We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Budapest Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #41 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay in a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel offers a very luxurious feel with a beautiful lobby, large modern rooms, attentive staff, and an attractive executive lounge. As a platinum, my friend and I had access to the executive lounge which was very nice and offered views of the city and the huge huge parliament building which is across the street. The executive lounge staff was very friendly, and the evening offerings were just enough to hold you over to dinner and a great place to relax at the end of the day with a glass of complimentary wine (or two, or three, - who is counting, it's vacation). I believe the hours for complimentary food and drinks was 5 -10pm, and of course breakfast in the morning.

The onsite restaurant was an outdoor restaurant /bar as I was there in May and it was nice weather to sit outside. It had a decent crowd each evening offering a nice environment to have a drink and lite snack if you didn't feel like going out in the city.

One thing I would steer clear of is using the concierge. He honestly did not seem to know what he was talking about, and he couldn't answer any of our questions. When he did give us info, it was always wrong (for example, stores are open on Sunday...no they are not!).He also steered us to the Parliament Building as a must see -- what a waste of time, nothing to see or learn about.

With regard to the location, it's a quick and cheap taxi to old city where the nightlife and restaurants are, and a quick walk around Parliament building to the hop on and hop off tour bus, so it worked out well for me as that's all i needed to be close to for my short 3 day stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    643
    127
    34
    17
See reviews for
232
751
100
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was designed exactly like all the Marriott's in the states, so when you enter you feel at home. The view of Buda castle and the Chain bridge were awesome, especially at night! The food in Budapest is not as good as hoped, but the sites definitely made up for it! The hotel is in walking distance of Vaci Utca a popular street lined with shopping and eating spots! I felt very safe staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My Aunt lives in Hungary. My husband and I booked 2 rooms so my Aunt could join us. When we arrived, they asked if we would mind sharing a room as they were very full...but they would upgrade us. At first we were hesitant and mulled over it and then opted to do this. Thank goodness we did. It was the most spectacular room any of us have ever been in. The view alone was utterly amazing. Being on the 8th floor had incredible views.
The staff were very friendly and were kind enough to speak to me in English (as that is easier for me) and repeat everything in Hungarian (as my Aunt doesn't speak English) so she would understand what was going on.
Service in the restaurant was top-notch.
Overall, one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a LONG time!!! Congrats Marriott (& we just finished touring 6 countries before arriving and this was BY FAR the best accommodation on our trip).
My Aunt has never had the opportunity to stay in such a room and I am extremely grateful that the Marriott took such good care of us. It was a highlight of our trip and something will we remember indefinitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great front staff. Our room had a stunning view of the river-the best we've ever seen from a hotel room! breakfast was wonderful-well worth the upgrade which also included afternoon food and beverage. Rooms were average for European hotels and were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exellent view, tasty food, good location, spa on an average. Room is clean, and bathroom as well.
Can purchase tram/metro tkts from gift shop. Staff very friendly and happy to help.
Overall, I would feel very comfortable staying at the Marriott again on my next trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at night and had an uneventful check in. When we got to the room, the view was breath taking! The best location, across from the river and in walking distance to many of the sites that are worth seeing. Also, the transportation is right outside of the door. Restaurant for the breakfast buffet was wonderful. Best thing still was the view at night of castle hill.

Room Tip: All rooms are water view. Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived at the hotel 8 hours late with out our luggage! Everyone was terrific! Had a great comfortable room and a great view of the river. The concierge people were on top of our missing luggage and were able to find it in Munich and get it to us. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
District V / Inner City
Le Meridien Budapest
Le Meridien Budapest
#29 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#24 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.