We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal city centre hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Pilvax to your Saves list
City Hotel Pilvax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilvax Koz 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GU34
2 reviews
“Ideal city centre hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Centrally located on a pedestrian street, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the central square, Ferenc Deak Ter. The rooms are large with plenty of storage space. The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning is efficient. Best of all it is quiet. The breakfast is good with plenty of choice and you can eat as much as you want. The staff are excellent and they all speak English. The girls on reception are all really helpful. If we return to Budapest we shall definitely book into this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so the first floor is preferable. There are both smoking and non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    162
    53
    22
    4
See reviews for
25
149
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed with a group of 8 and we were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel. It is close to shops, Danube and a walking distance to the main attractions. Rooms are clean and functional, beds are comfortable. Staff are very helpful. There is a free security box at reception. Free wifi and use of computer in reception area. Breakfast is ample, good coffee, choice of teas, usual cheese, ham, fruit , yoghurt etc plus omelette (which was ok), a type of hot dog sausage (which I did not try). Budapest is a lovely city. We went on the bus tours which is a good way of overseeing the city, but do haggle, one company were going to charge 7,000F but another charged us 4,000F in the end. Do go and see the shoes on the side of the Danube, one of the most moving things and a powerful symbol of the hardship the the Hungarians endured.

Had a meal in the restaurant one night, I enjoyed it but three of our group who chose the pork had to return it as it was very pink.

Room Tip: make sure it is a non smoking room. Two of you group were initially placed in a very smoky room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was happy with my stay, but next time I will probably pay a bit more for a nicer hotel. Also - do not get the breakfast package. There was very little to choose from and you can go 30m down the street and buy a similar breakfast for a fifth of the price...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Convenient location just a couple of meters walk from the main pedestrian street called Vaci utca.
Excellent staff at the reception with all information any tourist would need including pubs, night clubs, anything that would make a stag night great. Our rooms very clean and fair enough to stend the night there. breakfast but not super good but it was OK, for the price we paid for ou rooms. All in all we had a great time in Budapst downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As others have noted, this hotel is very conveniently situated for most of the sites of this attractive city. It is very close to the pedestrianised area with its plethora of eating places and shops.
The hotel has some lovely front desk staff, knowledgeable, professional and friendly, proferring good advice to us throughout our stay.
The room was absolutely fine, though there is no facility for making hot drinks so bring your own if that is important to you.
Plenty of storage space for clothes etc., the bed was comfortable and just about warm enough during a few days when the weather was a little cooler than expected.
The bathroon was fine, with an efficient shower and plenty of hot water. Cleaning was always well done.
Breakfasts were frankly poor. There was no orange juice on two of our four nights there (just apple juice), the fruit was frankly old and - in one case - going off rapidly. The cooked items were either cold or lukewarm - provided were: something eggy, streaky bacon (not - sadly - crisp, just soggy) and a kind of frankfurter. The cheese and ham were ok. The bread was poor - usually it was cut into very small pieces and was not-very-fresh at all. In fact the tiny pieces of bread provided for the toaster were STALE every time.
We complained to the manager, who said she would discuss these issues with the company that provided the breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Located in the central city, so great for sightseeing and partying. When we arrived we were told they were overbooked and we would have a room at their sister hotel - this was in the middle of the roadworks next to one of the bridges - not good. The receptionist was extremely apologetic and helpful and told us to return the next day if the other hotel was not to our liking - it wasn't. We returned, they only had street front rooms left. The room was basic with curtains that didn't fit the huge windows and double glazing that didn't work. We had not chosen this hotel as it was part of a cities package and would have gladly gone further out to get some peace. However I can't praise the receptionist enough and the room cleaners were lovely. Breakfast was average though. I would like to have seen the back rooms - I have a feeling all would have been good if we were there! Oh and there is no lift. Would recommend this hotel to my children who would be out all the time and need very little sleep!!

Room Tip: Rooms off the street front must be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “angibo”,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at our hotels.

Due to some technical reasons upon your arrival we kindly asked you to stay in City Hotel Mátyás, which is located only a few hundred meters from City Hotel Pilvax, even closer to the Danube.

We regret that the entrance was not smooth because of the reconstruction works in front of the City Hotel Mátyás. We’d like to underline that the reconstruction of the square is being done by the local-government of Budapest to create better traffic conditions and nicer environment and the hotel management has only a very limited influence on the working process. The sidewalk in front of the City Hotel Mátyás will be ready very soon.

As a compensation for your inconvenience we provided a complimentary Superior Room upgrade with a huge number of extra facilities such as Led Smart TV with Internet connection, Safety box for laptop, Hair dryer in the room and free Tea / Coffee making facility.

The provided Superior Room looks to the Molnár street which is a side street on the right side of the City Hotel Mátyás however there were also some road works.

Due to the unique formation of the hotel some of the rooms could be only reached through some common areas and corridors which do not belongs to the hotel. We would like to underline that all parts of the hotel are continuously maintained and cleaned by the housekeeping department.

On the following day you decided rather to go back to the City Hotel Pilvax and we provided the best available room for you which looks to the pedestrian street in front of the Hotel without any traffic noise. However we rarely get any complaints to the quality of the breakfast we are going to share your point of view with the restaurant management.

Thank you also for sharing your positive opinion regarding the reception staff whom we are very proud.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again one of our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is located in the heart of downtown, in the pedestrian area surrounded with lots of restaurants, bars, and sightseeing locations within a few minutes of walking distance, and still quite.
The hotel is a bit old fashioned, but the room was nice and clean and the price they give compensated it. All in all, it was just perfect for a two nights stay. Receptionists were very nice, welcoming and gave me lots of good advice how to get around in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Address: Pilvax Koz 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Pilvax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.