We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton, Castle District.....fabulous views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #24 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hilton, Castle District.....fabulous views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This Hilton, located on the Buda side of the river, is at the Fisherman's Bastion and next to St. Matthias Church. It`s location is perfect for wandering the hills of the Castle District or viewing the Pest side of the Danube. The rooms are bright, spacious and have lovely baths. The sumptuous buffet breakfast is very satisfactory...they even offer take-away coffee, unheard of in most hotels we stayed at. The Chain Bridge provides a scenic, walkable route to the busy areas of Pest, altho public transportation will bring you back to this location, which is up some very steep streets. Or take the funicular... Book a room on the river side of the hotel for outstanding views of the Parliament Buildings...worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so proud to hear that for a frequent traveller and Top contributor such as yourself, not only were our location perfect, but the hotel with the most fabulous views.
We appreciate your kind feedback and made our whole team aware your praise.
I do hope we may welcome you back to our property soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    574
    125
    33
    11
See reviews for
250
959
120
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Hilton Hotel on the Buda side of Hungary comes highly recommended. The location is great, the service excellent and the quality of the accommodation above reproach. All out one of the best hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback.We are happy to know that you have spent such a great time here with us. We hope we may welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Room on the 4th floor with fantastic views of parliament night or day- gorgeous. Room was fairly large - appointed with all the necessities including a mini bar and hot water heater to make instant coffee or tea. Annoying not have Internet access in the room but it did work well in the lobby. Excellent breakfast, lots of variety. Recommend the bar menu has good value for the money. The Icon restaurant was completely empty both nights and a look at the prices on the menu could be why. Staff and service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your recent feedback.
I am so pleased to read that you have had a great time here with us, enjoying the view, our gorgeous location and the comfort of your room. Thank you for providing us with your kind feedback regarding our brekfast selection as well as the attentiveness of our personnel.
I am glad that you had a nice time here at our hotel and hope that we may welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Good hotel in good position with excellent service. Breakfast is extraordinary in quantity and quality. Nice the umbrella for the rain. The only problems I had was the minibus booking for airport that has not been done and I had to take expensive taxi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am pleased to read that your stay has been enjoyable and you had a good time in our hotel.
On the other side I am really sorry for the matter of your airport transfer. If you consider visiting us in the future, I would recommend you to contact our Guest Relations team prior arrival to help you to arrange the best possible option for you.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for our 35th Wedding Anniversary weekend, and it was perfect!
We booked a taxi with the hotel prior to our arrival and for 2 of us it was not much more expensive than the round the hotels mini bus.The driver met us at the airport.
We upgraded to a Danube view, and we overlooked the Fishermans Bastion and the Parliament buildings which were lit up at nightI All very romantic!
What we really loved about this hotel was its understated elegance and the charming staff who were so happy to help you and they are very professional too.
The food was very good too, breakfasts were very pleasant, and on one occasion, we had an excellent dinner in the Icon restaurant where the service was very charming and the food delicious.
Some previous reviews have stated that its a long way from the hotel into Pest,but we didnt find it difficult to walk back via the chain bridge, turn left under the underpass and then take your time plodding up some steps and then a gradient followed by more steps(not too steep) and you are back by St Matthias!
Im not the fittest of people,but I walk lots and found the walk very pleasant! Approx 25 mins

Room Tip: Upgrade to a view over the Danube!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit.
Celebrating your 35th wedding anniversary must have been a wonderful experience and I am so pleased to know that we were able to be a small part of it! I wish you many happy returns of your special day!

I particularly like your kind comment regarding the attitude of our team. I am glad ti know that our personnel interacted with you in a professional way, which is an important aspect of great hospitality.

Thank you very much once again for your review, and if you would like to come back for another memorable holiday, please do not hesitate to think of us.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here three nights. Prime location next to cathedral and Fisherman's Bastion. Convenient for attending services at the cathedral. It's quiet up there at night, but there are a few good restaurants within walking distance. First, my room was clean, comfortable, large. I did not pay extra for the lovely Parliament and river view, but I could see it while walking to my room. Not to be particular, but the room was dated, especially the bathroom. The décor and furnishings in the halls were not aesthetically pleasing, especially outside the elevator on my floor. For the price and for it being a Hilton, I would say it's average (among Hiltons and similar caliber properties). WiFi was free in the lobby. (It seems the more expensive the hotel, the more they're going to have you pay for each extra thing, instead of including it with your room - like wifi and breakfast.) The breakfast buffet was good (although expensive, as w/ all such hotels) - plentiful selection. The staff seemed generally friendly and helpful when approached, but mostly reserved. (They only smile when you smile and greet them first - maybe that's just a Hungarian thing...) I was having issues with the hair dryer in my bathroom, and someone brought another one up for me immediately. That was good service.
I was glad I experienced this location and hotel, but I found the hotel a bit disappointing. The higher the price and the bigger the name, the more you expect. I am giving it a rating a Very Good instead of Average because of the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.
I am very pleased to read that due to our fascinating location you had a pleasant stay with us, that the room was a good size for you and the personnel friendly and attentive to your needs.

I can appreciate what you have said regarding certain other items, such as the decor and the internet pricing. These are matters, in particular the decor of our public areas that I have raised as a concern with our owners. Regarding the internet pricing we have recently finished a massive system development and reduced our rates with about 50% for the use of wi-fi in our Guest rooms. Free wifi is available in the public areas as well as on the Executive level of our hotel meeting the criteria of the latest Hilton Brand Standard.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Budapest Hilton was our home for a couple of nights prior to our Viking River Cruise. WOW!!! What a view! With the Fishermans Bastion in our backyard, the Danube, the Parliment and the Pest side of the city in view. It looked like a postcard. With it being in the castle district there was a lot to see and do without going too far. Great places to eat and shop. We even realized that we were not able to see all that was there in those few days. Will need to go back. The staff was very helpful and the accommodations and breakfast were very nice.

Room Tip: Danube views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a great pleasure to have our Guests on TripAdvisor provide us with their valuable feedback. I am so happy that our location was so convenient for your and that we were able to help make your vacation so memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.