We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams do come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #24 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Livingston, Alabama
1 review
“Dreams do come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton last week as a young woman staying alone in a huge foreign city and couldn't have felt more safe and cared for. The location is perfect and the view breathtaking! The staff was always very nice and took care of everything I needed. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and the excellent Pest-Buda Restaurant and Cafe Pierrot are just a short walk away. The metro is a good 15 minute walk down the hill but I felt very safe walking back and forth and the hotel was more than happy to arrange taxis for me too. I saw the maids cleaning rooms and they picked up the beds and moved all the furniture; impressive! The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. Wifi was only free in the public areas. I cried when I checked out and I cannot wait to return to Budapest and to the Hilton on Castle Hill!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am pleased to hear that you have had such a perfect stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. It sounds like the stunning location and the comfort of your room itself as well as the breakfast offerings were particularly to your satisfaction.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the professional attitude of our Front Desk and Housekeeping team and I have forwarded your review to the appropriate members of management team.

Thank you very much once again for writing to us, and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    574
    125
    33
    11
See reviews for
252
961
120
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. It's in a superb location in the Castle district. To us, the decor was good and rather than dated, we preferred to see it as a very well maintained example of a late seventies/early eighties hotel interior. Our room didn't have a panoramic view but was large, clean and comfortable - with enough '5 star' touches to make it a little special. On the other hand - the bathroom was small (no walk-in shower, just one over the bath). Staff members at reception and in the bar were friendly and professional. Housekeeping was efficient and unobtrusive. It's less 'glitzy' maybe, than some of the other luxury hotels in the Castle district or in Pest - but we would stay there again.
One thing - for getting around, the little number 16 bus which to and from the Castle district (into Pest); and links to the metro system is your friend (and stops very close to the Hilton).

Room Tip: Cheaper classic rooms without a 'view' of the Danube etc are perfectly ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent and review.

I am very glad to hear that you have had a good stay with us at the Hilton Budapest. We are pleaesed to know that you enjoyed our hospitality.
Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and if you do plan a return visit please do contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Long weekend for my wife's birthday - booked a Danube view room and find the Fishermans Bastion right outside our window and a fabulous view of the river and Houses of Parliament. Don't usually rate Hiltons but this one is spot on. Reception staff a little surly and unattentive otherwise a perfect hotel but still 5 out of 5. Much more pleasant than the the 4 seasons and others in the busy town areas

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very happy to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. We take pride in having our guest's birthdays noted wherever possible, and I am so pleased that on the occasion of your wife's birthday you have had such a memorable time.

When you do plan a return visit to us, please do reach out to me at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com and I will be more than happy to assist you going forward.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This latest visit confirmed my opinion of the Hilton in the Castle District. It is reasonably priced, safe, quiet and a little bit on the nicer side. The Castle District is a quiet area of the city with good food. A visit to the wine cellar in the hotel is also well worth your while. The breakfast is very good, and very quick. The view from behind the hotel is breathtaking, romantic, and not to be missed. I'll be back there again soon.

Room Tip: The second floor has some rooms with small staircases and windows that open to the street - very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am so pleased that you have had such a nice stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest, We are thrilled that we could ensure that it was a stay to remember and you consider to return to us very soon.

I am so pleased that the location of our property worked out so well for you, and the unique historic sights of the Castle District made your holiday even more memorable.
Thank you for telling other Travellers that our breakfast service was so much to your liking.

When you plan your next visit , please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com, or reach out to me directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com.


Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is next door to Matyas Church and the Fisherman's Bastion and very close to the Royal Palace. There are also some great, reasonably priced restaurants nearby so the location is great. There are good views from the room and the breakfast area.

The service we had at the Hilton was excellent. Every single member of staff spoke perfect english and was very helpful and friendly. We were able to secure our bags securely after check-out too which was great.

The rooms were clean and had everything we might need, including a safe, an iron and ironing board, and a hairdryer in the bathroom.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and fresh, with everything you could possibly want including cakes!

I would recommend this hotel and if I stayed in Budapest again I would be happy to return myself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to hear that you have had such a memorable stay here at the Hilton Budapest and that our unique location, our views and our services were so much to your liking.
When you plan your next visit in the summer, please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com, or reach out to me directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com.

Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had an excellent experience at the Budapest Hilton in the Castle District. If you can tear yourself away from the view, it is a short walk to many sites and excellent museums. The hotel is spotless and the staff very willing to assist. I agree with another reviewer, this is the one of the best hotels I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant time here with us and you were impressed by our majestic location. I am proud to read that our team members have been doing their utmost to make you feel valued and taken care of during your whole stay.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in the years to come.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been at Hilton last year for business: one of the best hotel I ever been!
Amazing and quite location with excellent view of the Danube river from the massive room, well decorated and always perfectly cleaned; spacious bathroom with both shower and bath tub.
Rich and various breakfast with fresh treats every morning, was hard going to work after eating something so delicious.
High quality as expected from Hilton Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very glad to hear that you have had such an excellent stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. It is so inspiring for us to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and that we have been able to impress you during this stay.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and if you do plan a return visit please do contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.