We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Aquincum Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arpad Fejedelem Utja 94 | Obuda, Budapest 1036, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a brilliant hotel. Looked great from both the outside and the inside. The receptionists all spoke great English and were very helpful. The rooms were as expected and included a complementary water bottle each. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was a very nice 32 inch flat screen tv, but with limited channels. Only 4 of them were in English and they were all news channels. However the hotel did have it's own special little service where you could buy films for 4500 HUF each and it would be streamed live to your tv. The beds were done up without request everyday, as well as replenishing your tea and coffee and water bottle supplies, which was nice. An issue we had was the temperature in the room, the air conditioning while on max seemed to not do anything, and the radiators were constantly on leading to very hot rooms. The spa was complementary and was very nice, all the pools had thermal water, which is supposedly very good for you. One extra bonus was the gym which was also free to access which hadn't been listed on the website as part of the room we had. Access to the space was very easy. You could either change in the changing rooms and put your things in a locker, or you could change in your own room and Wear robe towels which were provided, down to the spa. The spa and gym is located on the '-1' floor. Overall it was very nice, but the only real issue I had was the Kneipp 'pool' . It isn't a pool. It's more of a puddle. It's 4 inches of water in a 3 meter long area next to the jacuzzi. In this pool there are lots of small stones, which made going into this 'pool' extremely painful to walk across. Only your feet is submerged in the water, so this feature seemed kind of pointless to me. I also had a minor issue. The water just wasn't hot enough. There are 3 pools, 26°C, 33°C and 38 °C. The jacuzzi is 39 °C . There simply wasn't a pool hot enough. A decent jacuzzi should be very uncomfortable to get into, and as you get used to the heat becomes very relaxing and enjoyable. The jacuzzi was quite nice, but the lack of high temperature did affect it. The restaurant in the hotel was rather large and looked quite nice. The buffet breakfast was superb. Everything you could ask for, and freshly made omelette, fried egg, and pancakes on request which were made in front of you. The only problem was the lack of ice cubes. I was forced to take ice out of the bowl keeping the water bottles cold, although this bowl may have also been there for people to take ice out of, i'm not sure, but it wasn't obvious. We tried the evening meal once, and never had it again. It simply wasn't good enough. The food was quite expensive, reaching about 15000 HUF for 3 of us, and it wasn't very nice. We ordered 3 different soups which were not of good quality, our main dishes were of similar standard and not worth the price at all. It might have been that the chef was having a bad day, we didn't go there enough to be sure that that's just how the food is. The breakfast made up for this however. There are a plethora of sofas on the ground floor of the hotel, which were all very comfortable. One thing I was very happy about was the WiFi, unlike many other places, there were at least 2 bars of WiFi everywhere in the hotel. So it didn't matter whether you were sat on the toilet, or eating breakfast, you could check your email. In case anybody is wondering, the download speed for the free WiFi is 60 KBps, which is pretty decent for just general surfing. Not so good for gaming or Youtube. Although there is WiFi everywhere, there are a severe lack of plugs in the lobby. I had to take a lamp out to be able to plug in my laptop. The receptionists were helpful and booked different things for you like tours if you asked them to. There is a currency change at reception, but I don't recommend you use it unless you're desperate as it has very bad rates. You're better off going into the city centre and changing in one of the many shops there. The hotel did offer a free shuttle service to the city centre, but we never used this as we preferred to take the metro. Location-wise it was good but bad. It's good in that it's right next to a petrol station if you've hired a car or want to buy something, and it's 2 minutes walk from a tram stop, and it's a 20 minute walk from Margaret Island. But it's bad in the sense that it's miles away from the city centre and any real attractions, which means you need to either use the shuttle service or public transport. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing us, The Aquincum Hotel Budapest and thank you for taking the time to share your comments in Trip Advisor.

