We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, cheap and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Pilvax to your Saves list
City Hotel Pilvax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilvax Koz 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Central, cheap and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in April 2014. Hotel is very central (3 minutes walk from Ferenciek Tere metro) and is in a pedestrianized street so quiet (there is an Irish pub next door, so you may get some noise from music on Thurs/Fri/Sat nights). It isn't luxurious, but comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful staff and really good value for the area. Only downside was a broken riser on the shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    173
    55
    24
    4
See reviews for
28
160
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel 13 -18 March. Near many cafes and restaurants, very close many of the city. Clean hotel, friendly receptionists at the front desk.Cleaning at the hotel was every day, towels changed every den.Idealny hotel for traveling near two metro stations, providing access to various points of interest.The rooms are large and bright. Chose this hotel because of the large windows in the room. Book through administrator airport shuttle service, tarnsport was booked time.Will certainly recommend your hotel. Thank you for comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights with my hubby, we loved the place! Quiet enough, clean rooms and super nice staff! The bed was a little too hard for us. Pilvax köz is not for cars(?) so we slept well! In my opinion the breakfast was awesome, worth of trying, but just a little top expensive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, Wed 19th - Sat 22nd Feb. Hotel easy to find from nearby Metro station and good location to explore beautiful Budapest on foot. Our room on 1st floor, above reception, was of a reasonable size and layout, but the old metal frame windows were draughty and the curtains did not cover them. The corner shower cubicle was small and one of the sliding doors came off the runners every time - it had been repaired previously, but needs replacing! The buffet breakfast was minimal and of poor quality, the amount supplied reducing each morning and not being replenished, irrespective of what time it was? Milk spilled on the floor was not even mopped up by the grumpy waitress? The meal we ate there one evening was of a completely different standard - very tasty, but only a small portion and much more expensive than other meals elsewhere? Our last 2 nights' sleep were disturbed by the noise of other guests returning late in the early hours, even though we had opted for a room which was not above the Irish bar. I think Avios should review using this hotel, we will not again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear ‘Ann572014’,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at City Hotel Pilvax.

Glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel as well as the size of the rooms. We regret that you found the shower door damaged. We kindly ask your guests to inform the front desk when any damage is detected and the maintenance department will fix it as soon as possible or another room will be provided. Some repairs – like replacing the shower doors – can permanently be managed only upon out-of-ordered rooms that we continuously perform.

Your opinion concerning the buffet breakfast has been forwarded to the Pilvax Bisztro’s management, every feedback will help us to improve our services.

In regards with the guest behaviour we’d like to underline that keeping the house rules is mandatory for everyone, if someone do not respect other guests’ rest, the hotel staff immediately take the necessary measures.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you here again.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from four nights at Pilvax Hotel. The room was basic but clean. It was cleaned daily and the towels were changed daily. The only negative thing was the noise. Other guests could be heard at all times of night. Sometimes it felt they were in the same room! I feel that when someone is singing loudly at 5am the reception staff should have told them to be quiet. The location was fantastic. Breakfast at Anna's was superb. Try and walk slightly away from the centre for cheaper food and drinks. Budapest was a wonderful city with lots to see and do. One final point if you do visit Budapest take your swimming costume and visit Gellert Baths.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

we have just spent a week at this hotel.its clean, towels and sheets are changed daily and very friendly the staff could not have been more helpful and It is in an excellent location . would not hesitate staying here again. usual buffet style breakfast ( could do with new toaster though).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've just spent 4 nights in this super hotel. It's in an excellent location, so close to everywhere you'd want to visit. The reception staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, with a relaxed, informal manner and a great command of English. Our room was large and well equipped, the shower clean and modern and you can get a hairdryer free of charge from reception. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You might need a pin or a bit of blu-tak as our curtains didn't quite close properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#138 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#93 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#64 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#121 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Address: Pilvax Koz 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Pilvax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.