We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Pilvax to your Saves list
City Hotel Pilvax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilvax Koz 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location. Walking distance to any sightseeing. Vaci just 2 minutes walk. Nice rooms, but old shower. No sound isolation inside and outside. Very friendly staff. No elevator. Very expensive restaurant. But next door Irish pub was excellent. The hotel is old , but very clean. Hairdryer on reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest ‘Anna I’,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit at City Hotel Pilvax and your feedback about our hotel. We are happy that you liked the staff, location and room facilities. The cleanliness got the second highest score on the rating summary thanks to the housekeeping department’s efforts which makes us very proud. The maintenance departments pay particular attention to the quality of the bathroom, if the shower brake or damaged they repair or change it as soon as possible.

We really appreciate for giving us the highest scores and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    151
    44
    21
    4
See reviews for
25
138
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My friend and I had a 3 night stay at this hotel just after Christmas, the hotel is fairly basic but the cleanliness is very good, staff are friendly and very helpful and rooms are large and warm. Breakfast could be better and therefore for 2 mornings we went to the restaurant just up the road for a super breakfast, hotel is well situated, quiet and 2 minutes walk to main shopping area. I would recommend this hotel and would use again if visiting budapest.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here in January this year and was very impressed. Close to all the things you want to see while staying in this beautiful city the rooms are of a good quality and the staff are very friendly would stay here again and couldn't recommend it enough

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is centrally located with multiple metro stations nearby and very easy to get to from the airport.

The staff is very helpful. We forgot to bring a British socket adaptor and it wasn't easy to find one in any high street shops; the hotel receptionist was more than happy to lend us the adaptor to use for the entire duration of the trip.

The room is of good size with high ceiling and clean. As the hotel was located on a quiet pedestrian road, you can hardly hear any street noise at night. We found the mattresses to be on the hard side and thinner than what we'd have liked.

By and large we would recommend this hotel to those who visit Budapest on a short trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a good 5 nights at the Pilvax at the beginning of December. Comfortable, warm and clean with a very friendly and helpful reception staff. Also very cheerful and friendly in the bistro at breakfast time too. Good sized room in a good location. My second visit to Budapest but first time here - and I would stay here next time we come.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay. It more than met my expectations. Staff was friendly, room was large and clean. Free wifi that was very fast. Wise variety of television Chanel's for most nationalities. Beds aren't the most comfortable but that is my only complaint.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 26 Oct to 30 Oct in a triple room. We arrived in the evening & the night staff was a male naned Georgy. 1 of the beds in our room was a pull out sofa bed which was not level & very uncomfortable. I told him we had paid for 3 beds & this was not acceptable. He was very aggressive, rude & obnoxious & even told me that we should go to a better class of hotel. He said another bed couldn't be moved into our room because it "wasn't his job" to move beds. I offered to help him or move it myself but he replied rudely & said beds are NEVER moved to other rooms. He is a really horrible man. After arguing for about 15 minutes he eventually called someone, I don't know who (it could have been his girlfriend for all I knew) & completely ignored me during his 10 minute conversation. He then told me, through gritted teeth & very aggressively that the bed would be changed the following day (which it was) thus disproving that beds can be moved to other rooms. As I walked upstairs I could hear him cursing me. I slept on the bed & woke with back & neck ache, terrible experience & horrendous staff. Bed was changed the following morning. I spoke with a male member of staff the following morning & asked if he was the manager, he replied "I can be". He didnt seem too interested about it & just said sorry. Do not stay at this terrible place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest ’LRLFC’,

Thank you for your review about your experiences in our hotel.

First of all, please accept our apologies if someone from our staff behaved improperly with you during your stay. Thanks to the detailed description we could investigate this case carefully. You are right in City Hotel Pilvax the third bed is a sofa bed which can be seen on our official website beside many other sites and mentioned among room equipments.

After midnight you reported that the sofa bed is not convenient for you. On the second floor there you stayed we had no other rooms available from where we could replace the beds. Therefore on the first floor we offered the only vacant room for that night complimentary and promised that we’ll change the sofa bed to a standard bed on the following day. The complimentary room was refused by you.

The lady with whom the receptionist spoke was the General Manager. On that late hour we were able to offer only that complimentary room as a solution for that situation.
As we promised next day changed the beds.

Every time if the management is not available the current front desk staff act as a duty manager.

We hope beside the first night you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we could prove our hospitality on your following stay here.

Best regards,

Kálmán Dénes
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Address: Pilvax Koz 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Pilvax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.