We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Budapest Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #38 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Kansas City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the executive lounge, great food and staff, nice views, Great perk! Staff was awesome too. Met some great people, nice beds and big rooms, would stay here again on my next visit. First rate all the way! Thanks for great memories

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review here on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you experienced such wonderful service.

I am also pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our exclusive Executive Lounge.
We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you once again for your wonderful review!

Kindest regards,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    581
    118
    32
    14
See reviews for
200
685
94
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed two nights prior to cruise (which was cancelled due to river flooding). We had a lot of rain, so didn't walk as much as we normally would have, but the hotel is conveniently located. It was clean and quiet. Dining was normal good hotel food; lines sometimes grew if we hit the tour group time. Sometimes a wait for the elevator. Nothing you wouldn't expect. All in all, fine stay.

Room Tip: Huge hotel. Anything not near the elevators would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to complete a review of your recent return stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Get the room with executive lounge access. It is worth the extra.
Breakfast is inclusive. Alcoholic drinks (beer, wines, liquor) are available free of charge from 5 to 9.30pm. 5.30-7.30pm finger food is available and they are good.
The beds are very comfortable. Pilloes are in abundance.
The concierge is very helpful. They wan help you make reservations for all tours and have them charged to your room. I made reservations for Gundel Restaurant (which is THE restaurant in Budapest, where Queen Elizabeth, The Pope and Bill Clinton dined), dinner cruise and segway with the help of the concierge. Ask for the students price for the dinner cruise 9900Florint. They can do it if you quote the salesperson name. I got the leaflet from the square nearby and the salesperson told me that I can get students price if I bring that leaflet. I got the concierge to get the students price for me. You can try to get them to do the same.
Although it is stated that we need to pay for the internet access separately, the hotel told us it is inclusive. We just need to log in as if purchasing it but they will deduct it form the bill. I shall know when I checkout tomorrow if it is true.
Location is very centralised. Short walk to the square where metro station is. Cheap metro of 350 Florint for return trip to the Szechenyi spa and Gundel Restaurant. Fast too. Very frequent trains.
All in all, very happy with the hotel. Highly receommended but it comes with a price.

Room Tip: Get a 9th floor room - that's where the executive lounge is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your visit.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Budapest Marriott is located at one of the best locations of Budapest . Its absolutely on the riverside ... and you can feel the magnificence of Danube . It is right across the Buda Castle and one can enjoy the beautiful lit up view of the entire Buda side ... the Buda castle , the chain bridge , the churches , Buda hills ... One can click great photographs from the hotel ..
The famous Vaci street is at a walking distance , and so are some of the good tourist areas . You can enjoy the night activities all at a walking distance .
The hotel is nice and friendly and does have both the ambience and functionalities . Staff is ok.
The hotel rooms are good , but not as lavish as you would find them in south east Asian countries .
I found breakfast to be ok . Of course the hotel is still not equipped to handle Indians / vegetarians etc ... but I suppose that's ok because we don't have too many Indians visiting ..
Overall nice hotel .

Room Tip: Pick room towards the castle side to get a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay.

I agree that our location is fantastic and am glad you enjoyed being in the heart of the city during your visit.

I will take this feedback to our chef in regards to your dining experience in the hotel.
I look forward to welcomeing you again in a near future.

Warm regards,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've stayed at Budapest Marriott Hotel for 3 nights during a business trip in February.
It is a nice 5* property, rooms very clean and had a comfortable king size bed. Check in and check out were very quick, room service satisfactory.
The only thing is that the hotel looks awful from outside: like an old communist building, but once getting inside everything changes.
The lobby bar is perfect for business meeting and not expensive at all. The breakfast was quite varied, although there is room for better.
One thing annoying is that they charge €25/day for WiFi in the room while in the lobby is free. It is annoying since you are paying huge rates for accommodation and breakfast.
Otherwise, perfect located in the heart of Budapest and very good services

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit to Budapest.

I do understand your position on the in room Wi-Fi but as you mentioned we do provide complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.
Thanks again for your feedback and hope to meet you during your next visit to Budapest.

Warm regards,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

What a pleasure to stay at this hotel. This hotel was actually the highlight of our trip to Budapest. The facilities, location and staff are superb. Thanks especially to David (front desk manager) and Jenny (at the front desk) who were extremely personable and helpful in all respects. Who needs a concierge with front desk personnel like these two?! Would never stay anywhere else. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent review here on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you experienced such wonderful service.
I am pleased to read that David and Jenny from our Front Desk team, was able to leave a most pleasant and lasting impression during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you once again for your wonderful review!

Kindest regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Viking River Cruise. Beautiful hotel and conveniently located. Rooms were spacious, clean and modern with a view of the Danube. I did miss having a night stand clock. The clock built into the TV was way too small. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had everything you could want. Dinner has several Hungarian specialties. Be sure to try the local wine. WiFi, although only free in the lobby, worked well. It was available very close to the daily dessert bar. Oh so tempting!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us.
I am most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wishing you a pleasant week ahead and thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#22 Family Hotel in Budapest
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#32 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Despegar.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.