We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #23 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week whilst on our first visit to Budapest from March 3rd. We organised our taxi through the hotel and when we arrived at the airport a very smartly dressed man was holding up my name.
We arrived in style to this beautiful hotel and the staff could not do enough. Our room was fantastic with the biggest bed I have ever seen, it was 7foot wide to be exact. The bathroom was huge and the shower head was like a small dinner plate.
Everyday the room was cleaned and was spotless. No noise from any other rooms which is very important.
On the Thursday of our stay my husband was taken ill and rushed to hospital, the manager and staff were amazing and helped me so much I cannot thank them enough.
This really is a first class hotel and we will return again and again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Liane,

I am very happy to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. We take pride in having our guest's special needs noted wherever and whenever possible, and I am so pleased that on this occasion you have had such a memorable time.

Nevertheless, I was terribly sorry to hear that your husband had to be taken to hospital during your stay. It is a great fortune that our Front Desk personnel is seriosly trained what to do in any case of emergency and luckily everything turned out to be fine in the end.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words asa TripAdvisor Top Contributor. From this memberships it is clear that you have enjoyed hospitality the world over, and it is a source of pride that we have been able to impress you during this stay.

If you do plan a return visit, please do contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com, or myself directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com, I will be more than happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,267
    506
    116
    29
    16
See reviews for
220
853
113
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel set on th more historic Buda side f this city. There are lots of tourist sites near the hotel. The restaurants in this area all are decent quality but with the prces to match. We went to Restaurant 21 and paid about 105 euro for the works (2 glasses of sparkling wine, 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 dessert, bottle of wine, glass baileys, 1 coffee & two extra glasses of wine). The hotel itself is in a beautiful setting and well worth the upgrade to a river view, breakfast ok and very freindy staff throughout the hotel. We paid 200euro for 3 nights B&B in a river view room.
One word of waring, there is a bar directly opposite the hotel (blue neon sign). Would not recommend this as they will try rip you off and then threaten you with the police when you query the bill! I had a word with the concierge after our experience and he said it was a dangerous bar.

Room Tip: upgrade to a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am pleased to read that our location was so to your liking, and that the service that you have received was great. We pride ourselves on valuing and caring for all of our guests, and I am very happy to you have been able to experience this first hand.

That being said, I am sorry to hear about your negative experience about that bar in the neighbourhood. I have advised our Front Desk management team of your comments in order for them to follow up accordingly. I would like to assure you that all places to dine (eat and drink) out - offered by our Concierge team - are absolutely trustworthy high quality restaurants or bars. The one you mantioned is not at all recommended!

Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and I do hope to have you with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Spent our last night in Budapest here, and glad we did. It is a charming part of the city, and more sedate than on the other side of the river. Our room, however, faced the church next door (and was THE farthest from the elevators) and not the Danube River, despite the desk clerk telling me that he upgraded my room due to my gold status. He did not. We were on the third floor (executive level) and the lounge access was a great plus. Hotel room was standard size, with a nice bathroom, but the highlight was the beds, which were absolutely wonderful. Great pillows, sheets, matresses, comforters. Shower has a tub and a very small stand-up shower. Lobby is early 1970s design with really tiny chairs. Exceptionally well maintained property. Easily reached by the #16 bus line. Glad we stayed on the Pest side for our first two nights, as there is more action, and it is easier to walk around since it is flat. Buda is quite hilly, so keep that in mind if you are planning to do much walking. The only shopping seemed to be souvenier shops on the Buda side of the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

From what you have said, it really sounds like the intention of our reception desk team members were good: upon availability we do our utmost to provide room upgrade to our preferred Gold and Diamond HHonors guest. At the end it turned out that on the "river side" of the building there were not any more rooms available to offer them as a complimentary upgrade and for this I must apologize. It is one of the great difficulties of a higher occupancy period because we always strive ourselves to meet all of our guests' needs and expectations.
However, I truly hope that the unparallel view to stunning Matthias Church was also
a great memory.
If you wish to talk about this matter in more detail, please feel free to send your concerns to our Front Office Manager, Laszlo at laszlo.csakvary@hilton.com.

At the same time I am happy to know that the services of our Executive Floor were so to your liking, especially the comfort of your room and the cleanliness of the property made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I do hope that you did have an enjoyable time here in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set on the hillside of the quiet cobble-stoned Castle District overlooking the Danube, across to Pest and the beautiful Parliament building and fantastic views of the City. The decor in the hotel seemed a little dated but everywhere is kept very clean. The room and bathroom were a good size for a European Hotel - the shower cubicle was, however, a little small. The food was very good at the hotel - especially the breakfast. There were also local restaurants closeby as well as a small grocery store. Next to the hotel is the beautiful Matthias Church and Fisherman's Bastion with it's stunning Disney-like turrets - 5 mins walk takes you down to Buda Castle. The "Hop on Hop off" bus stop was only a few mins walk away too and tickets could be bought directly from the hotel. This Hilton has excellent views and is very quiet and relaxing. We were happy to have chosen this hotel for our first trip to Budapest and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Danube River - the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am so pleased that you have had such a nice stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest, particularly during your first visit to Budapest. We are thrilled that we could ensure that it was a stay to remember.

I am so pleased that the location of our property worked out so well for you, and the unique historic sights of the Castle District made your holiday even more memorable.

Thank you very much again for your review, and I do hope to have you with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here in a executive floor room with my parents in early Dec. The service at the Executive Lounge and breakfast room is absolutely wonderful. The breakfast buffet is sublime. The staff at the Executive Lounge is top nudge, constantly refilling our drinks and help with travel arrangements. The view from the Executive Lounge is breathtaking. Do splurge and upgrade to an executive room for a wonderful experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very pleased to hear that the personalized service provided on our Executive Floor was so to your liking. I will pass on your gratitude to the staff in the Executive Lounge, as it sounds like you had a wonderful time in there throughout your stay.

Thank you very much once again for your review, and I look forward to having you with us again going forward.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Budapest Hilton is well located and a wonderful introduction to Budapest. Book a room with the Danube view and you will be blown away with the view over the rest of the city looking out over the Pest side of the city from the Buda castle side. We had sunshine first 2 days then woke up to snow and together with everything lit up at night we have some great photos. Because we had such a great view we were able to plan our sightseeing, did a lot of walking, found the places where the locals go, got confident in using the local buses when we had walked further than able to walk back. The Hilton so easy to get back to because of local buses. I could go on and on so suffice to say, go to Budapest, stay at Hilton, book room with Danube view and if you have same experience you will want to go back. The staff were great and the Concierge tem will give great advice on getting around - enjoy :-)

Room Tip: Book the rooms with Danube view for a great introduction to your own personal views of the Pest side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am most pleased to read that you have had such a great stay here with us for your recent winter holiday. It is a source of pride for us whenever we hear of one of our guests recommending us to their friends and other valued travellers.

I am especially grateful for your detailed review about your positive experience regarding the easy access to the Pest side of the city. Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just had a three night stay at the Hilton. It's in the Castle district which is a beautiful quiet part of the city on the Buda side, but still relatively easy to get to the centre by bus, taxi, metro or walking and using the funicular railway. The area immediately around the hotel has several cafes and restaurants also. Hotel staff were friendly, very helpful and welcoming. Amazing views, wonderful rooms and generally a very comfortable and pleasant atmosphere about the place in general.

Room Tip: River and city (Pest) views are available but you get plenty of view from the restaurant and surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so thrilled to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel. It sounds like the service we provided was matched by the beautiful views, which is absolutely the type of experience we aim to provide both at ICON's and throughout the rest of the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#24 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Venere, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.