We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Ring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Ring to your Saves list
City Hotel Ring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szent Istvan korut 22, Budapest H-1137, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It's a very decent 3* hotel.We stayed here fron 04 to 06 May. Great location, within walking distance fom all majos sights in Pest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As we were travelling with our parents, in their 60s, an read on Tripadvisor that there is no elevatorin the hotel, we asked for some rooms on the first floor at least for them and the staff were extremely responsive. The rooms are basic, but very clean, exactly what we wanted. Breakfast was also basic, but gave us a good start for te day. We had rooms woth view to the inner yard so there was no noise and as the temperature was moderate, there was no problem with the heat. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    117
    51
    11
    3
See reviews for
21
108
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel was very centrally located, just 5 minutes walk from the train station in directrion of Maraget's Bridge and all the sightseeings were just around us. Shopping centres and restaurantes are within a few meters. The service was very good and the staff were absolutely helpful. The room was very clean!! Breakfast is so filling that you are hungry only during the afternoon!

Room Tip: The rooms have double windows and are very quiet even though the hotel is on a main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us. We are very happy that the opinions, which appear on Tripadvisor, correctly informed you, and that, according to your letter, your stay was comfortable. Some people believe that the hotel’s situation is not central enough. It is, however, a fact, that the city’s attractions, such as Margit island, the Buda castle, the Basilica, and the Parliament Building are all reachable within 20 minutes. The West End City Center, which is 5 minutes’ walking distance, is a shopping center that is also open on weekends.

Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location was noisy and the room hot. We stayed 24-28 April and the air conditioning hadn't been activated., The room was clean but basic. The shower cubicle small. Reception were very helpful. The position of the hotel in the city was very good and within walking distance of a lot of sites and facilities. The hotel was booked as a city break with a local travel agent and was cheap. There is no lift in this hotel.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If you want 5 star you pay the price. Get a room at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize, and ask to be forgiven for the unpleasantness. It’s no secret, that the windows in a few of the hotel’s rooms face the busy Budapest boulevard. Although there are double windows, the noise is regrettable and doesn’t filter out completely. But this perhaps cannot be expected from a city hotel. Surely you received, or requested such a room. If situation like this arises, the reception is glad to accommodate you and recommend a different room.
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

we stayed here from 16 april until 21 april. its pretty central to everything. fridge and tv provided but it really could have done with a kettle. staff are really friendly. would stay here again but i would ask for a room on the first floor. unless you're really fit, there are a lot of stairs and no lift.
overall though very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in City Hotel Ring for a few nights and it was exactly what we wanted. The staff were very friendly and very helpful with pointing out locations of where we wanted to go and the best transport to use to get there. We stayed in a standard double room which was a comfortable size and had a nice en suite with a shower. the only criticism I would have is that the room got very warm during the nights so we had to resort to opening the window, which we didn't mind until the bin men came round at 5 in the morning. But that aside we had a really great stay and saw plenty, and with the location of this hotel being really near to many attractions it made it even easier for us to get to them. Great weekend away and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at the City Ring and had a mixed experience.
Upon arrival, I found the reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful and, to be completely honest, this stayed the same for the entire duration of my stay. Everytime I came back to the hotel I'd smile and say hello and was met with blank expressions and silence in return! The bedding was another issue, with the bedspread seemingly made to cover no one any taller than about 4 feet tall!!
On the plus side, the room was a good size and they cleaned it and gave fresh bedding every day. Location wise it was great too. Margaret Bridge (leading to Margaret Island and Buda) is less than 10 minutes walk away and everywhere is in easy reach by train, tram or Metro.
The city itself was stunning, I really can't reccommend it more and I will definitely return.

As for the hotel, I'm not so sure whether I'd return purely because it lacked that certain something. If I was travelling alone I'd probably go back, but if i was travelling with someone else, I'd probably want to take them somewhere a little bit nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback concerning City Hotel Ring. We sincerely regret your negative experience in connection with the reception. This is not characteristic. All of our receptionists are friendly and are always at our guests’ disposal. The guest always takes priority with us, we strive to pay much attention to this.
The hotel has been welcoming guests now for more than 16 years, it’s design is suitable for this day and age. It’s true, the hotel is simple, but it extends 3-star service to the highest degree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exminster Exeter devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Four nights stay in this hotel . Excellent location for Trams trains and buses . Good size rooms with fridge and T.V. could have done with an extra pillow though as only one available ( did not mention this at the time )Very good breakfast with a good choice and nice coffee from the machine in the restaurant. very clean and the towels are changed daily. I have stayed in Budapest many times and this Hotel ticks all the boxes.Free internet available in Reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel. We are especially happy to hear your opinion about the breakfast as the breakfast room has recently got a totally new design and the breakfast choice has been also renewed. After breakfast time the restaurant operates as a bar awaiting back also the guests of the hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#97 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#105 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#140 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#26 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ring

Address: Szent Istvan korut 22, Budapest H-1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Ring is centrally located on the Pest side of the city, in the Szent Istvan Korut. The hotel is within walking distance to Budapest's downtown business district, the Margaret Island, the Western railway station, the largest shopping mall of Budapest (Westend City Center) and the city's major tourist attractions. Buffet breakfast is served in the hotel's dining room. Free internet terminal is available in the lobby area. The hotel ensures a pleasant vacation for individual guests and also for groups arriving to Budapest. The Hotel has 39 comfortably furnished rooms, individually air conditioned, telephone, complimentary Internet access, SAT TV, fridge, work desk, radio, hair dryer (upon request). Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception, conference room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Ring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.