We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but outdated and more fore old people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Save Saved
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margitsziget, Budapest 1138, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK, but outdated and more fore old people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed with friend's for the weekend. I was searching for a 4star hotel with spa and that was the reason I selected Danubius Helth Spa. The service in reception is good, the dissapointment was the hotel designe from outside as it's not corresponding with the pictures in the internet. It was a 4star hotel few years ago but they havent refurbished for a long time = rooms are having stains on the carpets, old school betting ect. What was a bad surprice is breakfast till 10.00 on a weekend I would expect the service at least till 11.00. The spa is nice, the age average in the hotel over 50 so not really good for young people having fun ( bar closed at 23.00) no other option in the surroundings. Would give 3 Stars

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
Referring to your comments about the rooms, they might be more elegant and top modern on a higher price level. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and your comments will help us in it.
You are absolutely right if you say that our hotel is much more suitable for people over 50, who are seeking for relaxing and peace. Youngers will find the possibility to find fun in the city center and return back at night to us for relaxing.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    134
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
50
85
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Shortly after family stay at Grand Hotel on Margit Sziget for business spent few nights in sister hotel. Hotel is easy to access, plenty of space for parking. Was on 9th floor in so called executive area. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, on the 9th floor is separate breakfast room for guests from executive rooms. Food in hotel is very good, for breakfast there is plenty of choice, one can ask for espresso or similar coffee but espresso coffee was not well prepared in general, so suggestion is that with this small improvement impression about hotel will be much better. For lunch and diner buffet offer is very good, standard central European cuisine, well done, band that plays Hungarian music is excellent. Also try a la carte diner, was very good, vine offer we had could be better since in Hungary there is plenty of choice, but it can be on acoount of organizer as well.
Spa is not the biggest one can find in Budapest, but is good enough, clean, well organized. There is small bar, but we were told that for sandwich we shall wait 40 minutes, obviously area for improvement, also not many sandwiches and bit overpriced comparing other hotel services.
Strong point of hotel is position on Margit island, that is huge park area, very good for walking, cycling, I am recommending jogging or walking around island, 5 km is line.
In hotel is possible to come with pets, that is great thing, but than hotel management shall pay attention that after guest with dog room must be thoroughly cleaned, my terrace was omitted for cleaning after previous guest and was covered with dogs hair.
There is wi fi are in hotel lobby, but in the rooms internet is to be paid, that is a bit redundant way of taking money from the guests, also way to pay for room wi fi I have found to complicated.

Room Tip: My recommendation are so called executive rooms on 8th and 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for a positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you for your comments like "Food in hotel is very good, for breakfast there is plenty of choice", For lunch and diner buffet offer is very good, standard central European cuisine, well done, band that plays Hungarian music is excellent." a big thank you for sharing your interesting experience with other travellers.
Looking forward to hear from you soon and welcoming back to the Margaret Island,we remain
With best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been to the hotel Margitsziget several times and it has been always a very pleasant stay. The hotel is on an island in the middle of budapest; you are surrounded from a huge park, a little japanese garden, a small lake with turtels in it and there is also a small zoo somewhere.
There is a jogging track around the island built of a soft mattress so you can run an protect your knees.
The rooms are ageing but still ok and very clean. Sleeping quality is perfect because there is silence all night long. Exceptions are rooms direct above the main entrance (lot of busses arrive during the day/night), rooms next to the elevator (makes always ding ding when it arrives) and rooms not far from the music fountain, which makes music all day long on an hourly basis.
Breakfast buffet is delicious with a lot of choice and the spa is ok, they have they own hot spring under the island so the water comes up with almost 40 degrees, but they also have "colder" water to swim.
The hotel is a good experience and a perfect base to start your sight seeing trip in Budapest. There are plenty of parking lots all around the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in rooms next to an elevator (ding ding all night long), do not sleep in a room above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a detailed comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel,and it is a pleasure for us to understand that you had a good experience in our hotel.
It is a pleasure for me to read comments like you put it "Breakfast buffet is delicious with a lot of choice and "The hotel is a good experience and a perfect base to start your sight seeing trip in Budapest."
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe with some of your friends-in the near future again.

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We (parents + 4 y.o kid) have stayed in this hotel for an Easter break. The room was very nice, and our kid enjoyed viewing passing ship on the Danuba. The price was fair. The Spa and fitness facilities were excellent. My wife was happy with the treatments offered (not included in the room price).

The location isn't bad as long as you don't come back to the room very late (with a small kid, we didn't). Obuda is over the bridge and the area on the way to Nyugati station is very nice and accessible with bus 26.

Children activities are non-existing except for the spa/pool.

We didn't try the very expensive breakfast or the other hotel food (also quite expensive).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room and balcony and the spa and fitness facilities excellent.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorcol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is the perfect spot to visit Budapest and enjoy a spa resort at the same time. Situated on an island between Buda and Pest, the hotel provides a quiet retreat surrounded by a beautiful park and woodlands. A car is a must for trips to Budapest but the parking is free and convenient on the island.
Rooms are big, clean and have nice balconies.
The spa is great, it has natural hot springs which cure many ailments.
Altogether, a great find!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget for your last stay in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you found our hotel "a perfect spot to visit" liked the spacious rooms with their balconies overlooking the Danube and the park.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Althought slightly obsolete from the outside, the hotel is clean, nice, with a very good service. Breakfast was a delight, with a wide choice of different meals.
Rooms were clean and served regularly, the staff was helpful. The only small issue was poor drainage in the bathroom. Location on the island is convenient and quiet (except for few frogs and some morning music). It is a few kilometres from the centre, so reserve 30-40 minutes to get there if you want to go by local train or bus. Connection to the city centre by local train is 500 metres away across the bridge.
If jogging is what you like, there is a dedicated path for runners around the island.
The best thing, however, was the spa. As we had really bad - cold and rainy - weather during our stay, we enjoyed the hotel spa - warm baths, sauna, steam sauna, pool. Spa is free for hotel guests and you will like it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel and for recommending us to other travellers.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our professional and friendly staff, as well with our wellness services, thermal bath, sauna, which has left such a good impression on you. We are glad that from the wide range of choice of our delicious breakfast, you were able to find your taste.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Address: Margitsziget, Budapest 1138, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#64 Family Hotel in Budapest
#87 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget is the city’s leading spa hotel, making use of a natural thermal spring on tranquil Margaret Island. The hotel is just ten minutes from the city centre, and boasts state-of-the-art facilities (including indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room, aroma cabin and thermal bath, fitness room, beauty salon) and a range of treatments to help you relax and recharge. You can cycle or play tennis on Margaret Island, take a Danube cruise or enjoy a healthy and tasty meal in the excellent hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.