We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Budapest - Castle District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €90
Ranked #22 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

After isues with our booking the hotel went out of their way to provide a very satisfactory compromise, including an upgrade to a fabulous suite (Room 221) over looking Matthias Church with views of the Parliament building. Staff were very helpful. Made use of spa which was very good. Breakfast was outstanding as was the evening meal in the Hotel's Icon restaurant. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a taxi ride from hell from the airport. Get hotel to book a taxi from the airport. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to learn that you had a pleasant experience and were satisfied with our service in the end.
We look forward to your future stays at our hotel.

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,242
    499
    112
    30
    17
See reviews for
209
821
109
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Budapest. The views from up here are amazing. What I love about the location is also the peace and calm. The staff at the hotel is very professional. Some of the rooms look a bit tired. But the service and the location easily make up for that. Breakfast is also yummy. Hilton members will enjoy the lounge which is currently being renovated. Highly recommend to go running up there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the extra time to write this this review. I am pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our service.
We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.


Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We checked into this hotel early June. We paid extra to book a double bed room with a river view, however, we were given a "river view" room on the 1st floor, ended up the view was blocked by a large platform right in front of the window. To make the matter worse, hotel guests passing by leave no privacy. As such, we requested to move to a higher floor but no vail. Hotel staff was not helpful, so we have to put up with a twin bed room without river view. Until we complained to the "manager", a higher floor with river view was given on early morning of the following day, I guess we were lucky as there must have been a guest who checked out before dawn! The manager was not apologetic, appeared impatient. He gave us a discount on the first night and wanted to hurry back to his business, my husband told him we were not there for discount, we were there for 2 days with great expectation on the room and services, and our first night was spoiled. And it is deceiving for Hilton Budapest to sell a river view room like this!

internet in the room was charged at around 20-30 euro per day, and surprisingly, we were told there is nowhere in the hotel public area have free access of internet. A bottle of water is charged at 9 Euros, guess what? The bottle is not sealed, so even we want to pay for this, we don't know if the water is clean.

Do manage your expectation if you stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I'm terribly sorry to learn about your disappointment in regards to your recent stay.

I have immedetiately checked with my colleagues who were involved with your stay.
I would like to apologize that we were not able to change your room on your day of arrival. We had a high demand period and had no available room matching your request.

The manager on duty joined your husband next day to see the available room types and I was pleased to hear that we offered a room on a higher floor with king-size bed. Seeing your disappointment he offered to waive the supplement for the first night.

I would like to inform you that internet will be available in public areas free of charge in all Hilton Hotels & Resorts hotels as of 1st January 2013.

Thank you again for your contact and for your time it has taken to inform us of your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvignac, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel was the first luxury hotel built in Budapest, in the 1970's. The main advantage that it's the best site in Budapest: nicest view to the city of Pest and parliament, situated in an antic church in the historic castle area where you can walk around when tourists are away...
Inconvenience is that room windows are quite small (what a pity with such a view), bathrooms very small and all look quite old fashioned.
Everything is very clean and service is everywhere excellent. Advices at business lounge are good to follow, including guides (in your own language: our french speaking guide was one of the best we ever had in the world) and baths/traditional spas. Breakfast is perfect.
Do not hesitate to ask for river view !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Pay the extra 30 euros and get a view room! It is spectacular at night! Although this hotel is on the Buda side, high in the hills and not the most convenient to the Pest side where most of the sights are, it is a quiet location surrounded by castles and the Church. Busy during the day with tourists, at night it is lovely with many wonderful cafes and restaurants to chose from.

Our room was comfortable and it was difficult to tear myself away from the window at night to go to sleep in the very comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Danube View to make this a special stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review.
Your kind comments regarding our unique locations and the spectacular view from your guest room is appreciated. It is good to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a short extract review of Hilton Budapest ,Castle District, from the full review on Endeavour Management blog.

Location: somewhat out the city center, on the hill on the Buda side of the Danube. However, compensated by dedicated taxi to the area in front of Four Seasons hotel.

The hotel operates Customer Relations Managers that are in charge of the Executive lounge, the CRM stand at the reception and basically answering guests’ requests and needs.

The hotel scores highly on the welcome factor, mainly due to the dedicated CRM crew and is a VIP friendly.

The rest of the review can be found at:
http://www.endeavour-eu.com/2012/06/hilton_budapest/

Room Tip: Executive floor and access to Executive lounge is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel's location in the Castle District overlooking the Danube provided a relatively tranquil and beautiful home during our stay. We upgraded to the Executive Floor and enjoyed gracious and warm hospitality provided by Tibor and the others on the staff in the Lounge. The breakfasts were excellent and the snacks plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Danube are quieter than those facing the street. Our room had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest - Castle District, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments with Tripadvisor Community. I am really grateful for sharing your positive review with Tripadvisor Community.
I appreciate you highlight our spectacular location and the professional service our valued Team Members porvided during your stay.
On behalf of the Team I look forward to the plesure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Budapest - Castle District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest - Castle District

Address: Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 | Castle District, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest - Castle District 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historic Castle District, Hilton Budapest has magnificent views over the River Danube, the centre of Pest and the romantic, narrow, cobbled streets of old Buda.It takes only ten minutes to get to the city center (Pest side) by bus, stop is next to the hotel. Mammut, one of the largest shopping malls is easly accessible on foot in only five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Budapest - Castle District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest - Castle District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.