We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Budapest Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #36 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Southampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a standard room on a higher floor so we would have views of the Danube and Castle – we were not disappointed as the views were excellent. The location is good for the shops and all attractions and if you catch the Big Bus open top tour then bus stop number 5 is almost outside the hotel. There is also a tram stop outside the hotel. One of the websites suggests this hotel has an indoor pool but it doesn't. The room was very clean and the food in the restaurant was good. The bar prices were quite expensive but probably no more than most 5* hotels. A taxi from the hotel to the airport cost us 6900 HUF’s (approx. £21-£25) and takes about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    445
    97
    26
    12
See reviews for
154
507
70
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

No better place in the city to watch the "Duna" better than the rooms of the Marriott, the rooms are very well positioned in the whole hotel to have a river view.
The rooms are clean and well equiped for this 5 star hotel. The food was simple and tastey and the executive lounge was wow....

Ask for a room with the view to the Lanc bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the Lanc "chain" bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and really loved it, absolutely no complaints! The room was comfortable and spotless, the staff were really friendly and our room had a great view of the river. The hotel is also really close to lots of attractions. A fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Hotel in Budapest, this had the most amazing view of the Danube you could wish for. They guarantee all rooms overlook the river, we were in room 402 and the view overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Palace were spectacular, at night all the buildings are lit and it was magical. We have never had such a fantastic few days, the people are so friendly and polite, we tend not to go to the same place twice but might make an exception in this case. A beautiful city, food varied, prices what you would spend in UK, hotel very clean, we dined in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good. A must if you visit Budapest.

Room Tip: All rooms are guaranteed a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Headline says it all really.

Arrived here on a cold Jan morning. From the outside it looks very old Soviet functionalism has blighted this poor building. Inside its very different. Modern spacious lobby whist maintaining a traditional feel.

Service on arrival was great - greeted with a warm welcome and a smile (which isn't all to usual for Budapest).

The room was kitted with a large bed and a spectacular view over the Danube. We sat and had cocktails watching the boats o by illuminated by the museum and other gothic architecture buildings across the river.

We ate out simply because we felt the prices of food was a little high. Although they are similar to what you would pay in the UK.

By far the best thing about the stay was the breakfast. Simply put, this is the best and most widespread buffet I have seen in city hotel. Chefs were also on hand to cook a fresh omelette. Never had cakes for breakfast before but i did that day.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a short break in Budapest. A little pricey but worth it for the room, the views, the service and the BREAKFAST!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Being a Platinum cardholder for several years and a business life long member, i do have some experience with the brand. Budapest is a beautiful city and the hotel overall does not disappoint. We were upgraded to a corner room with incredible views. The experience was only slightly compromised by at least a decade old Phillips TV that ought to be consigned to a second hand store. The shower was less than high volume. The rest of WC was poorly laid out. Considering the ample large size room one had to wonder why it was altogether so small. The executive lounge had wonderful appetizers and the staff was always attentive. The restaurant was very very good. The staff all spoke English and were always helpful. I would like to visit the beautiful and fascinating land again.

Room Tip: Get Platinum status. It makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very satisfied by this hotel, nevertheless in this category my favorite one is the Sofitel Budapest. for approximately the same price, then I would go for the Kempinsky and then the Mariott. They have appartements for rent just nearby, this is maybe the best deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.