We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was initially going to be a 5 star review but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kis Diofa Utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Sidcup
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Was initially going to be a 5 star review but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent three nights in room 104. Initial impressions were excellent - really convenient location which was out of the way enough to be quiet, but very handy - only a few minutes walk from the main Metro station or the opera. However things went downhill:
1. There is a door on the first floor to a balcony overlooking restaurant area. This means that any noise travels straight up to the first floor. As a result we were kept awake most of the first night by people in the restaurant area (which has a complimentary coffee machine) talking. I asked to be moved to a room not on the first floor but this was not possible, as the hotel was full.

2. There was no milk for the tea either in the room or in the complimentary drinks area in the restaurant area. We therefore ended up buying our own from the Spar supermarket opposite, which was fine but...

3. The minibar fridge didn't work at all. We reported this twice on the second day (after we had put our milk in it), but it still wasn't fixed by the end of our stay. What was worse was that the fan at the back of it was really noisy constantly, so we had the noise (which drowned out some of the noise from the voices on the first night), but no fridge!

4. The hotel offers complimentary bathrobes. We asked for these after our first night, and before the second night but they did not materialise. We asked again after our second night and before the third night and they FINALLY came just before we retired for bed on the third night.

5. Shower pressure was excellent. However, the water seemed to have lots of little black bits (probably from the pipes in it), which covered the shower tray (and presumably us), which wasn't very nice.

6. Water pressure in the basin was virtually non existent. It was impossible to fill the basin, as the water drained out, even when the plug was closed, as soon as it filled. I had to wash my face in running water rather than the basin.

7. The toilet continually refilled, which meant that as well as the noise from the fridge fan, and (on the first night) the people in the restaurant area, we also had the trickling from the loo 24 hours per day.

On the plus side the staff were friendly, though they didn't manage to arrange for the maintenance issues to be fixed, so not sure how effective they were. There was also a really nice drinks machine (coffee and hot chocolate and tea, but no milk) in the restaurant area which was complimentary, and complimentary snacks (crisps etc) there too, which we had before going out for dinner. The bed was also large and very comfy (one of the best I have stayed in for a long time). Breakfast was OK with a good selection of food, but very limited selection of cereal if you like cereal.

The hotel could be fantastic - it's location really is perfect (despite the area looking a bit dodgy, it isn't), and the decor is modern and smart. However, the maintenance issues and having to continually ask (in vain) that they be fixed really weren't good enough. I don't know how it can justify a four star rating.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are likely to be noisy at night if there are people in the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Squrrel,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your long and fully detailed review of your stay in Budapest and about our Hotel! This will definitely help to other travelers. We are terrible sorry that you had complaints in the room and we couldn't fix it in time. We had a fully booked house during the whole week. We can promise if you choose us next time you will get higher floor room without any problems.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    161
    47
    22
    7
See reviews for
48
124
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stutensee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our stay in beautiful Budapest was shadowed by our suite in Best Western Ambra, where in suite 603 we could not close the door between our bathroom and bedroom (it was broken!!!), the babycot was broken on one size, though usable. The sleep sofa in the livingroom where our older son was supposed to sleep was completely broken. The kitchen had some amenities, but unfortunately all the glasses and plates (in the cuoboard!) were dirty, and no soap or sponge was available to wash them. All in all, not a good hotel.
Breakfast was fine, not exquisite but edible.
I can not imagine how this hotel was rated by Trip Advisor with a 1st place 2012. :-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Hajni and Geerd,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. We are extremely sad about you didn't enjoy your stay in our Hotel! Thank you for mention the problems you had in the room we will definitely fix them.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely small hotel in very convenient location. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Medium-sized room for 2 with very good spacious walk-in shower. Clean and well-maintained inside although as mentioned by others the district does look a little suspect! Breakfast was buffet style in a nice bright room, with hot drinks & water available all the time. If, like me, you like a cup of English tea remember to take some with you! There are lots of fruit teas available but very few places served "English breakfast" tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sue,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your excellent comment here at Tripadvisor.
Your detailed review could help in choosing us for other guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our free coffee&tea facilities in the Open Bar.
Don't hesitate to choose us again!
See you next time!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnini, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We've spent three days in Budapest, in your downtown hotel. The reception, service was perfect, fast, and they spoke fluently in english and german. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location of your hotel is very convinient, because it's close the big intersections, and most of the famous sites are easily reached by public transport, not to mention all the little restaurants around the place. The breakfast was various, everyone could choose by one's choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Laszlo,
Thank you very much for posting your kind comment of your excellent stay in our Hotel. We are very happy that everything in the Hotel fully met your expectations including our staff and services.
We hope to welcome you next time of your visit in Budapest!
See you!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights on a city break.Its about a 25 minute ride from the airport.The reception staff where very friendly and helpful,and spoke very good english.The breakfast was basic but ample,and there was something for everyone.There is always free tea,coffee and water available 24hrs in the dining area.The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable.There is a great bakery at the end of the road,which is ideal to stock up for day trips!.Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a cheap and comfortable stay in Budapest!

Room Tip: We were at the back facing a wall,but it was quiet and you don't go to Budapest to stay in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Alison,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences about your previous stay in our Hotel. We are glad that you had a great holiday in Budapest and were satisfied with our staff and services. I also would like to thank you for recommending us to other guests.
Hope to welcome you next time if you visit Budapest again!
Best regards.

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location near Opera metro but easy walking distance to Deak metro if you are going to the airport or main line stations. Don't panic as you approach as it might look abit dodgy on first sight as there is quite a lot of graffiti around which is deceptive. Very helpful reception staff with perfect English. Great breakfast and free coffee available all day in the reception which was very convenient. You can have coffee in the room if you wish as there was a kettle provided. Good bars and cafes on the same street - cheaper than the main drag nearer St Stephen's Church. The Spa shop across the road is very handy and there is a bakery across the road with slices of pizza and stuff if you need a snack late at night. Good air con as it was 37C outside.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, internal room - very quiet and handy to nip down for a coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,

Let me thank you for posting your nice detailed review about us on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you were pleased with our staff and services. Also thank you for describing the location and the neighborhood of the Hotel. All the informations you shared might be useful for other guests in the near future.
We would like to welcome you back again in our Hotel if you visit Budapest next time!

Best regards,

Gergely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very good location and excellent value for money. The staff is remarkably friendly and the breakfast was abundant and good. As Italian I was also impressed by the quality of coffee served. Overall EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Giuseppe,

I would like to thank you for posting your kind review about our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and you had a great time. Thank you for mentioning the quality of our coffee and the friendliness of our staff.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.

Best regards,

Gergely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Address: Kis Diofa Utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#62 Family Hotel in Budapest
#67 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea, refreshing water and snacks in our open bar all day long. Internet corner is available with PC, the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site.Special discounts are provided for the hotel guests in the shops of Király street, Budapest’s main street specialised for interior decoration, design, fashion and jewerly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.