We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly on the Outside – Very comfortable on the Inside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Budapest Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #36 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Ugly on the Outside – Very comfortable on the Inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A 3 night stay at the end of June in the Marriott Budapest, and chosen for its excellent location right on the banks of the Danube.

It has to be said that this is a very ugly building – neither the façade nor the rear do it any favours, especially when the very beautiful (and very expensive) Four Seasons Gresham is only a block or so away. The back of the building looks like an old power station. However, do not let this put you off – this is a very good hotel and all rooms face the river, so you won’t have to look out back anyway. The interior has been updated to look stylish and modern.

A warm and efficient greeting was received in reception and we were allowed into our room early (we were also allowed a late check-out too – big tick for that). We only had a standard but it was still a large room with two double beds and a large bathroom, and of course that all important, uninterrupted view across the Danube. There are balconies to the rooms, but no-way to gain access to them, so don’t expect to be able to sit out with a pre-dinner drink. Complimentary ice is available on request.
There is free wi-fi for one hour a day in the lobby and bar areas.

The breakfast was wonderfully varied and of good quality and we chose to eat ours on the patio area outside – again with a lovely view of the river. Service was pleasant and attentive at all times.

The location, next to the river is excellent, and within easy walking distance to the metro, buses and trams.
NB EU citizens aged 65 and older travel FREE on all the public transport except the boats!

Happy to recommend this hotel - just ignore the outside 1960’s ‘design’.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    539
    108
    29
    13
See reviews for
185
625
85
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

As expected with Marriott hotels, this one is beautiful, elegant, and provides good service. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the bed mattress is excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good as well. But the best feature is the location: right on the banks of the River Danube, with excellent views of Buda Castle at night. This is a perfect setting for a romantic evening stroll, with fantastic views over the water. The hotel is also a short walk from the Old Town and town center. We will definitely stay here when we return to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Interior was very well appointed.
Executive level served us well with a modest breakfast that did not expand our waste. Evening snacks were also adequate.

Had a few small issues that Marriott rectified

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is an excellent hotel , the reception area, bars and restuarants modern and good service. The rooms need refurbishing, the are a bit old and passages smelly, but every room has a fantastic view of the Danube.
They tried to get us to upgrade to an executive room for $120 a night which is just a stupid price.
The hotel is very central, two blocks from the city centre and right on the tram line.
Take a day tour on one of the busses, it includes a river cruise and is good valeu.
Avoid taxi drivers in the terminal who are illigal and charge double, go outside and take the regular taxi.
You get one hour free internet daily and can get an extra if you buy a drink in the bar or lounge area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband & I have just spent 5 wonderful nights at the Marriott, Budapest. I believe this hotel was built in the 1970s and from the outside it looks it. It is in a prime location on the banks of the Danube, on the Pest side. It is on a stretch of the river shared with other international hotels and their outward appearance is disappointing compared with the beautiful old buildings adjacent. If you are looking for character look elsewhere. If you are looking for excellent service; good airconditioning;the most comfortable king-size bed; a wonderful view of Buda across the river; the best breakfast in town - this is the place for you! All of the rooms have a river view. I recommend the American breakfast - it will set you up for the whole day. By the way - you can watch the chefs in the kitchen on the television in the bedroom! They have their own pastry chef - the bread & pastries at breakfast were divine. It is also worth eating on the Marriott Terrace at least one night as the food is excellent and the view across the river at night is lovely.
Most of the attractions on the Pest side are within fairly easy walking distance. I recommend staying on the Pest side of the river - we stayed quite late in Buda one evening and it was very peaceful but I think it would be rather quiet to be there every evening. I recommend getting the bus to the Castle District in Buda early evening, enjoy a stroll around the castle and fisherman's bastion, then stroll down the hill towards the Chain Bridge stopping at Hunyadi Restaurant on Hunyadi Janos Ut - best meal of our whole trip.
There are three or four Hop-on-Hop-off bus companies - City Tour;Green;Red;Blue. I can't speak for the rest but we used the blue "Queenie" bus and I do not recommend it. The timetable says the buses come every half hour, but on the bus we were told every hour which in my opinion is not frequent enough & the other companies came more frequently. Also, on Saturday 7 July we took the bus to the Castle District & were stranded there There was a parade in the centre of Pest & we were told the roads were closed but the other bus companies were still running.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for mums 80th birthday this hotel is fantastic staff very helpful central location amazing views from bedroom over the river Danube would defenetly return and stay here xx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a great view from our hotel room window. We had never been to Budapest before and were happy with our hotel choice. The room was just what we expected from a Marriott. And the location on the Pest side, on the Danube, near the Chain Bridge was perfect. We did not have a car and we could walk easily to restaurants, shopping, Parliment, and across bridge to old Buda to explore the Castle and old town there. We loved Budapest, and this was the perfect place to explore from and to come back to rest in!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos u. 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.