We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kis Diofa Utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in clean and comfortable room. Great choice at buffet breakfast and coffee available all day. Free wi-fi a bonus .Good choice of restaurants within 5 mins walk at Listz Ferenc Terrace Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review and your short noticed observations about us. . We are delighted that you spend a great time in our Hotel.
Hope to have the chance to welcome you back next time. Please choose us again!

Best regards,

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    207
    57
    23
    9
See reviews for
61
168
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Presov, Slovakia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed only for one night before Christams, after long haul flight from Thailand. Check-in/out was fast and easy, room was comfortable and very clean. I asked for a silent room, so we had good sleep.
Breakfast are more than excellent for the price you pay here. You have buffet, served in small restaurant near reception, but wide choice, always refilled. everything was fresh and tasty.
Free hotel wifi is fast.
Free coffe or tea, and some small salty/sweet snacks at restaurant anytime. It was nice, when we came back from freezy city.
Staff speaking excellent english, so you will not be lost here.
Taxi called from hotel to train station Keleti just for abou 5 €.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback at Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a nice stay at our Hotel. We are also glad the the quality of out breakfast met your expectations. In the name of the staff I can say that we will warmly welcome you back if you are in Budapest next time!
See you soon!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was a guest of this hotel several times in the past 5-6 years during my business or private visit to Budapest. Convenient either for business meetings or for relaxation with the friends and family due to good traffic connections or just walking to the places of interest. Simply you park your car in the hotel garage and take it out at the moment you are leaving. No need for more details; previous comment and "Excellent" rating are sufficient.

Room Tip: Any room with full-glass wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
On behalf of the Hotel staff I’d like to thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you feel at home in our Hotel may it be for business or pleasure. We hope to welcome you back soon and will do our best to stay worthy of your opinion henceforth as well.

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good value comfortable hotel. Centrally located in Budapest. Modern, comfortable beds, good buffet breakfast, staff friendly and helpful .Tea / coffee available all day. Good base from which to see Budapest.No problems with noise unlike other reviews, but city did seem quiet overall at this time of year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind reply of your previous stay at Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.
We are glad that you had a great time at Budapest and was fully satisfied with out staff and services.
If you visit Budapest next time don't hesitate to choose us again.

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is perfectly located and reasonably priced. Very good breakfast in a nice canteen and you can enjoy tea/coffee 24 hours for free. So, if you go as a couple or group of friends to enjoy the city buzz, sightseeing with exploring the night life afterwards - it's a right place to stay. If you are with a kids or need good rest at night - find something else. We stayed there twice and each time we had no sleep at night. Every door clap, every step, any kind of noize in the other room or staircase hall - you hear it well. I would not go into the details of what we have experienced but that was really significant. Two other drawbacks to mention are very small and poorly equipped bathroom (leaking shower, no soap) and parking only suitable for small cars. If you are SUV or such, you won't fit in the lift even if you fit in the weight limits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your observations of your previous stay at Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. We are happy that you were satisfied with our prices and services however we are a littlebit sad that you didn't sleep well. We are working on to correct the problems that you mentioned. The Hotel and the staff can also progress of these building comments.
See you again!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is well located in the Central district of Budapest. It is close to St. Stephens Church and the Oktogon. The staff is great and very helpful. The breakfast is very good. The price was fair. The only thing I have to say is that the walls are quite thin and you can hear your neighbors if you know what I mean. Other than that they have English TV channels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review here at Tripadvisor. I would like to thank you your kind words about our staff and breakfast service. We are glad that the service met your expectations.
Also thank you for your remark, of the TV programmesWe are planning the expend them in the near future.
Hope to see you again!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

There are not much i have to complain aobut this hotel except the fact that i got stolen in my room about 300€ placed in one pocket in my suitcase, coins in another one and she strangely lost a necklace as well.
True that we should have put them into the safe deposit-box, but i wouldnt advise an hotel which is not safe for your personnal belongings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We kindly thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we are glad for the opportunity to reply in written form as well. We are truly sorry about your bad experience, even more so since – as our colleague had informed you - nothing of the sort has happened in our hotel before.
The safety boxes in the rooms are at the guests’ disposal to store their valuables. They operate with the guests’ individual codes, making sure that no one else is able to open them during their stay. As unfortunately you chose not to use the safe and didn’t give your valuables to the reception for safekeeping, we are unable to take responsibility for any lost items.
On the day you have reported the loss of your valuables, I have inspected the electronic lock on your door. This investigation concluded that other than you it has only been opened by the maid in order to clean your room. She has been a very reliable and honest employee of our hotel for many years now.
This case is without example from which our hotel has learned a lot. Once again we are truly sorry for what has happened and apologize for the inconvenience that ruined your vacation in Budapest. We hope these events will not stop you from visiting our capital city again. We are very thankful that despite everything else, you were satisfied with our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
#149 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
District I / Buda
BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion
BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion
#58 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Terézváros
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#87 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#99 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Address: Kis Diofa Utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Budapest
#65 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea, refreshing water and snacks in our open bar all day long. Internet corner is available with PC, the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site.Special discounts are provided for the hotel guests in the shops of Király street, Budapest’s main street specialised for interior decoration, design, fashion and jewerly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.