We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is plenty of good hostels in Budapest, this is not one of them” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caterina Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caterina Hostel to your Saves list
Caterina Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Budapest VI Terez krt. 30 III/28 | Ring Code 48, Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“There is plenty of good hostels in Budapest, this is not one of them”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

do yourself a favour and don't stay here... there is 6 flights of stairs to hike up to get to the front door and then there is 3 doors to get into your rooms. the tv didn't work in our room and the management weren't concerned to fix it. you can't adjust the heater in the room since they took the knob off the control, they call the hallway the 'common room' the breakfast is full of sugar and not very fresh, one of the staff members was like a hall monitor especially if you didn't close one of the doors.... not good

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

If your are looking for a cheap place and a typical hostel, that's the one!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

The location was great, 5 mins walk to Octagon metro station. I had been warned about the 4 flights of stairs so that didn't bother me.
The beds were very uncomfortable, the top bunks only had a thin foam mattress a few inches high so the wooden slats dug into my back all night. Once someone checked out the next day I swapped to a lower bunk which had 2 foam mattresses on top of each other so was slightly more comfortable. There are no lockers like advertised although I had nothing stolen, I felt misled. The free breakfast is just 3 slices of bread with cheese spread, jam and coffee. I guess it was free but I've had much better free breakfasts in other hostels before.
You also had to pay for luggage storage, again this isn't advertised, it's only 200Ft (less than 1 EURO) but still it's the principle of charging that annoyed me.
Although I loved Budapest and hope to return one day I think I will try staying at another hostel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable beds and no lockers!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Centrally located near Octogon Metro station, inbetween Hero's Square and Buda Castle. Reasonably priced. With full service laundry at a most afordable rate. Clean rooms, the triple came with a TV with cable! Pity the 4 storey climb which was terrible if you are not use to it. Breakfast is decent, if fixed amount. delightful kitchen. Friendly service. Rooms open up to the common area, so privacy is compromised, depending on how you see it. Internet access is free. but there is only one terminal.

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Disliked — Staircase
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We booked 3 beds in an 8 bed dorm.

Caterina Hostel is on one of the main commercial streets of central Pest, but it's on the 4th floor and opens into the courtyard, and is very, very quiet.

It's beautifully and modernly furnished, so it felt like we had been invited to have a sleepover at a friend's place. The "free breakfast" is just toast and coffee, but that's ok, seeing as there is nowhere to really sit and eat.

As a small hostel without a central hangout area, you'd expect it to be antisocial, but I found that we ended up meeting more people just because we all shared the same small space.

  • Liked — The quiet rooms
  • Disliked — 4 flights of stairs to get there!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baroque Hostel
Baroque Hostel
#287 of 556 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
DBC Hostel
DBC Hostel
#228 of 556 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Hotel
Marco Polo Top Hotel
#142 of 556 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
East Side Hostel
East Side Hostel
#133 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
District V / Inner City
All Central Hostel
All Central Hostel
#209 of 556 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Terézváros
HBC Hostel
HBC Hostel
#55 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caterina Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caterina Hostel

Address: Budapest VI Terez krt. 30 III/28 | Ring Code 48, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Caterina Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caterina Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caterina Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.