We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #29 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a Viking River Cruise. We loved Budapest, and the hotel was very nice. It was close to good restaurants and our room looked out on a building that looked like a castle, but was a museum. Aside from the location and view the hotel services and room itself were excellent.
I would highly recommend staying here if you're in Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Museum/Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read that you have had an excellent time here with us during your Danube river Cruise and it is good to know that we could be a small part of it.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and when you plan to return, we will be more than happy to make your next visit even more memorable.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    639
    144
    37
    16
See reviews for
270
1,075
127
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We love Hilton, and booked this hotel for our anniversary trip to Budapest! If you can pay extra for the Danube view, don't miss out! There is no better view... Absolutely magical! And right next to the castle! The breakfast buffet is to die for!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for celebrating your anniversary at our hotel and sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We wish you many happy returns!

I am happy to read that you found the view so stunning and our breakfast buffet to die for. When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us again at reservations.budapest@hilton.com with any enquiries, we will be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very good. Staff plentiful,and very helpful. Breakfast 10/10. Semi self service. Room v comfortable. Bar lounge prices no different to town. Would definitely recommend the business lounge. My dislikes of the hotel are zero!!
The surroundings are lovely set in castle ruins and small town. With good views. To travel into town bus in front of church no16. Circular route 450h. Well worth it.
Don't use bar opposite hotel marked up as Bar. Expensive, was a joke around us that we had all done same, first night back, lets pop over to Bar!!!!! Ha ha £££££. We had great 3 night break. Recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read that you have had an excellent time here with us. It is great to hear that you have had a great stay, and it is good to know that we could be part of it.
Thank you very much once again and when you plan to return, we will be more than happy to make your next visit even more memorable.

Thank you very much once again.


Best regards,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had a "room with a view"....quite a spectacular view. The hotel is located directly adjacent to St. Mattias Church. This is a great location for the historic district. If you want heavy shopping, you might prefer a hotel on the Pest side - the castle district has small tourist shops for the most part. Our room was quite large...comfy beds and linens, and again, FABULOUS VIEW. Breakfast was included for my stay and that was actually quite impressive. Very large selection of desserts, eggs, meats, fruits...or choose waffles, omelets, etc made to order at no extra charge. My only beef was you have complimentary WIFI in the public spaces but have to pay for it in your room unless you have a frequent user card. My room was a bit hot despite the temperatures outside in the high 20's....luckily could actually open the large picture window....complimnentary coffee and tea in the room. I would stay here again. Staff was helpful on restaurant recommendations, which I tried and which were both great.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend the money....get a room with a view of the Danube....you are high above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am glad that you have found our hotel, particularly the view and the breakfast selection very nice. It is great to know that you have had such a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

...when you've paid £66 a night for two? Super location for wandering the Castle district and efficient and friendly service. Stunning views (not from our room) and an extensive and great quality breakfast buffet which can easily last you all day.

Our room radiator did not work, but even in December the room was warm enough and we could have moved if we wanted. Quiet even though overlooking a road.

Chambermaids thorough and efficient, comfy bed, adequate TV.

Room Tip: No problem overlooking the road. Can go to the adjacent Fisherman's Bastion for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am glad that you have found our hotel, particularly the view and the breakfast buffet great.
I am glad to read taht that you have had such a pleasant stay with us.
I am sorry to hear about the heater in your guest room. If you have any complaints in the future in our hotel, please dial 0 from your guest room to ask for immediate assistance.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a view from our room and the executive lounge. The concierge was very helpful when we needed anything or had any special requests. The room was very nice too. This hotel was a great beginning to our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.
I am so pleased to hear that your time here with us was so enjoyable.
Thank you once again for your kind words and when you plan a return visit to us, please contact our team at reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we will be more than happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was the ideal location (the Buda side) for our first trip to Budapest prior to taking a Danube Christmas Market cruise. Rooms are updated and comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful and
the view from the breakfast room is beautiful. It overlooks the Danube and the Parliament building
which is spectacular at night when illuminated. You can walk to small shops and restaurants in the area and catch the Hop-On Hop-Off bus just down the street to tour the city.

The Fisherman's Bastion which surrounds the castle palace is directly behind the hotel provides
great views of Buda and Pest and is the perfect spot for a souvenir photo of yourselves. Mathias Church which was completed in 1490 is next door and and was the site where Hungarian kings were crowned. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. I am pleased to learn that you had a pleasant experience and were satisfied with our services.
We look forward to your future stays at our hotel.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Family Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.