We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another tired old Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #23 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Basel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Another tired old Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As seen the world over. See my review from Rome Cavalieri where I stayed last week; same Hilton syndrome here, hotel that must have been great in the 70s but is now showing its age. On the positive side, quite a large room. Not much else to say for it. Moved to the Le Meridian after 1 night and am much happier here (central location, much nicer room, much nicer foyer and bar).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Customer,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I respect your opinion as we have all different values and views.

We at Hilton Budapest are proud to be uniquely located in the Unesco World Heritage Castle Area. The location of the hotel was rewarded to be on list of 10 hotels rooms with amazing view by TripAdvisor members.

We also focus on serving our customers on the highest level and got recent awards as
4th Best Business Hotel in Eastern Europe by readers of UK Business Tarveller Magazine and 2012 Condé Nast Traveler’s Readers' Choice Awards 7th on the list of TOP 25 hotels in Central Europe.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again for a longer stay.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    574
    126
    33
    11
See reviews for
253
961
120
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here by accident, as the other nearby had overbooked and upgraded us to this one. Location is awesome, although we didn't choose to get city/river view rooms, which would have costed more. I expected more on the room, that was quite large, but didn't seem to be on par with all the rest.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time taken to submit your review.
We would be glad to welcome you again, should you wish to return to Budapest in
the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

A great Hotel within a very historical area, very clean, and the conceirge poeple are very helpful, the food is great, drinks are perfect
A great Hotel within a very historical area, very clean, and the conceirge poeple are very helpful, the food is great, drinks are perfect

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your positive comments with Tripadvisor Community. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were impressed by our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have just stayed this week for a night, on a business' trip. I was unlucky because there was most of the time quite a lot of fog so I couldn't benefit from the amazing view over Pest all time. This (the view over Pest, the Parliament and the Danube river) and the location in the middle of the castle district, an Unesco protected area, and close to the church are the best assets of the hotel, together with the size of the rooms and the quality of the breakfast. On the bad side, I would mention the fact that Wifi is not by free, even in the common areas of the hotel (yes, they offer you the possibility of a cable, but it does not work with smart phones...) and that there is not a swimming pool in the hotel (why not offering a package of transport and entrance to one of the baths in Budapest?). A couple of tips for your transports from and to the hotel: a) there is a shuttle which bring travelers to the hotels in Budapest for a fixed and attractive rate; you can book it in advance on-line or at the airport, close to the exit where the taxis are; however, you should be aware that Hilton used to be the last one stop or the first one when you are coming back to the airport (on the positive side, you'll experience Budapest from the bus but, on the negative side, it takes longer than a taxi); b) Be aware that the underground tickets which are available at the reception desk are seriously overpriced.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,


thank you for taking the time to post review on this website.
I am glad to read that in general you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and you were impressed by our unique location.
However, I was sorry to learn that you were somewhat disappointed with certain things and apologize that you have not yet received a response to the issues raised on departure.
1. I am very glad to let you know that as of 2013 wifi will be complimentary in all public areas of the hotel meeting the latest brand standard. At this moments, our current system is undergoing a serious development work to better meet our guests's needs.
2. Because the hotel (surrounded by unique medieval architectural monuments) is located in a protected area there has been no permission to operate any spa or pool. However, the most outstanding thermal spa of the city is available within 10 minutes from our hotel by cab or car.
3. To explore the city there are countless tourist services, which are not expensive. Our Concierge is pleased to give tailor - made advise upon request.
4. Public transportation tickets are available at our Concierge Desk against the normal price and a small supllement added, which is less and 50 cents. We do hope that with this service -selling the tickets on spot- we may contribute to make our guests' stay even more comfortable.
We do hope that despite your cons on this occasion, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel at some point in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The setting for this lovely hotel is right in the Castle district on the Buda side of Budapest. The views from the room windows on the water side were spectacular both day and night, and the area for walking or jumping on and off transit was right outside your door. This city surprised us, and we will visit again. There is a pulse to the streets, restaurants and shops. We purchased a 3 day Budapest transit card on line before heading on our trip. It was worth the money, and allowed us to get everywhere we wanted to go from just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room up a few levels on the River side so you can see the city, parliament and other views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

This is a great honour to read your valuable feedback. I wanted to thank you for your stay with us and your time taken to submit this valuable review on this site.
I am glad to read you were impressed by our services, especially our unique location and also that you felt well taken care of during your stay. I am grateful for your travel ideas shared with other valued Readers of Tripadvisor.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if we can do anything for you.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days (city-trip to Budapest). Travel from the airport already was a kind of "hop-on, hop-off" experience. We booked a mini-bus at the airport (luggage area), and as a result shared the mini-bus with some other people in different hotels in Budapest. As the Hilton was the last one stop on the journey, when arriving at the hotel, we already saw half of all the things to see in Budapest. (BTW, very convenient airport transport, buy a return ticket and they pick you up at the hotel when you request for getting back to the airport)
The hotel is located in an Unesco protected area, only (small) buses, taxi's and people living in the area are allowed to enter. The hotel itself is next to one of the major attractions in the Buda part of the city (actually the whole Castle district is a major attraction), and has an astonishing view over the Donau/Danube and the Pest part of the city. Especially views at night - from the executive lounge, or the hotel restaurant, or from rooms with river view - towards the Parliament across the river, are exceptional. The area around the hotel is really nice, and the hotel also has a list with good restaurants in the area (i.e. they don't drag you into their own restaurant, if you don't feel like it).
Apart from that, just a very good consistent Hilton quality, nice rooms, good service (even though they forgot about something we asked, but they 'made up' in an apology e-mail afterwards).
Nice, but not so big fitness area and sauna, no pool, but that is something you should experience in one of the famous bathing houses in the city anyway.
Especially if you can get a promotion rate (and there usually are some - as this is a business hotel, you should be able to find something nice during weekends, or if you book in advance), very good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive floor rooms with Danube view are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hilton Budapest and taking the time to share your positive experience on this website. I am really grateful for letting other travellers know of your inspiring impression of the unique location of our hotel, the fascinating attractions of the neighbourhood and for giving useful tips about transfer services and exciting ideas to explore the city.
I am also pleased to read that you liked your guest room and you felt taken care of by our team during your stay. Should you consider to return to Budapest in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our seventh visit to the Hilton-castle side-from Australia.What a wonderfully friendly place.On each visit we feel we are returning to home.The same staff are there year after year and exude afeeling of warmth and friendlyness.And the executive lounge-what a gem,with amazing TIBOR serving and looking after each guest.Keep up the high standard and best wishes.Many thanks.Harry Messel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Haryy,

This is a great honour to read your valuable feedback. I wanted to thank you for staying with us again and your time taken to share your positive experience with other valued Readers of Tripadvisor.

I am really grateful for praising our team members and I am very glad to hear that you
felt well taken care of during your stay. I am so proud to read that our team members do their best to make our guests' stay special and unforgettable.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if we can do anything for you.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.