We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for the Grand Prix weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margitsziget, Budapest 1007, Hungary   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stayed for the Grand Prix weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is a bonus, the island is lovely to walk around. Hotel restaurant was closed so eat in the sister Grand hotel buffet one night and it was fine. Pools in the spa are a real bonus, great place to relax after some very hot days at the GP.
The fountain at the other end of the island is well worth a visit after dark to see the light show. Room was comfortable if a bit dated decor, but everything worked fine.
There are not many restaurants near the hotel, a couple at the other end of the island, we got took by mistake by a taxi driver to an all you can eat and drink Troffergrill that is only ten minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location and services of the hotel and you mentioned that "the hotel location is bonus". It is a pleasure for us that you found the buffet dinner fine and could relax during the hot days.
We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    137
    62
    15
    8
See reviews for
65
109
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice: 2007 and just recently in May, 2013. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable and the balcony looks out over the Danube. Amazing views. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The buffet is extensive for both breakfast and dinner. You might want to research a package which includes meals.

Of course, for us, the best part is the amazing spa. There are multiple pools of varying temperatures for swimming or just soaking. There are three types of saunas. And their staff of massage therapists and other health practitioners are very well trained and pleasant.

We will go there again on our next trip to Budapest!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view room. One side is Buda, the other Pest. Also if you stay on the Executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room comfortable, the view amazing, the staff helpful. Thank you for your comments "you might want to research a package which indludes meals" - yes, the more meals and treatments you take, the cheaper your accommodation is calculated. You are absolutely right when you say that our massage therapists and other health practitioners are very well trained. In Hungary a strong emphasis is layed on training in health.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Hotel is situated in a very peaceful Island, where all Budapest go for walking and jogging, and only few cars can go in. You can reach the centre in few minutes or you can have a very nice walking of 45 min. People are very nice and in the price of accomodation you have very rich breackfast and free entrance for Thermal Spa.
Absolutely Great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel and for recommending us to other travelers.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our friendly staff, as well with our services.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget on a business trip. Our hosts put us up on the 8th floor in a two room suite that included a small living room (sofa, two easy chairs, digital TV, minibar, indiv toilet) and a bedroom (king bed, full bath, digital TV). There was also a small balcony that overlooked the Danube River. The room was spacious and beyond what we would normally do "on our own dime". The weather was unusually warm and humid while we were there and the room AC had some difficulty "keeping up" with the cooling, but it was tolerable. The room was very quiet, beds were comfortable, everything was clean. The front desk folks were friendly and accommodating. We found out later that we had free wifi on that executive floor, but ended up using the free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast on the 9th floor (for guests on the 8th & 9th floor executive rooms) was quite varied and everything was excellent. We did not partake of the thermal spa, so cannot comment on that aspect of this hotel. The hotel is located on Margaret's Island (Margitsziget) and is not easily within walking distance to the touristy areas of Budapest. Choices of transportation were taxi or public bus from the island and then to the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your detailed positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room and the service and surroundings super.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice hotel in a very good location for joggers (Island of Margaret) and spa lovers. Nice rooms, free parking. You can go to the city by bus or walk. Ask the reception for tickets for the bus. The walk is cca 50min to city center.
The spa is good, with swimming pool as well. I didn't like that nobody told the sauna users not to go into the sauna in bathing-suite...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa ResortMargitsziget for your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed with friend's for the weekend. I was searching for a 4star hotel with spa and that was the reason I selected Danubius Helth Spa. The service in reception is good, the dissapointment was the hotel designe from outside as it's not corresponding with the pictures in the internet. It was a 4star hotel few years ago but they havent refurbished for a long time = rooms are having stains on the carpets, old school betting ect. What was a bad surprice is breakfast till 10.00 on a weekend I would expect the service at least till 11.00. The spa is nice, the age average in the hotel over 50 so not really good for young people having fun ( bar closed at 23.00) no other option in the surroundings. Would give 3 Stars

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
Referring to your comments about the rooms, they might be more elegant and top modern on a higher price level. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and your comments will help us in it.
You are absolutely right if you say that our hotel is much more suitable for people over 50, who are seeking for relaxing and peace. Youngers will find the possibility to find fun in the city center and return back at night to us for relaxing.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Shortly after family stay at Grand Hotel on Margit Sziget for business spent few nights in sister hotel. Hotel is easy to access, plenty of space for parking. Was on 9th floor in so called executive area. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, on the 9th floor is separate breakfast room for guests from executive rooms. Food in hotel is very good, for breakfast there is plenty of choice, one can ask for espresso or similar coffee but espresso coffee was not well prepared in general, so suggestion is that with this small improvement impression about hotel will be much better. For lunch and diner buffet offer is very good, standard central European cuisine, well done, band that plays Hungarian music is excellent. Also try a la carte diner, was very good, vine offer we had could be better since in Hungary there is plenty of choice, but it can be on acoount of organizer as well.
Spa is not the biggest one can find in Budapest, but is good enough, clean, well organized. There is small bar, but we were told that for sandwich we shall wait 40 minutes, obviously area for improvement, also not many sandwiches and bit overpriced comparing other hotel services.
Strong point of hotel is position on Margit island, that is huge park area, very good for walking, cycling, I am recommending jogging or walking around island, 5 km is line.
In hotel is possible to come with pets, that is great thing, but than hotel management shall pay attention that after guest with dog room must be thoroughly cleaned, my terrace was omitted for cleaning after previous guest and was covered with dogs hair.
There is wi fi are in hotel lobby, but in the rooms internet is to be paid, that is a bit redundant way of taking money from the guests, also way to pay for room wi fi I have found to complicated.

Room Tip: My recommendation are so called executive rooms on 8th and 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for a positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you for your comments like "Food in hotel is very good, for breakfast there is plenty of choice", For lunch and diner buffet offer is very good, standard central European cuisine, well done, band that plays Hungarian music is excellent." a big thank you for sharing your interesting experience with other travellers.
Looking forward to hear from you soon and welcoming back to the Margaret Island,we remain
With best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Address: Margitsziget, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Budapest
#46 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#51 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget is the city’s leading spa hotel, making use of a natural thermal spring on tranquil Margaret Island. The hotel is just ten minutes from the city centre, and boasts state-of-the-art facilities (including indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room, aroma cabin and thermal bath, fitness room, beauty salon) and a range of treatments to help you relax and recharge. You can cycle or play tennis on Margaret Island, take a Danube cruise or enjoy a healthy and tasty meal in the excellent hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.