad to read taht that you have had such a pleasant stay with us.
I am sorry to hear about the heater in your guest room. If you have any complaints in the future in our hotel, please dial 0 from your guest room to ask for immediate assistance.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hilton Budapest City
#52 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
St. George Residence in the Buda Castle
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#21 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.