We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #29 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Ehrendingen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel twice recently. First time, I arrived a few hours before official check in time and, due to the level of occupancy, nad to wait 3 hours for the room to be ready. Nonetheless, the staff was really nice and did what they could to help me "survive" :). The room itself (executive floor) was spacious with the nice view on the nearby church. In fact, I'd say that whoever was furnishing the room had been overwhelmed by its size (don't get confused its not so big - simply the amount and location of furniture makes it look... Empty). The broadband was fast enough to work. The room service food was really nice. I've also enjoyed the breakfast.

The location itself can be found both great and annoying. I stayed during the wine fest, do hotel was perfectly located for me. On the other hand, when you want to walk downtown... It gonna take 20-30 minutes and your way back will be all about climbing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest and taking the time to share your experience with other valued travellers.
I am glad that in general you were impressed by our hotel, especially with our location, and you were pleased with our services as well.
Should you plan to return to Budapest in the future, we were happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    639
    144
    37
    16
See reviews for
270
1,075
127
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location, location, location! The Budapest Hilton Castle District is a fabulous hotel in a wonderful location! Our room on the 6th floor provided us with a great view of the Fisherman's Bastion just outside our hotel, the Danube below with the Parliament building glittering in the sun.....or by night, lighting the river, and the sprawling new city spread out beyond. Wow!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your time taken to submit your valuable review on Tripadvisor.
My team and I are very happy to know you were impressed by our location and the
hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again, should your travel plans
bring you back to Budapest in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary , NC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The view from our room was unbelievable - the Parliament was beautifully framed flanked by all the other gorgeous buildings on the Danube (room 278). The furnishings were very comfortable and the bathroom sparkled. The breakfast was plentiful but unfortunately we were not aware of the availability of freshly made omelets and pancakes until after we had finished the buffet. The Wifi was expensive and if you purchased 1/2 hour ($6.50) you had to use it all in one shot. The printing of the boarding passes was free but there was always a wait at the business center to get them done. Having spent our previous trip in the Pest section we thoroughly enjoyed staying in the heart of the Buda castle and the Hilton provided the perfect spot. Nice short walk to every museum on the castle.

Room Tip: The first floor is a smoking floor. Any other floor is fine. Rooms X77 to X82 had the Danube and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to read your inspiring review and appreciate your time taken to share your experience with other valued Readers.

We are happy to know that in general you really liked your stay and felt taken care of durig your visit. Please let me inform you that as of January 2013 wifi will be free in all public areas of the hotel meeting the latest company brand standard. At the same time, this serviece is completey free for our guests staying in Executive Guest Rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a regular Hilton user and a Hilton Honours member -- however the standard of service and friendliness of the Executive floor staff and Guest relations was outstanding.They even emailed me prior to arrival with information.

The rooms were comfortable - if a little dated - the views of the Danube and the Parliment were spectacular. Breakfast was good both in the Executive longue and the restaurant.

Budapest was an interesting city and the area around the hotel was a World Heritage site and very beautiful and has many points of interest.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a Danube facing room -- but a lot of tourists visit the area from 9am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

This is a great honour to read your valuable feedback. I wanted to thank you for your stay with us and your time taken to submit this valuable review on this site.
I am glad to read you were impressed by our services, especially our unique location and also that you felt well taken care of during your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

location is super, but if you want to walk to the shop streets it is a long walk...the views from some rooms and from restaurant is great. Service is perfect as in any Hilton. My room was very large (room 504). The restaurant was good. checkin and checkout time was very short

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and sharing your positive experience with
other respected Travellers.
I am pleased to hear that your were satisfied with our services and had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest.

Best Regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were on an extended (six weeks ) European trip, and we stayed 13 nights in Hiltons, three nights included in a river cruise package, and ten nights booked through HHonors points. Every hotel was excellent. Because we were Gold HHonors members, we were upgraded every time, we had wonderful buffet breakfasts, early checkins, late checkouts, great concierge service, -- the works.
The Castle District Hilton was characteristic -- our room had a wonderful view. The West End Hilton, in Pest, was not in as interesting district, but the amenities were comparable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our river cruise line put us up in this hotel for two nights. It has an excellent Buda location in the castle district. It was a bit of a walk (and maze) from the elevator to our room. We were given a very large room with a gorgeous view of the Parliament building and the Danube river. Our room included a padded arm chair with Ottoman, small desk with chair and a dresser. The bathroom had a marble counter with tile walls and floor. The shower had poor water pressure; probably due to a restrictor, since the bath water had good pressure. A simple test of plugging the drain would show Hilton that significantly less water is used in a shower than a bath. Oh, yes--you have to pay for Wi-Fi in your room.

We found the bed comfortable. Breakfast was buffet-style with a large number of choices: eggs, sausages, meats, cereals, breads, and small pastries. It was included with our room, otherwise it was €28 per person, which I consider too high for breakfast (even for Europe). There are several good restaurants open for dinner just a block or two up the cobbled streets. The front desk were most helpful. They were also willing to trade my old circulated Hungarian coins for newer shiny ones so that I would have some nice souvenirs. We really liked the hotel and its location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Family Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.