We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick trip to Budapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apor Peter Utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Peterhead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quick trip to Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is situated in a quiet alley on the Buda side and is very close to the Chain Bridge which takes you into pest where most of the shops are. The hotel was very clean and quiet. There is a very small restaurant opposite the hotel. We ate there twice and the meal was very good and reasonably priced. Also further down the alley was another Pub/restaurant which was far busier and seemed to attract a younger age group. Here again the food was good and the list of beers was amazing.
The hotel has a dining area which only used for breakfast. This was Ok but virtually the same food every morning, however it set you up for the day. The room we had was of good size with the usual facilities. Our only complaint was we could not fully turn off the heating which made the room quite warm during the night.
The hotel staff were most helpful and answered all our queries and gave us guidance as to where to go etc.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    371
    125
    29
    12
See reviews for
91
291
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Couthuin, Liege, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel for those wishing to stay on the Buda side of the Danube could not be better - just a stone's throw from tjhe Chain Bridge and the bus stop at Adam Clark Ter. We arrived quite late at night and the man at the reception was very courteous and efficient. The rooms are small but that's OK if you plan on being out visiting the city most of the day anyway (we had the one on -1 level below the restaurant but it was still very quiet). GREAT breakfast with loads to select from (refreshed constantly so there is always enough no matter at what time you arrive). The room was very clean when we arrived but housekeeping staff could have done a better job of cleaning during our stay. Linens are only changed two times a week (FYI) but towels are changed daily if you wish. Overall although it might not merit a four star rating it is an excellent hotel to consider when planning a trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Carlton for 4 nights the April. Taking advice from reviews on Tripadvisor we requested a room on a higher floor, away from the lift and with a walk in shower. When we got to the hotel we found they had done exactly as requested. We also asked, by email, they book us a table at a local restaurant which was also done so all in all we found the staff to be extremely helpful. Our room was clean and of a comfortable size, only draw back, and one that you often get in hotels, there was only one chair but as we only use the room for sleeping it wasn't an issue. The beds were extremely comfortable and with the quiet room we slept well. The bathroom was compact but adequate and very clean. The walk in shower was superb with plenty of power and hot water. It actually looked to us the fifth floor, that being the one we were on, had recently been refurbished. One point worth mentioning is if you're expecting a "room With A View" forget it, even though we were on the fifth floor (Room 508) our window looked directly on to other buildings. That though didn't matter as the Danube was just 5 minutes away.

The breakfast bar was good with a choice of breads, cheeses, cereals, cakes etc. There was a hot option of scrambled eggs and frankfurters each day. We certainly didn't go hungry. One suggestion, if you like a good brew take your own tea bags, there was a very good choice of fruit teas but their black tea isn't what ours is!

One important point to mention is access to the hotel. The Carlton Hotel is accessible from two roads, Hunyadi Janos U. & Fo U. If you enter from Hunyadi, and that is where the Airport Shuttle dropped us, you have the choice of a steep cobbled slope, cobbled steps or steps that have seen better days. Now if you enter from Fo U. you have to walk along a cobbled street to a long run of steps which could present problems or use the lift in the car park which is accessible with your room card, well should have been if our card had worked in the garage door. The reception would though open the door remotely if called. I feel if you have mobility issues you may find it difficult entering the hotel.

In general though this is a nice clean and comfortable hotel in a quiet part of the city on the Buda side and just a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Pest. We would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Check accessbility if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a decent enough very central hotel only 5 minutes from the Chain Bridge in central Budapest.....but.....there are few issues with it....
The room was a decent size and clean when we arrived, the bathroom is very small but ok....so far so good...
We asked for an extra pillow and were told that there were only pillows in the rooms they couldn't supply extra ones...the towels are paper thin and they don't replace the toiletries at all daily and the room is barely made up...
The breakfast is only average with a limited choice and it's not anywhere near the standard we would expect of a 4 star hotel. It's a good location and seems quiet but the staff are a bit sullen and they seem to penny pinch at every opportunity within the hotel with regard to service. There is free wifi and although it's a bit slow it seemed fine. We wouldn't stay here again and spent 4 nights here in April.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Stayed as a family trip October 2014 (slightly late review!)

Location: Excellent, 5 mins to Chain Bridge, at the foot of the hill of the castle (we could see the castle from our room). More of a walk to Pest and attractions there but walk was very pleasant. Close to restaurants.

Food: Reasonable selection of items both hot and cold at breakfast.

Staff: Really friendly gentleman checked us in (I didn't get his name :( )- very helpful in showing location on map and was very open to answering any questions we might have

Room: Room was clean and reasonably maintained. Felt a little dated but didn't mind that as it was rather charming!

overall a pleasant stay with very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel in Budapest on the 3 occasions i have stayed in Budapest a perfect hotel in a perfect location.
Located a few minutes walk from Chain bridge and castle hill and funicular railway plus all the sights are very reachable with Budapests fantastic public transport service.The hotel is classed as a 4 star hotel with excellent staff at the reception and the cleaning staff who are very friendly and helpful.The rooms i have had on my 3 visits to this hotel have always been excellent very clean and spacious with modern bathrooms also the beds and bedding have all been good with bedding changed everyday.The breakfast is excellent with cold and hot options on offer plus coffee and teas and cordial drinks.If you want a stronger drink they have an excellent bar with a good choice of beers and spirits also next to the hotel just down the steps from the hotel is a excellent Belguim pub that has a great selection of Belgium beers and good food.The hotel in my opinion is one of the best hotels in Budapest for location good staff great service and i would only stay in this hotel when in Budapest.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Carlton in March, and had a good experience overall.
The problem was the service. The room wasn't cleaned after every day, towels weren't always changed, the soaps weren't replaced and the whole service atmosphere was lacking the willing to help.
The breakfast was OK, but didn't changed for the whole week we were there.
The location is very good, under the castle, but it is a walk to get to a metro station or to Pest.
One last thing, the balcony rooms are a fraud! We asked for 1 and got a tiny balcony facing indoors into an abandoned old garden, and it cost me 50 euros extra!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Address: Apor Peter Utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#71 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.