We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as a Marriott!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Budapest Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Budapest Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #37 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect as a Marriott!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location is perfect with very romantic river views. The breakfast is the usual magnificent breakfast of Marriott with savouries, fruits, sausages, cereals and omelettes (made as per individual's preference). Everyone, from the housekeepers to the receptionists, was very polite and helpful. There is free wifi at the lobby and the restaurants but you have to pay for having wifi in your room (you get a fair warning though when you book the room that room wifi is chargeable). Note though that even if you buy wifi in your room, you can only use it at the device that you used to buy it; if you want to have wifi at any other devices then you'll have to buy again! The bed (again as the usual Marriott bed) was to die for - perfect! Also, at the time that we booked the room, it was considerably cheaper than the same room at the Intercontinental which is also at the same location and we didn't regret going for the cheaper choice since Marriott did not disappoint (note that we already had great experiences at Marriott in Vienna and Athens). Tip 1: Don't miss the cake buffet at the lobby with coffee or tea or hot chocolate or a glass of champagne at the price of HUF2200 per person! Tip 2: Do use the taxi drivers that are associates of Marriott by requesting a taxi from the reception and requesting from the taxi driver to give you his card to use for the return since, based on our experience, the other taxi drivers will charge you much higher prices, sometimes twice as high!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    499
    104
    29
    13
See reviews for
174
588
80
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for one night, before departing on a Uniworld Christmas Markets River Cruise along the Danube. Needless to say, we chose the hotel largely due to its proximity to the boat docking. However, we were pleasantly surprised by how close it also was to the Christmas market.

The room was clean and well appointed, with a lovely river view. It's absolutely worth paying the small extra charge for a club room, which gives you access to breakfast and unlimited afternoon/evening snacks, beverages and bar on the penthouse level, which has a beautiful rooftop patio, and panoramic windows overlooking the Danube - beautiful at night with all the buildings lit up. The evening snacks are substantial, and saved us needing to go out and find a restaurant after a long flight.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view. Worth paying the extra charge for a club-level room, to get access to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Every room in the Marriott has a view of the Danube. It was lovely to look out through the big picture window over the White Bridge and watch the city, at different times of the day and night. The building itself is modern and perhaps not so beautiful as other city hotels, but once you're inside you can't see it anyway!

The room itself was large and very comfortable, with a massive king size bed. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and my only complaint would be that they did not supply milk (even on request) - just powdered creamer.

We used the spa which was extremely clean and modern. There was a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna - not fed by the city's hot springs but lovely nonetheless.

The location was extremely central, right by Vaci Utca the main shopping street and within easy walking distance of most things. We took the 15 min walk to the Jewish District each night, for high quality good value restaurants and bars - but there are lots of those much closer if you don't mind being in more touristy places. The nearest bath-house is Rudas Spa, just at the other side of the White Bridge, and that was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. On the Danube.....with all rooms with a view of Buda Castle. Beautiful views at night! You can walk to the Chain Bridge. There are many shops and restaurants within walking distance including Cafe Gerbeaud. This service is attentive. We enjoyed the executive lounge everyday. Great coffee!! Great terrace view despite the wind and cold.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Marriott Is the most comfortable hotel in Buddapest-clean and spacious rooms, the view from the balcony on the highest floor is impeccable and location is unbeatable. We had breakfast included- a great selection of fish, cheese, eggs, vegetables, yogurts, bread rolls, and so on. This was the best breakfast in Europe offered by a hotel. We got the VIP access to the deck on the roof of the hotel and they had drinks and appetizers throughout the day. The staff was very nice and helpful both in the restaurants and the front desk. We wouldn't consider any other hotel if ever in Buddapest!

Room Tip: Book the room on the highest floors possible to have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's all good. If I note all of the good points I will sound like a salesperson for the place.
I will stay here if ever in Budapest again.
We did not try the pool or spa, but if i had, they would have had 5 stars for that too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I hosted a business meeting at this hotel. It is a really wonderful hotel in an amazing location with river and palace views.

The rooms are extremely clean and the views are amazing! Peppers restaurant is very nice and the bar, lounge area is lovely.

Betting and Johann are MORE than effective and very very nice people. Our event ran more smoothly than smooth and you contributed significantly to its success. Well done! Also comfiest beds and pillows ever!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#32 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.