We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Hilton Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #24 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive Hilton Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location of this hotel is unique.The view from the room is the most impressive(Danube View).
It is my second stay in this hotel in less than two years,and my third visit to Budapest.Invited my
brother and his family to join me in this visit,and we agreed to be back next year staying in the same hotel.The front office staff and the concierge staff exceeded any expectations of professionalism.Their communication skills are exceptional.The professinal assistance provided
by Klara at the front desk,as well as Agnes at the exexutive lounge)is outstanding.The concierge
staff were extremely helpful providing a full day private tour for me and my brother's family.
After encountering one minor issue,the General Manager of the hotel went out of his way to provide all the possible remarkable assistance to solve the issue.
Can't wait to go back to this Hilton property.It is one of the best Hilton hotels I have ever stayed
in in Europe.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with Danube view are best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    574
    125
    33
    11
See reviews for
250
959
120
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericia, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A nice Hotel with excellent service as expected for a Hilton Hotel.
Interesting location in the castle area. Nice connection to town via bus 16 or Metro (7 min). Wonderfulle view from over Danube River and Pest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Hilton name should mean something if you've been loyal to them for years. 1) No Wifi. 2) Bad mattresses/pillows. These are the basics in 2012. Geesh. My mattress and pillow wouldn't even be available on clearance at IKEA. Thin worn out 5 inch mattress that gave me a backache from sagging springs, and a single pillow, that's right, one pillow, a 12 inch square pillow filled with chunky foam pieces that I haven't seen since the likes of which since the 1970s. Comforter was on the thin side, and the A/C was only 'cool' but that typical in Europe. Thankfully the window opened, though a bit noisy at the Bastion at night. This is the Hilton, right? Wouldn't you expect internet or wifi ? Some third party company in their "business center" charges you $24 for every 30 minutes of usage. Okay so no internet in the room, but free terminals you can use for a minute somewhere in the hotel? No.

Fabulous views from every corner of the hotel's euro-spacious rooms. Great bathrooms. Outdated hallway wallpaper, oh well, but lovely glass flanked lobby bar with views. Breakfast buffet with another view. Safe, walled in walking tourable castle district with great italian and hungarian traditional restaurants. Good exploring and museums. Do not miss whatever festival is that weekend at the Castle nor the underground soviet bunker hospital.f

Commendable concierge and bell staff. Supernice. Every maid in the hall was extremely friendly and greeted us warmly. But, literally got yelled and screamed at by smoking idling waiters at the back of the hotel, when I curiously entered the ruins of the church at 7:50PM saying it was closed, even though the gate was open. I never did get to see it, part of why I booked this hotel. Extremely knowledgeable hotel limo driver to the airport, basically made our visit completely wonderful to make up for it. He was awesome.

Room Tip: The hotel charges for views, but all views are beautiful. The parliament and church side views migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shibuya, Japan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My first time to Budapest, and the Castle District Hilton, chosen by chance, turned out to be an excellent choice. I recommend the executive floor and lounge in particular. Best of all was the river view from our room--the Castle buildings, the Danube, the Parliament, and the bridges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastatl
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We were upgraded to the executive room due to my friends diamond membership and I have to say the room could not be better. Very spacious with a huge bed that was unbelievably comfortable, 7 great pillows, spacious bathroom, .... I could just go on and on how great this room was. The executive lounge was also great with a nice variety of breakfast food, snacks, drinks, .....
Staff was friendly, helpful, spoke good English.

The location was perfect! There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and the bus goes straight down to Pest.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night after two nights staying at the awful nearby Mercure (see separate reviews). The hotel enjoys a first class location situated next to St Matthias Church with awesome views overlooking Pestz/the Danube.

We arrived early (9am) and our room was not ready. Nevertheless we were offered a twin room to take at that time or to come back later for our reserved King Room. We left our luggage and went to Town came back later. Whilst we walked to Pestz, after our evening meal we did not fancy the walk back and were able to get the regular No16 bus back to the Church next door within 5 mins. Only downside for us was lack of free wifi which I think most would agree is now the norm although we were able to pick up this service from one of the nearby cafes, and a €19 breakfast (which we declined). We didn't get a chance to use any of the hotels other facilities

The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were heaven (the best comfort of any on our six city two week vacation across 5 countries). The bathroom had a large magnified mirror that made grooming or applying contact lenses perfect.

If I was back in Budapest this would be a place I'd come back to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in August 2012 for a conference. The meeting rooms were excellent and sometimes had nice views. Water and fruit etcetera provided were of good quality. My room with the view of the Danube was wonderful - paying extra for the view was worth it. Breakfast was lavish and excellent, with a very tasty homemade granola and good fresh fruit

Four minor points. I had to ask for the window to be unlocked and sign a form stating that I would bear responsibility for any accidents. But once they unlocked it the city smells and feel wafted freely in. Bottled water was outrageously expensive at about 6 euros a bottle. But Budapest tap water is quite drinkable. Wifi cost quite a bit but the cable connection in the room was free. If you stay on the 3rd floor and pay a bit extra you have access to a very well equipped business lounge including good quality snacks/food all day and evening. Then wifi is free and so is the water in the room. Finally, the hotel is integrated with an old facade but the building with rooms and facilities is actually completely modern.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.