We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the air-condition system, the quality of food in the Restaurant and the temperature of pool. Please accept our apology that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Please be assured that I do take your comments very seriously.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our services and our property on a daily basis.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our hotel and staff in the reception. We highly appreciate that you highlighted on our comfortable bed, tv movies and show kitchen.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    243
    69
    9
    12
See reviews for
76
253
28
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was an excellent base from which to explore Budapest. I'm not sure if the furnishing quite live up to the five star rating as it is a little bit dated but the staff and services certainly do. The breakfast is magnificent - you can choose from a full Hungarian breakfast to an extensive bio/healthy option with fresh wheatgrass shots! The spa and swimming pool was also wonderful. The hotel may be away from the city centre but it is well served by public transport and is very close to Margret Island which is worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to express your positive experiences in the Trip Advisor. Thank you for your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the staff, breakfast and the spa.
Please know that your comment about our furnitures is extremely valuable to us. We try to improve our equipments.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and a I recently stayed in Aquincum for 3 days while exploring Budapest and there is nothing negative I can say. Our room was large, immaculately clean and attractively furnished. The staff were welcoming, friendly and always available to help and advise us, especially Csilla on the reception desk. Breakfast was delicious with a very wide variety of food and lots of healthy options. We also made use of the spa, which was free of charge and a nice way to relax after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel is not in the city centre but you can get to Buda within 15 minutes on the very regular train, which stops 2 mins from the hotel. From there you can easily explore further on foot or using the metro. A 24 hour ticket only costs 1400ft. We had a wonderful time in Budapest and a lot of it was down to Aquincum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations.Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa .

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights from 11th - 15th March. The hotel was outstanding and as shown in the pictures. Hotel staff was extremly polite and very friendly and went out of there way for you. We booked the superior room which was fantastic very clean and spacious. We had full use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam bath jaccuzi which was excellent we spent one morning there. Breakfast was lovely with loads to choose from and i recommend the pancakes with maple syrup outstanding.

I will be going back there between July and September and will definately be staying in this hotel

Room Tip: Definately book the superior room its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided.

We were happy to read that our room met your expectations. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a lot of research on Trip Advisor our biggest concern was the location of the hotel, as a lot of people had commented that it was a long way from the central areas. However, when we got there the train station is less than a five minute walk from the hotel, to jump on the train was cheap and easy and about a 15 minute journey into Buda - slightly longer to get to Pest with an added Metro journey but again this is easy to navigate around.

The room was clean and had a free to use safe inside. We were also blessed with particularly active neighbours, one of whom was noisy with it and was clearly enjoying herself. Oh yeah!

The swimming pool and spa facilities were great and free for residents.

The only downside was being asked to leave 30,000 HUF (about £90) as a deposit in case we used anything from the mini bar etc. Not a huge inconvenience to us but we'd rather have known we had to pay that before we arrived rather than having it sprung upon us as we checked in. The next day we saw someone else getting charged 40,000 HUF for the same thing so it seems that cost may vary, possibly dependant on length of stay?

When you are arranging your travel, we would absolutely recommend getting a 24 hour travel card which allows you to travel on any tram, metro, train or bus and it really means a full 24 hours rather than just the same day! The travel cards cost about 3,100 for the two of us - roughly £9.00 and make getting around really straightforward.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the room, swimming pool and spa facilities.

I would kindly inform you about the fact that requesting for guarantee - either credit card or cash - upon check-in from guests is an official standard, that used is all Corinthia hotels all over the world and the amount depends on the length of stay.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel. Staff were really helpful, considering English wasn't their first language. The room was clean and spacious for 2 of us. We loved using the spa facilities and it was right next to a metro and tram. Especially loved the fact we had this massive snack (4 toasties, salad and chips) all for 3 euros...amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations and you liked our spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heviz, Hungary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had to stay in Budapest for a night because of the weather. We went to this hotel, because the price was good for us, especially because of it is a 5 star hotel. The receptionist was very kind with us, we could say in which floor we would like to get a room. But our room was not clean. The bed-sheet was dirty (it was not used, but it was not clean), the bathroom was not good cleaned, fingerprints, hair, water drops on the mirror and on the tile around the tap. In the room was a lot of dust, so I couldn't find this room clean. I thought that we get in every 5-star-hotel evening service (from housekeeping), but we didn't get it (for us it was not important, because we only stayed for a night, so I only marked it).
However, the breafast was excellent, a lot of choice, so it was 5-star!
In the morning we got a bad news, that we could't go home because of the weather, so we have to stay in Budapest for one more night, but we left this hotel and we found another one, because of the room. I'm sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you.

We highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the breakfast and our staff.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad Fejedelem Utja 94 | Obuda, Budapest 1036, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#40 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#44 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#49 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.