We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THE BEST OPTION” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kis Diofa Utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 20%
Ranked #92 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“NOT THE BEST OPTION”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hi,
We were looking for a 4 star hotel…but unfortunately what we found is a 3 star hotel, no more. The lobby and the restaurant is very small, with an old small elevator…definitely in our country the hotel does not meet the quality requirements for a 4 star hotel. In all rooms, hallway included, there is a continuous noise made by the ventilators from the cooling/heating system ….in the first night did not managed to sleep at all…second night I left the radio on with music to cover this noise..
Rooms are acceptable, of course if you do not get de 101, 201, 301, 401 ….rooms ….which are very small ones…let say are “normally” cleaned…nothing special and nothing worst with this…but again, talking about 3 star criteria not 4 start criteria’s hoe they claim that they are.
But let say something good about it – the location is Ok, 15 minutes walking from Vaci utca and the Danube river….many bistros, pubs are restaurants in the neibourhoud…but again, this is not something which the hotel offer, this is what Budapest as a city offer …
Conclusion: if you are not looking for high quality and if you are deadly tired and can sleep near a train station the hotel is acceptable…if not, please look for other options…

Room Tip: NO ROOM WITH xx1...they are very very small !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your review here at Tripadvisor. We are a littlebit sad that our Hotel didn't fully meet your expectations. However we would like to thank you for your full-scale description of the Hotel and the area as well.

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    180
    51
    22
    8
See reviews for
58
145
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hotel Ambra is in a close location to Andrassy Utca and about 10mins from St Stephens Basillica, it is also right next to a local supermarket, which was quite handy. The staff are great, speak very good english and are very helpful. There is coffee, tea and hot chocolate available all day. The breakfast provided was good, mainly cold meats, cereals, bread, fruit and salad. However, we found the housekeeping to be pretty poor. When we arrived in room No. 205 the carpet and bins has not been cleaned from the previous occupant. Our main light by the entrance to the room did not work and despite reporting this to the reception it was not looked at during our three night stay. The air conditioner did not work, the table with the telephone had obviously not been cleaned for awhile as there were crisps and crumbs all over it. When thinking of booking here, you should also be aware that the walls are paper thin and we could hear all of our neighbours bedroom activities and this woke us up when they came back singing at 2am. This is not the fault of the hotel but certainly had an impact on our stay. Overall, this is a well located hotel with excellent staff that is significantly let down by its poor housekeeping and cleanliness and I am sure there are better hotels to stay in Budapest for a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy that you were satisfied with our staff and the breakfast was sufficed your expectations. However I am definitely going to discuss the cleaning of your room with our housekeepers. We are having meetings in every month to improve in every division of the Hotel.
Hoping to see you again

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had such a good time and the staff at the hotel made it even better. The location and facilities of the hotel were fab especially the breakfast. I can't praise the hotel staff enough, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Would stay in this hotel anytime

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your kind review here on Tripadvisor.
The whole staff is glad that you had a great time were satisfied with our service. Also thank you
for the praises of the staff.
Don't hesitate to choose us again if you come back to Budapest!
Go Liverpool!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

we came back from a 10 days vacation. we do not have enough words to say how satisfied we were. starting with the reception clarks - to the caffetieria ladies, the cleaning ladies - all made our stay a joy.
everyone was very helpfull . Our room was clean: the towels and linen changed daily. Not a single complaint .
Add to that - the situation of the hotel - which is within walking distance to all places.
If or when - we will go to Budapest again - we will defintely stay at the AMBRA again.
KOROSHI / ISRAEL

Room Tip: Ask and you will get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It is very uplifting for us to read you kind words about our Hotel and staff. This is what we work for, satisfied and happy guests as you are.
I would also like to thanks for your recommendation of our Hotel.
We would like to welcome you next time!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

the hotel staff are amazing and helpful, especially Mr. Martin Vas . and the young lady who prepares the breakfast (so sorry i forgot her name),
you can have hot n cold drinks anytime for free.
the breakfast is great and healthy.
its quiet and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your positive review about Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.
All members of the staff are very glad that you had a great time here. In the name of Marton I would like to thank you for mentioning his helpful.
Looking forward to see you next time again in our Hotel!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is what I would call a great deal! We booke dit for a reasonable price and it definitly was best choice.
First off, the location of the hotel is very good,near the Opera house, although it can be a bit difficult to find it at 1st,as it is on a little street but consulting a map will do the trick.
The rooms are clean,enaugh spacious and with the biggest bathroom I ever saw in a hotel. The shower is very big too, occupying an entire wall, so you don't have to squeeze in and out as in most hotel-showers.
The breakfast was exactly the type of breakfast I expect from a hotel for my personal taste. The open buffe was comprised of hot dishes (omlette,bacon, sausages,pacakes), many types of ham and salami and a few types of cheese. But what was really nice is that they also had musli and cereals, plus different types of seeds and nuts, a perfect and healthy breakfast! They also served fresh fruits and canned fruits.
The biggest plus that the hotel receives is from the fact that they served 24h tea and coffee at the lobby area free of charge,plus little snacks like chips and peanuts.
The staff is very helpful, we even received a map and different tourist leaflets at the checkin which turned out to be very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing this fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I would like to tell you in the name of the staff that everybody is glad that you had a great time in our Hotel.We are delighted that our breakfast service totally satisfied your expectations. It is very pleased to read that a frequent traveller as you took time to write a detailed description of the Hotel and the staff. Also thank you very much for the uploaded pictures it was very kind from you.
If you come to Budapest next time please choose Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra again.
See you soon!

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Every thing is said by the title. We felt immediately at home. The staff offered spontaneously all help that we required. The only roblem we had was that the tripadvisor website requires at least 200 characters.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is glad to read that the hotel services, the staff and also the cleanliness met your expectations.
We are waiting for you next time again! Do not hesitate to choose us.

Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Address: Kis Diofa Utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Budapest
#61 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea, refreshing water and snacks in our open bar all day long. Internet corner is available with PC, the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site.Special discounts are provided for the hotel guests in the shops of Király street, Budapest’s main street specialised for interior decoration, design, fashion and jewerly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.