We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Budapest Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Budapest Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #41 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It's all about location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. On the Danube.....with all rooms with a view of Buda Castle. Beautiful views at night! You can walk to the Chain Bridge. There are many shops and restaurants within walking distance including Cafe Gerbeaud. This service is attentive. We enjoyed the executive lounge everyday. Great coffee!! Great terrace view despite the wind and cold.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    415
    90
    26
    12
See reviews for
136
471
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Marriott Is the most comfortable hotel in Buddapest-clean and spacious rooms, the view from the balcony on the highest floor is impeccable and location is unbeatable. We had breakfast included- a great selection of fish, cheese, eggs, vegetables, yogurts, bread rolls, and so on. This was the best breakfast in Europe offered by a hotel. We got the VIP access to the deck on the roof of the hotel and they had drinks and appetizers throughout the day. The staff was very nice and helpful both in the restaurants and the front desk. We wouldn't consider any other hotel if ever in Buddapest!

Room Tip: Book the room on the highest floors possible to have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's all good. If I note all of the good points I will sound like a salesperson for the place.
I will stay here if ever in Budapest again.
We did not try the pool or spa, but if i had, they would have had 5 stars for that too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I hosted a business meeting at this hotel. It is a really wonderful hotel in an amazing location with river and palace views.

The rooms are extremely clean and the views are amazing! Peppers restaurant is very nice and the bar, lounge area is lovely.

Betting and Johann are MORE than effective and very very nice people. Our event ran more smoothly than smooth and you contributed significantly to its success. Well done! Also comfiest beds and pillows ever!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

All reviews are accurate! Great location, etc., etc. But what makes this hotel a real gem is the service! We had a major issue with a loose fitting 'connecting' door to the room next door and consequently had 2 sleepless nights as ill mannered guests came and went. The hotel did not hesitate to change our room and their staff was ready to assist immediately. Bellman 'Thomas' is the epitome of professionalism and hats off to the staff in the Exec lounge - have never seen another Marriott lounge so 'groomed'. Unfortunate incidents happen, its just so refreshing when you get action instead of excuses! We are loyal to Marriott for a reason!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zen in nowhere
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is on a very nice location, overlooking the chain bridge, and the palace on the other side. It's right on the bank of the river and within walking distance of most attractions. The highlight of the stay was definitely the Club Lounge. It has a fantastic open terrace with the great views. We ended up spending a lot of our mornings and sunsets on the terrace. That did rob of us some opportunity to experience the city, but we weren't complaining. The hotel has done some renovations, so some parts of it look nice, but at the same time, some of the aspects are a little tired. I was on the Club floor, so the rooms were nicely done and looked great.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay here again, and I would recommend getting on the Club floor for the extra bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Where do I even start?! Marriott is right by all of the shops but just enough out of the way so that it is quiet! Every single room has a lovely view of the river Danuub, which offers beautiful scenes of the of side of Budapest along with the Parliament building and the Guardian of Peace. My family and I went in October, it was lovely because it was cold but not bitter, around these months there is a lovely festive Christmas market which sells handmade items as well as other things and lovely hot food!

Marriott has the most beautiful reception with friendly reception staff who are very happy to help. The restaurant/bar at Marriott offer a lovely selection of breakfasts, lunches and dinners, they also have a cake buffet, where you can eat as many desserts as you want for the equivalent of about £6 at anytime of the day, as long as it is in one sitting of course.

At first, my twin sister and I found the lifts hard to work as we didn't realise that you have to put your door key (card) into the lift to prevent the public from using the hotel but don't worry you'll get the hang of it! The corridors are very well kept that lead to the rooms. Maids will come to your room everyday to change your towels and bedding, they're very kind and always say Hello, what's even better is that they do not touch your belongings, as inhale experienced with previous hotels (not Marriott). When you enter the bathroom there are free toiletries (bath gel, shampoo, moisturiser) and if you feel like hiding them in your luggage then the maids will leave more out by the sink!

The beds in all rooms are unbelievably comfortable, the pillows are thick Duck Down and you can purchase them at the hotel shop! The Marriott also has a hair salon where you can go if your hair has been messed up in the wind!

Overall I would definitely recommend the Marriott to everyone, it holds such a fantastic atmosphere. I most certainly would not stay in any other hotel in the whole of Budapest!

P.s it's right round the corner from McDonald's for the kids!

Room Tip: 'Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room' ..I really don't need to! Every room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#33 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#37 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...all graced by soothing river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.